We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel”
Review of The Fern Ahmedabad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fern Ahmedabad
Ranked #30 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a quaity hotel and comes highly recommended. I spent two nights there in Jan 2012, internet is deat at 850 INR about £6-00 for 24 hours (it should be free).
However its a super hotel. great service and good location

Room Tip: Any one of them
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timhedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMAhmedabad, Manager at The Fern Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your recent visit to Ahmedabad.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with my colleagues. At The Fern, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Encouraging words from valuable patrons like you motivates us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to The Fern and would be delighted to assist you with any requirement.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for The Fern Ahmedabad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 516 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Fern was a pleasant surprise. I speak at conferences across India and have stayed at hotels selected by conference organizers, always with a bit of trepidation. 5 stars = 5 stars, but at 4 stars or less, you can count on the property being 2 stars less than it was awarded. The Fern was a pleasant exception.

I was greeted by a knowledgable, competent staff. The restaurant was serving a buffet of at least 50 delicious-smelling dishes. I had already dined, so I didn't indulge. I did have the breakfast buffet, which was also excellent, with Indian and western choices, both veg and non-veg.

Upstairs, a clean, comfortable room awaited. Wireless internet access was excellent and included, as was a ride to the airport in a clean, comfortable vehicle. The bath and bedroom were pristine clean - a real pleasure! Flat screen TV, firm mattresses with crisp white egyptian cotton sheets and quilts provided an excellent night's sleep. A master light panel beside the bed controlled everything. The snacks and mini bar were well stocked, although I didn't try any of the offerings.

The entire hotel is built of re-used, re-cycled, and re-newable materials. It bills itself as a chain of "Ecotels" and they take environmentalism seriously. Much of building, interiors, and furnishings are constructed of some form of plastic or concrete, which is truly the best use of these oft-disposed materials. But it was elegantly done and the resulting look is a modern, soothing blend of colors and surfaces. A wall of water protects the front door from the street and reduce carbon monoxide emissions from the street beyond. A well tended garden provides a gentle view from the main floor restaurant. All around - well done!

I will look for Fern hotels over others in the price range (think: avoid the Royal Orchid chain - they are a perfect example of the "4-star" actually = "2 star & dirty" situation described above) in the future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A high floor room facing away from the main street is always advisable if you sleep lightly. Otherwi...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEOmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMAhmedabad, Manager at The Fern Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your recent visit to Ahmedabad.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback with my colleagues. At The Fern, it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Encouraging words from valuable patrons like you motivates us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.


I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to The Fern and would be delighted to assist you with any requirement.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I organized a seminar at their convention and some of the delegates stayed at the hotel itself. The dinner is excellent at the restaurant and true value for money. The rooms are very good and the service was quite nice. The staff was cooperative and the food quality was good. The internet was quite expensive and perhaps the biggest turndown for me but otherwise it was a very good experience. With regard to the seminar itself, the room was large and nicely done but had a lot of ambient light making it difficult to present the slides. The manager put something to reduce the light but it was not too effective. Would certianly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prateek_mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at The Fern Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for your valuable Feedback, it is an excellent source of motivation to the team and we will be sure to share the same. Were glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the hospitality of our staff. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Stayed in The fern for 5 days on a business trip. Hotel's staff is courteous and helpful. Food is excellent. Its a new property thus not much rush. Interiors are very well decorated. Excellent taste. Highly recommended for a stay. (This is a genuine review and not a paid one :-).

Room Tip: All rooms are well insulated from the high way noise
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abitrip75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at The Fern Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for your valuable Feedback, it is an excellent source of motivation to the team and we will be sure to share the same. I can assure you that we do not pay for nor encourage any fictitious comments. Were glad you enjoyed the food and the hospitality of our staff. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

So ended up at the fern this last weekend, in town for work as usual. The first impression was of a decent hotel nothing too amiss. Nice moderate sized rooms with open views of the city and a train track (which can be amusing for the first few train-spottings).

A nice overhead shower (no bathtub) a comfortable bathroom, Flat screen TV (with only 50 channels mostly Gujrati and Ten sports the only sports channel) and an Ipod dock. Ipod dock turned out to be the most handy of it all and was used amply especially since the tv didnt have much.

all in all a comfortable room. So where lies the problem ?

1. The food is pretty below average. i ordered breakfast/lunch and dinner but all of them equally failed to live upto expectations. the hotel doesn't carry any local gujrati food either much to my surprise and the menu was pretty much a generic one made up of regular fare that you could get at any decent joint.

Avoid eating here, as the food is simply not worth it. If you are someone who travels a lot and knows his/her food you;d do best to dine out. The only exception to the bad food was the chicken Tikka which was a very pleasent surprise. It was absolutely dilicious.

2. The service of the staff leaves a lot to be desired. they are courteous and polite but on more than one occassion calls to reception/room service went unanswered. and on more than one occassion they 'forgot' a part of the room service order. eg. i had ordered 4-5 indian dishes along with rice, salad, roti's and dessert. and i ended up getting only 3 of them.

by that time i was too tired to order for them again.

3. The reception also took forever to send up the luggage. i had quite a few bags and expected them to ferry em up to my room but ihad to call reception 3 times to remind them to send up the bags. Not done. Pretty bad if you asked me.

In the end, this is a good hotel if ur stay is short and more business like. Nothing great or 5 star about this place. The Room was pretty much the only good thing about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at The Fern Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for your valuable Feedback. The Buffets at the hotel have been modified to also give a bit of the Local flavor . We apologies for any delays and deficits is the service levels, we aspire for better. The same has been taken up in the training's and i am sure the team will be able to rise to your expectations. We Look forward to to an opportunity to serve you again and ensure your future stays with us are memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is a newly developed hotel in Ahmedabad near the Gujarat High Court, Science City etc. on S.G.Haghway.It is far away from the airport and Railway station.(More than 20 kms).
Quality of food is excellent. Rooms are also well furnished.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the S.G.Highways are very good.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagdishAhmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at The Fern Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the room facilities & the food at the hotel. We take special care in ensuring quality products and service are provided to all our guests. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

A complete delight and truly a memorable experience, they opened a couple of months back. The food at their in house dinning was lavish, with great cuisines, fresh fruits, juices. The rooms are too good, modern interiors with all the amenities excellent staff. Room services are highly satisfactory. Icing on the cake is the view that each of the room offers. The room gives a view off a flyover, residential area, and vast expanse of open land. You can just sit and gaze at the sun-rise and sun-set right from your room sitting in your nice cushiony chair. Never felt like leaving. Would stay here whenever next I am visiting Ahmedabad.

Since they have recently opened they do not have a gym or recreation centre, adding these would just make the stay at the hotel a complete luxury stay at a very competitive price. I personally liked the concept of glass walls partitioning the washroom and the bedroom (washroom has this glass partition with shades giving the bedroom and the washroom a feel of two separate units, if you pull up the shades the room suddenly starts looking bigger and one complete unit).

Would highly recommend this for family and business stay

Room Tip: Can ask the reservation staff to give a room at higher floors as they have better view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant_Hasija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhotels, Management at The Fern Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your valuable Feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the facilities & the food at the hotel. The health Club of the hotel should be operational shortly followed by the rest of the facilities. We Look forward to making your future stays with us as memorable. Thank you for choosing a Fern Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - Ahmedabad
2.9 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#10 of 160 in Ahmedabad
660 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 160 in Ahmedabad
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ahmedabad
Holiday Inn Express Ahmedabad
#35 of 160 in Ahmedabad
281 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#2 of 160 in Ahmedabad
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Ahmedabad

Address: Near Sola Overbridge | S.G. Highway, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 160 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $66 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fern Ahmedabad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fern Ahmedabad is the certified 5 star first Ecotel Hotel located on the fast growing S. G Highway, close to the business & entertainment zones and 15 kms from the Domestic & International Airport. The rooms offer a stunning view of City Landscape, perfect for unwinding after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fern Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing