We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true indian food .with true indian taste, in true indian atmosphere”
Review of Vishala

Vishala
Ranked #5 of 3,572 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
baroda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“true indian food .with true indian taste, in true indian atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

as if you are back to 70 years for decent indian tradition in food. place worth experiencing , even
experienced by great personalities of India

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank royBaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    184
    37
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Gujarati food in Ahmedabad!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Normally, I am not a big fan of eateries that try to create the atmosphere of a village etc and claim to serve authentic cuisine of that type of village. I think it often takes the attention away from food. But Vishala is an exception. The food is truly amazing! I went there with family a few days after Diwali. Every single dish they served was delicious. The service was great. You sit on the floor around a large rather rustic table. Seating is such that each group gets a lot of space its own. You can go an settle in there for a couple of hours and enjoy all the Gujarati goodies they have to offer. Only downside, even in November, they do not start serving dinner until 7:30 PM. This can be a bit challenging for families with small babies. I wish they would start at 6:30 PM!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to experience Gujarat and its food!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

One of the best places to experience the earthy Gujarat. Have been going there since i was a kid and seldom have i been disappointed...must visit. Great Gujarati Food and a beautiful vessels museum.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ninad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Do it for the experience!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

What an experience! And I thought the choki dhaani was an original concept. This great joint has been tucked off in Ahmedabad for over half a century treating people to a great Gujarati experience.
A small museum to start with, great sit down service, being fed as if personal guests at home, absolutely wonderful flavours and out of the world experience.
Must try when in Ahmedabad!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reekshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gujarat
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“rustic feel”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

it does not stop amazing me, no matter how many times i visit this place. winters is the best time, loads of varieties of fresh vegetables. it is a great place for just snacks which are served outside, but nothing to beat the local gujarati food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 74hope79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vishala also viewed

Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 

Been to Vishala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing