We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sasuji

Sasuji
Ranked #12 of 3,564 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food is good and decently varied, and the service is so quick if you are not carefull you tend to eat many times your normal food...
being in CG road its also v accesible

however, i dont think its the best Thaali option - pl check out places like Vallabha, pakvaan etc also

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ankur1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    98
    33
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality thali!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

You get to taste a paraphernalia of traditional Gujarati food...and the quality , hygiene is commendable!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank I_am_Saurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting platter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Quick service, standard meal plate, 230 Rs per head - unlimited guju food, ambiance quite.
ask them to tell you more about the food - cause they don't speak to maintain a nice ambiance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank raya1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food to satiate the soul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Gujarati thalis are a favourite with me, probably linked to my genes! But since I stay outside Gujarat, I rarely get a chance to eat authentic gujju food. On a recent trip to Ahmedabad, I had lunch at Sasuji, and as expected, it was an amazing lunch. Very good value for money, and quick and efficient service, which are the hallmarks of any Gujarati Thali restaurant.

I must make a special mention of the karela sabzi - now karela is something which I have avoided since childhood, but the preparation in Sasuji was so well done, I had several helpings. Bitter gourd cooked with raisins, coconut and mild spices - true innovation from the kitchen. Since it is summer, Chilled mango pulp was a part of the meal, and it sure adds a dash of flavour to the overall experience. Other items were somewhat routine - dhoklas, mini samosa, chutneys, salad, gujarati meethi daal, aloo sabzi, one paneer item, one legume dish, and one more sweet dish (halwa).

The ambience is soothing, and since the location is on CG Road, its very accessible and a great place to have lunch amidst your shopping sprees!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mouli_Dholakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Traditional Thali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Situated right at CG Road. Good and many options to choose from in the thali. Great taste with traditional touch. Service is also very good. They also have home delivery.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank madankalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sasuji also viewed

Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 

Been to Sasuji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing