We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambay Grand Ahmedabad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cambay Grand Ahmedabad
Ranked #132 of 154 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Right from check in I knew I was at the wrong place, the staff and others are no good to run a "four star" hotel.

I was traveling with my family so i had made telebooking with this hotel the rate which was provided to me on the call had differed at the time of check in, it took almost an hour to sort the matter and than allowed me to check in. The rooms were poor considering it was a four star property. It had a cooling system and also had split A/c which look wearied. I had to call on for every thing from room slippers to toiletries which were again of very poor quality. The dinner was mass they only serve buffet and no À la carte. The staff are the worst i have ever came across to this Industry.They don't even know the basics of hospitality. In morning I visited the poolside which was bad in condition The change rooms were worst than some municipality washrooms.

The lack of training of staff is so apparent or the management that it is incredible no one has thought of putting this right. I will NEVER go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ikdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
we regret for the inconvenience caused to you and your family during the stay. Speaking on the rates, there are many types of rates for a particular category of room depending on the season.

Would request you to please assist us to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    34
    14
    31
See reviews for
30
8
8
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thane, MH,INDIA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was second visit there and it is better than earlier as Ahmedabad develops, so does its Hotels.

As already noted this Property has a great location for someone who wants to drive past the City of Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks a lot for spending your valuable time and posting a review. Do give us a chance to serve you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice Location....Very Good Rooms....well decorated....value for money hotel...breakfast okay can more better ....overall good experience.....clean atmosphere.....friendly staff.....big hotel at low price..

Room Tip: All Rooms are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dudaniravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks a lot for spending your valuable time and posting a review. We are always there to serve you better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Large rooms that overlook a road and a vast expanse of small one-story houses in Ahmedabad. The room service is slow although they say 15 minutes. The ambiance is average and nothing spectacular to rave about. The beds are firm and comfortable.

The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. They are all dressed formally and speak well.

This is another budget hotel that is good and clean and efficient for short stays.

The hotel has a large lobby and a restaurant. I was very disappointed that while breakfast is supposed to be ready by 7 AM, it was not served until 7.15 AM. I had a flight to catch and hence had to make do with some fruits and a cup of tea. This was an unusual experience, but may have also been a one-off incident.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms that face the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoneld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks a lot for spending your valuable time and posting a review. Do give us an opportunity to serve you frequently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very pleasant welcome by the staff and the front desk. The bell boys and vallet are prompt and on their toes. Very well organised staff and apex quality of food. Very clean and hygienic. Airport pick up and drop service was available and they had their facts in place. It did take some time for them to figure things out but it was worth the wait.

Room Tip: Dual occupancy with Double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shank81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks a lot for spending your valuable time and posting a review. We are always there at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The place was good, I had actually booked "Premium" room on reaching the hotel, the reception pointed out politely that the room you booked is occupied and will be free in the evening, :-( Had no choice but to agree with what was available... (As this was a bit out of the city)

To my surprise when I was to vacate the room, since I had booked "Premium Room" and was staying throughout in a standard room, the rates I was applied was for Premium Room, upon request and few arguments they gave me some discount (Not happy at all).

Be aware of what you have booked and demand the same.. :-))

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayaram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks a lot for spending your valuable time and posting a review. Regret for the inconvenience caused, give us an opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata , India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

From time I landed i Know i m in trouble . No one to Pick up even though they had a Counter at Airport . He did not knew I was Booked . Waited for 20 mins for Pick up to arrive . Walked in Got a Room after 30 mins waiting as I was early which was Ok . My room window was Blocked half
Room service was Terrible they delivered order without side dish and then have to call thrice before some one could come to pick up utensils .
Had Booked for 2 Days but checked out after 1 night and suited to another Hotel .
Got a Follow up Call from there Centralised system and gave them feedback around 10 days back but no one followed .
GOD help them !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hormuz_mukadam, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
We extremely regret the inconvenience caused. Would request you to please write to us your issues and will definitely revert to you. hormuz.mukadam@thecambay.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ahmedabad hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahmedabad
3.5 mi away
Cambay Sapphire
Cambay Sapphire
#127 of 154 in Ahmedabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fern Ahmedabad
The Fern Ahmedabad
#31 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#28 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Caspia Hotel
Caspia Hotel
#1 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cambay Sapphire
Cambay Sapphire
#12 of 17 in Gandhinagar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.2 mi away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#10 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambay Grand Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambay Grand Ahmedabad

Property: Cambay Grand Ahmedabad
Address: Near Perd Centre | Sola Over Bridge, Thaltej, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 154 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambay Grand Ahmedabad 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cambay Grand Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing