We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent comfort ,clean rooms,good and efficent service”
Review of Hotel Skylon

Hotel Skylon
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Skylon
Ranked #41 of 221 Ahmedabad B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent comfort ,clean rooms,good and efficent service”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The ever smiling staff,makes you come back to the hotel time and again.The rooms are spacious and keeps you fresh all the time.Would recommend all the people to have the amazing experience in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try the suite room for excellent comfort and a kingly feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kalpeshkosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrahmbhatt, Manager at Hotel Skylon, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Mr.Kalpesh

Greetings from HOTEL SKYLON, Ahmedabad!!

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are grateful to you for having taken out valuable time to post your review and feedback.

We are indeed happy to know that you had a satisfying experience at our hotel.

The primary objective of our hotel is to give you uncomplicated Comfort during your business trips.

We look forward to have you again with us. Once again along with all my associates I thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future stay.

Warm Regards,
Twinkle Brahmbhatt
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
3
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I thought the experience with Skylon was amazing the staff were so helpful and made us feel so welcome!

Skylon keep doing what you are doing it works! I would recommend this hotel to family and friends if they were ever visiting Ahemdabad.

Room Tip: The swimming pool and Kids area question I was unable to answer properly as there was none of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrahmbhatt, Manager at Hotel Skylon, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HOTEL SKYLON, Ahmedabad!!

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are grateful to you for having taken out valuable time to post your review and feedback.

We are indeed happy to know that you had a satisfying experience at our hotel.

The primary objective of our hotel is to give you uncomplicated Comfort during your business trips.

We look forward to have you again with us. Once again along with all my associates I thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future stay.

Warm Regards,
Twinkle Brahmbhatt
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Room service was excellent.
Service was up to the mark,Food Quality was good.enjoyed Tea & coffee.
Suggestion -complimentary Breakfast should be provided.
Complimentary Air port Pickup/Drop should be provided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abhay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrahmbhatt, Manager at Hotel Skylon, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HOTEL SKYLON, Ahmedabad!!

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are grateful to you for having taken out valuable time to post your review and feedback.

We are indeed happy to know that you had a satisfying experience at our hotel.

The primary objective of our hotel is to give you uncomplicated Comfort during your business trips.
Your positive comments about rooms and decent room service are much appreciated. We have noted the concerns you have highlighted and your suggestions are highly appreciated, will certainly take necessary corrective measures and we will do our best to delight you.
We look forward to have you again with us. Once again along with all my associates I thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future stay.

Warm Regards,
Twinkle Brahmbhatt
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I booked this hotel after going through reviews on tripadvisor and it proved to be an example of how best rated hotels of tripadvisor can be a terrible experience.
I was apprehensive of this hotel when my cab driver was finding it difficult to locate despite directions given by hotel reception. First of all this is not a standalone hotel but a floor(4th) with some rooms on an apartment building.

The location was terribly dirty and the road in front of building was full of filth. The rooms were crammed with two beds and a small bathroom, a noisy window AC and an old TV. The room with two beds had only single towel with stain marks kept in bathroom. The 6 feet by 3 feet beds with old dusty linens were anything but uncomfortable. If I could recall, the normal dorm beds at Ahmedabad railway station were cleaner, more comfortable and spacious.

The room service staffs were courteous and helpful. The food served was poor in taste as well as appearance(oily) despite having given enough time and instruction.

A hotel worth avoiding. You have dozens of better and cheaper facilities and at better locations.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel if you can... all rooms are similiar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrahmbhatt, Manager at Hotel Skylon, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to HOTEL SKYLON, Ahmedabad.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes Specifically:

>Whatever the concern about the location of our hotel which is absolutely in prime location like in besides of our hotel there is 3 & 4 star hotels are located and our hotel is in heart of the city. When u had ask for the hotel where is it we had properly Guide u please ask for
V.S.hospital, Ellisbridge but i think your cab guy was missunderstood the proper location.

>Out of your 22 Reviews you have distributed 17 Negative reviews for other Hotels So we Request you to first visit the Hotel and then book the room because you are looking for 5* category hotel & Searching the amount of DLX hotels but still we are trying to give best of our abilities.

>Cleanliness: our attempt at Hotel Skylon is to ensure the hotel is fresh, crisp and clean and we have laid down our processes accordingly during your stay we would love to solve your complain if you could have inform us.

>Trip Advisor is never recommended to any else for staying in such a place but peoples are referring the review of difference experience of the Guest who knows very well where they have to stay. And that peoples are only using and believe the review of Trip Advisor.

The primary objective of our hotel is to give you uncomplicated Comfort during your business trips.

Regards,
Twinkle Brahmbhatt
(Manager Sales & Marketing)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights in December 2013. We were a group of 4 people and took two rooms at the hotel.

The Good

+ clean rooms and toilets
+ friendly staff
+ reasonably friendly management which is willing to listen to legitimate requests
+ located in a busy area so transportation can be found very easily right outside the hotel any time of the day or night. Ahmedabad is not a very large city so even though the hotel isn't located in the trendiest location (it is safe enough though), most places in the city can be reached within half an hour.
+ given most places in Ahmedabad shut at 11pm (including restaurants), the hotel's proximity to two 24 hour cafes (in Hotel West End and in Hotel Four Points) is a positive. Both are within 5 minutes walking distance of Skylon.
+ Even though room charge isn't the cheapest, room service is quite reasonably priced.


The Bad
- they make claims on tripadvisor which are plain false - about swimming pool, fitness centre, business centre. None of these exist. There is no restaurant in the hotel.
- the high speed internet is a joke. there is wifi which is barely usable for checking emails. You are just better off using 3G on your phone. Don't rely on getting work done at this hotel with their slow and overloaded internet connection
- They lack a restaurant but deliver meals to the rooms, supposedly 24*7. Service is not quick but not bothersomely slow
- The housekeeping staff was overextended, often taking more than an hour to turn up after they had been called
- like in many many places in Gujarat, meals are only vegetarian. Food is very average.


The Ugly

- in a shocking case of negligence, a blind member of our delegation was served dirty water when she asked for hot water in a thermos. the thermos hadn't been cleaned and some white stuff could clealy been seen floating in it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritwik_agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrahmbhatt, Manager at Hotel Skylon, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to HOTEL SKYLON, Ahmedabad. May I apologize for not meeting some of your expectations during your stay.

We have noted your comments and are reviewing the relevant processes Specifically:

>Trip advisor facilities: As you complained about the false facilities which you have seen on trip advisor all that facilities had been updated by trip advisor marketing staff for that we are in follow up with them to correct it.
>High speed internet: after you informed us about the Wi fi is not working we checked the terminals there are found the service to be working. It is possible that there was a temporary interruption at the time you were trying to access the Wi fi. We are sorry for the delay.
>•Speed of service for Room service & House keeping.: we are sorry the speed of service in the room did not meet your expectations. This was on account of the hotel running to a full house and there being a large number of customers in the Hotel We have re-briefed our staff to be quicker while attending to guests, even on a busy day.

The trouble which one of your blind member has faced about the water she complained us and was immediate taken an action from our staff by replacing the Hot water.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally

I am also pleased that our Rooms & our staff met with your approval. Thank you also for your positive comments on our location, cleanliness and Room Priced.

We look forward to have you again with us. Once again along with all my associates I thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future stay.

Yours sincerely,
Twinkle Brahmbhatt
(Manager Sales & Marketing)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel skylon a total of 6 nights broken up by a trip to Jamnagar. We chose the hotel due to the good reviews and reasonable price and wasn't let down. The location is good and allowed us to explore some places on foot as well as a short rickshaw ride away.

The stay was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable and had all the facilities you would require for a great stay. The hot water in the shower has to be one of the best supply's that I have experienced in India, very consistent no matter the time of day and extremely hot.

The room service food was excellent and great value. Staff were always helpful and friendly and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a good base whilst visiting Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLife050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrahmbhatt, Manager at Hotel Skylon, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from HOTEL SKYLON, Ahmedabad!!

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We are grateful to you for having taken out valuable time to post your review and feedback.

We are indeed happy to know that you had a satisfying experience at our hotel.

The primary objective of our hotel is to give you uncomplicated Comfort during your business trips.

We look forward to have you again with us. Once again along with all my associates I thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to your future stay.

Warm Regards,
Twinkle Brahmbhatt
Manager Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westend
The Westend
#77 of 161 in Ahmedabad
46 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Plaza
Hotel Golden Plaza
#65 of 161 in Ahmedabad
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Ambience
Hotel Grand Ambience
#31 of 161 in Ahmedabad
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#42 of 161 in Ahmedabad
126 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#38 of 161 in Ahmedabad
110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Krios Hotel
Krios Hotel
#21 of 161 in Ahmedabad
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skylon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skylon

Property: Hotel Skylon
Address: Tirthraj Complex,Opp. V. S. Hospital | Ellisbridge, Ahmedabad 380006, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Skylon 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SKYLON is Located at the corporate hub in the most coveted area of Ahmedabad proudly offers comfortable and luxurious accommodations for your next business trip or leisure travel. Hotel Skylon is just 8km away from domestic & international airport, 4km from Railway station, 2km from C.G.road. enjoying convenient driving distances from every commercial, industrial and leisure zone of the city. Each room is extremely spacious, equipped with modern amenities. All rooms are air-conditioned and decored with the suiting furniture, toilets equipped with all toiletteries, 24-hour room service, and amongst all other standard amenities. Hotel Skylon also provides Wi-Fi Internet connectivity and a state-of-art equipped meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Skylon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing