We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe secure and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Volga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Volga
Ranked #41 of 158 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“safe secure and comfortable”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

tucked away in relatively quiet alley. very well located near old town. very helpful manager. deluxe doubles are spacious and clean, everything works, good bathroom. standard doubles are basic but ok.very good value all round

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline.nixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    67
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
32
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

The only really positive thing about this hotel is that the staff are helpful. Other than that the rooms are quite depressing and both non AC rooms that I stayed in were far from ideal. I was moved from the first one after complaining about how bad it was and although it had a window it was so small and so dirty that it was not much benefit. There is no restaurant so you have to eat in your room. I stayed four nights as I couldn't get a train to Jaipur before this but one night here would have been more than enough. One of my least favourite stays in India, and Ahmedabad itself was not anywhere near as interesting as I'd hoped. Also, the hotel holds no tourist information, no maps on reception or tour guide assistance.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyLondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We paid Rs1000 (plus 10% tax) for a room for two (there are cheaper rooms availiale). The hotel is in a good location right in the middle of town just behind the House of MG (the Green House restaurant there is well worth a visit). It's a couple of kilometers from the train station to the hotel but a tuk-tuk should only cost 20 to 30 rupee. There's no internet access at the hotel but there's a very cheap internet cafe just around the corner (Rs15 per hour).

Our room had cable TV, fan, air con and a private bathroom with hot water shower. The room was fairly clean by Indian budget/mid-range hotel standards but was starting to show its age. With a little more T.L.C and a fresh lick of paint this would be a great hotel rather than an average one. The staff were really friendly and we thought that the room was good value for money. A big bonus is the 24 hour check-in.

In summary - not a bad place to stay if you need a night in Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaverman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

My big complaint with Indian hotels is that they tend to be overpriced and dirty (especially when compared to South East Asian countries). However, this hotel was clean, centrally located, and with friendly staff. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean. For about Rs. 1000 you get a 'upgraded' room - that's a pretty solid deal for this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

A Good hotel & at a very affordable price with all facilities needed for a comfortable stay, with staff being very co-operative & helpful.They helped us with dinner even very late in the night & that too with a smile.

  • Liked — HELPFUL STAFF
  • Disliked — NONE
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mrrgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I stood here in July 2009 and had a good experience. Though the rooms are a bit dated the value, location and the staff make up for it. The rooms are clearly from 10-15 ears ago but they are comfortable and clean. the staff was friendly and helpful. the location is good but has a hitch in the fact the it is at the end of a small side street so it can at times be difficult to get a taxi to the front door but its is only a few hundred feet down the block so if you find a landmark to tell them where to turn it is no problem. the rooms were very reasonably priced for what we found in the rest of town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manunyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Hotel Volga is tucked away at the foot of Laal Darwaaza but WHAT A GEM! The front desk staff were just SO lovely, especially Anish who was just like my uncle being there, he made me feel very much at home. He was even able to suggest a beauty salon where I could go and have a facial - now what man can do that?! The room itself was great value with AC and private bathroom for only 800Rs, total bargain and also room service for food which was very very tasty! The shower was piping hot and everything was damn clean. Even got a newspaper everyday - for that price it's DEFINITELY worth it especially with the lack of good hotels in Ahmedabad - definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Ambience
Hotel Grand Ambience
#29 of 158 in Ahmedabad
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamran Palace Hotel
Kamran Palace Hotel
#45 of 158 in Ahmedabad
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prime
Hotel Prime
#71 of 158 in Ahmedabad
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#33 of 158 in Ahmedabad
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treebo Ambassador
Treebo Ambassador
#35 of 158 in Ahmedabad
164 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Formule1
Hotel Formule1
#20 of 158 in Ahmedabad
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Volga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volga

Property: Hotel Volga
Address: Near Ankelsharia Hospital, Opp. Electricity House, Relief Road,, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 158 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Volga 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is very uniquely furnished with contemporary outlook which makes your stay a different experience and a sheer contemporary pleasure. The emenities and facilities will definately make your stay memorable and we guarantee your visit to be recruiting. Yet another attraction, the Kankariya Lake, is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Luxurious accommodation at ideal location. Located amidst the elite business area of Relief Road and the most exciting tourist and shopping destinations of C.G. Road, Hotel Volga is a luxury hotel right here in the heart of the Ahmedabad city. Comfortable Stay for both business & leisure travelers. Whether you're looking for lavish stay on your business tour or a luxurious abode on your leisure trip, Hotel Volga - Ahmedabad offers a world of comfort and luxury taking care of your every need, wants and obsessions to make your stay wonderful and memorable. We have 30 well appointed rooms. Here, each room and suite is lavishly appointed with every convenience of modern life making it a home away from home.Taste food like never before. Come and experience the contemporary style. Unique in its nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Volga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing