We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand from outside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambay Grand Ahmedabad
Ranked #136 of 162 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reviewed June 8, 2013

the hotel looks really grand from outside, but does not have the touch of finesse. Most of the area is under construction and staff cannot understand English. Overall the rooms are comfortable but lacks the expectations of a big hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DushyantPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurabhgarg5, Public Relations Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Guest

We are sorry that you had your stay disturbed while there was some maintenance work going on. We assure you that it was temporary.
On the other aspects highlighted in your feedback, we will make sure we address the issues and improve the experience provided to our guests

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 138 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

PLUS POINTS:

1) Quality of rooms are good
2) Cleanliness, Housekeeping is good
3) Food is good

NEGATIVES:

1) Tiny swimming pool, that too is not climate controlled.
2) Minibar is kept totally empty, just has 2 small bottles of water. We know Gujarat is dry that does not mean there can be no other non alcoholic beverages kept in the refrigerator.They supply things only on request
3) Drinking water, only small 200ml 4 bottles are provided by their own so you need to request for more water every now and then.They should at least provide 4 L of drinking water per day without asking for it.
4) Water comes too slow in bath tubs it takes 1hour to fill the tub.
5) Also hot water supply is not coming properly in bathrooms during night hours, which I have noticed personally.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doconcall_74in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurabhgarg5, Public Relations Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you Sir for your feedback and a chance to serve you. We have noted the issues highlighted and assure of needful action at our end wherever due. We do provide adequate bottled water in the rooms- the minimum packaging available is 500 ml - and additional water is provided at guest request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Cambay Grand is the first in my list for recommendation. It is lovely hotel, comfortable room, great ambiance, friendly staff. The Spa facilities and food are the best part of this luxury hotel. I have stayed in many hotels previously, but Cambay gave me a pleasurable experience. I stayed there with my family, and we had a great time. The staff took care of all our needs. They know how to treat their customers. Food is great! Prefect flavors, appropriate measure of spices. Location may not be perfect but it is well connected to the Highway.

Overall, it is a wonderful place to stay, and have a quality time with family.

Room Tip: Your stay will be incomplete without their Spa therapies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aparna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurabhgarg5, Public Relations Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you Mam for your kind review. Encouragements like these from guests are like music to our ears. We hope we'd be able to meet up to your expectations in future also.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we stayed in hotel for 3 days to attend a marriage. the rooms were nice and clean. hotel interior was fine. the toilets were clean and hygienic. but the towels were not being replaced till asked for. teabags and sugar sachets were to be ordered for replenishment. refrigerator provided in room was not working. twin beds were provided in rooms instead of double bed. food quality was good. restaurant was bit small to accommodate large number of guests. parking was tricky affair as there was no one to help. for luggage either you wait for a while or handle yourself. room service was not efficient. the important telephone numbers like desk, room service, laundry were not provided in room. you have to just dial some numbers with your experience. overall, nice place is marred by poor service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktbulchandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurabhgarg5, Public Relations Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you sir for your feedback. Guest service is at the top of our priority and we endeavor and normally pride ourselves for our service levels. We are learning, clearly there has been a shortfall on our part in your case, and we'll try our best to ensure this never happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was my first overnight visit to A'bad and I was looking for good hotels reasonably close to IIM. Found this on MMT. Hotel looks very new even though it's about 10 years old. Rooms are good though lighting was bad. Also there weren't sufficient towels stocked up. However this was the first hotel I ever stayed in where my housekeeping requests were responded to within 2 minutes. Either there weren't many guests or else service staff is always on their toes - either way the service here is outstanding! They had a midnight buffet open and though the options were limited, the food was good. Breakfast spread was just ok, here again service was one of the best I've experienced. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay. With a few more tweaks, this hotel could be pretty good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blr_avatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurabhgarg5, Public Relations Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for the kind words, we'll continue to improve our service standards while noting and taking care of a few areas you've highlighted that need attention. Do give us a chance to serve you or your friends again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I recently stayed in the hotel for two days on 21-22 Feb 2013. The promoters have spent good time in designs and interior part of the hotel. It feels pleasant once you are in. Overall design seems spacious barring the rooms which are small compared to any other 5 star hotel.

What irritates about the hotel are small issues which should come by default in any star hotel.
- No one to help or guide you in parking area.
- No one helps in managing your luggage to reception/room.
- Hotel did not have a mobile charger although it was mentioned in the Guest Guide. On inquiring, the reception told me to charge in the waiting area where they have put a multi-pin charger but the pin required for Sony mobiles was broken and the staff did not care to make any alternate arrangement despite the fact that my phone was discharged nor did any of them offer their own mobile phone to use as an emergency. Room phone was not able to dial any outside number. I gave two numbers to the reception but they regretted that even they were not able to connect to the given numbers.
- During complete two days of my stay, the TV was not working. They sent some person who could not repair and went away saying he would inquire if it was working in other rooms. In the evening I again inquired but they said TVs are not working in entire hotel but when I went to restaurant for dinner I could see it was working in other rooms and also in restaurant. Room Service guys told me that Hotel does not have satellite TV. They operate normal cable TV connection.
- The second day evening when I returned to hotel from outside, the key was deactivated. From gym area I contacted reception. The guy asked me to come down to get the key reactivated as there was no other staff available who could be sent up.

These things are sin for a 5 star hotel which could be managed if the Manager/GM of the hotel had a little idea about guest expectations. They are not taking reviews seriously.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank come2kamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saurabhgarg5, Public Relations Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you sir for your feedback. We assure you that we take all reviews seriously and make best efforts to improve our services and specific areas highlighted.
We are really sorry for the service shortcomings you faced, especially those concerning the TV and room service. We have taken steps to ensure that these are not repeated, mobile chargers are being procured and other service issues addressed.
Do give us a chance to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pretty average hotel when you see they claim they're 5 star and compare it with other 5 star hotels.

Goods:
- Good rooms. Neat clean and tidy.
- Staff is helpful and friendly.
- Close to highway, so good if you're on a tight schedule and want to run off to the airport.

Bads:
- Rooms are not sound proof. So you can hear a lot of traffic and other noise from outside the hotel rooms. Forget a sound sleep if there's a marriage going on.
- WHENEVER we asked for ala-carte, we were promptly forced to go for the buffet option. When we insisted that we want to eat ala-carte, they said it will take 30-45 mins. You can see they don't have staff in the kitchen.
- Buffet food was OK'ish. Nothing special.
- Breakfast buffet didn't have fruits/juices just bread potatoes eggs and things like that.
- The professionalism you expect from a 5 star is missing. The key got locked automatically next day, room was not serviced on day 2 (had to make a request) and things like that..

Overall, its a OK'ish place if you want to spend a couple of days in the city. Not much you can do inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

The property is a business hotel in the new city of Ahmedabad. For the ala-carte preparations it really takes a minimum of 30 minutes. The ala-carte food served is as per he taste of the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
3.5 mi away
Cambay Sapphire
Cambay Sapphire
#132 of 162 in Ahmedabad
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fern Ahmedabad
The Fern Ahmedabad
#28 of 162 in Ahmedabad
522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Regenta Central Antarim
Regenta Central Antarim
#8 of 162 in Ahmedabad
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - Ahmedabad
3.2 mi away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#10 of 162 in Ahmedabad
587 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand O7 Suites & Convention
Grand O7 Suites & Convention
#18 of 162 in Ahmedabad
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambay Grand Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambay Grand Ahmedabad

Address: Near Perd Centre | Sola Over Bridge, Thaltej, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 162 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range: $28 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambay Grand Ahmedabad 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Sarkhej-Gandhinagar Highway, in the heart of a bustling city centre and its key business areas, Cambay Grand is an illustrious property rendering manifold facilities including tasteful accommodation, ambrosial dining, refined conferencing and banqueting, spa, swimming pool, discotheque and fitness centre. The hotel has remained in service since November 2009 and it is an ideal choice for stay owing to its easy accessibility to the domestic and international airport. The hotel embodies 145 tastefully designed rooms including Deluxe, Premium and Cambay Club rooms. The hotel also encompasses multi-cuisine restaurants and food & beverages outlets. The hotel is well appointed with state-of-the-art meeting rooms and banquet halls with a seating capacity of up to 1000 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cambay Grand Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing