We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Building, Average Everything Else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mobor Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mobor Beach Resort
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Salcette District
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Building, Average Everything Else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

When we arrived the resort was sparsely populated by mainly retired couples on time share occupancy which made our stay very quiet and peaceful. There is however a very busy road alongside the resort. Which is all right as long you’re not phased by horn honking traffic while stepping out for an evening to visit one of the many restaurants in the area.
The place itself is very clean, well maintained and nice looking with marble tiled floors throughout.
Most rooms are large, clean and airy with plenty of storage space. The bathrooms are similarly clean and tidy. On the down side the bed mattresses were very, very hard and uncomfortable even by Indian standards.
There is a spacious dining room and bar on the ground floor manned by two or three very poorly trained youngsters which explains why it was very underused while we were there. For the sports tv enthusiasts there is a sports bar in the basement run by a very amiable English couple.
Finally, be warned that the distance to the beach is not 100 metres as stated on the Thomas Cook website. My partner and I with the help of others measured the trek, we came up with a total average distance of approx 880 metres which is almost a kilometre (see photo). This would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems plus the fact that if you leave anything behind in your room when you get to the beach it’s quite a daunting slog to go back and get it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
20
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Basic room - Bed very firm - extra concrete avaiable on request or sleep on floor - Sheets Khaki - Do not have a look at the pillows as they are really nasty - Towels about 10 years old & never seem fabric conditioner great if you had a skin complaint. Lock on balcony door broken . Great if you are a backpacker although not budget . Wont be staying there again - Decor comes in 3 different colours although meant to be the same -you cant touch up the walls in a different colour & expect it to match - The rooms need a few pounds spent on them - toilet seat hanging off & badly stained - Not the Ritz -

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentredseadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salcette District hotels

oldham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was our 5th visit to Cavelossim but our first time in this hotel.The hotel is about 10 years old but is in need of a little bit of a make over.Our rooms were cleaned and towels changed
every day.However, everything seems a bit "tired".Some bright paint on the walls,bright lights
over mirrors,new bedding and towels would help to improve the comfort of the bedrooms.
The pool area is lacking in plants as it is just a rather bare concrete area which does not get much sun later in the day.
Having said this I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.The staff are very friendly,the breakfast service is great and overall it is one of the best value hotels in the area.We stayed
there in February 2012 in room 221.This is on the right hand side and overlooks trees,but has very little sunshine on the balcony.The left hand side of the hotel has most sun but the views from there leave much to be desired.
If you are looking for basic ,clean accommodation with agood breakfast this is the hotel for you.
Madelynn.Peter, and Connie

Room Tip: left hand side of hotel sunny rooms right hand side cooler and shady
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madelynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have previously stayed in this hotel when friends were owners in the holiday club but since their term of owenership has ended we decided to book anyway. We were very disappointed in the state of the hotel now - it is dirty, lacklustre, bedding and towels are disgraceful, rooms need updating and cleaning and the owners/manager need a kick up the backside - the staff all need a boost and better equipment and training to improve. There was no basic equipment in the room - not even a fridge or kettle and we had to wait for days to obtain these all at an extra cost. Beach towels are available at a charge but are disgusting and obviously all years old. Breakfast is very hit and miss and quite limited but adequate but you may have to wait for replenishment of plates, knives and forks, butter etc from previously used tables. The pool area is terrible, dirty and sunbeds are not cleaned off, the area is so basic you do not want to use it. I wanted to send a post card via reception but was told the nearest postbox is half a mile away and there was no offer to post it for me. The only plus side is that this hotel is located at the beginning of the resort which has many shacks and restaurants for shopping and eating. All in all this hotel needs to up its game to keep customers and we will not be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms owned by holiday club owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is our 5th xmas in Cavelossium and 3rd time staying at the Mobor. You get what you pay for, we only go B&B as its so cheap to eat in the resturants in town.
The en-suite standard rooms have a balcony and are fairly roomy with large hard bed, wardrobe, mirror and side-unit but what more do you want when you have Goa the other side of the door!
Your room is cleaned when you hand your key into reception, we done this everyday (just so we did not loose it) and our sheet and towels where changed every other day.
Breakfast is simple toast, juice, tea or coffee or you can pay extra and have eggs cooked any way. The reception staff are friendly and helpfull and we did not find fault with William and the breakfast staff.
There is a pool and sun loungers at the hotel and we used these a couple of times. The area is not in the sun all day so if your not a fan of the sun its quiet a relief.
Will we go back? YES as long as the price is right.

Room Tip: We stayed in 221 and it was on the cool side looking out to shrubland, our friends stayed in 218 acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I have been visiting Goa each February for the last 10 years. The weather is perfect and it's very cheap to eat here. The only drawback is the cost of the Taxis which used to be very cheap but prices have risen steeply over the last few years.
After a few years of staying at 4 and 5 star resorts, we decided to invest in the Beach Club at the Mobor Beach - waiting for the villas to be built, with the intention of buying a villa. The villas have not been completed for different reasons and so we have extended our membership of the beach club.
We have stayed there for the last 7 years and have always enjoyed our stay there. It's not the Ritz, but it's always clean and tidy. If you are paying £35-£45 per night then you cannot expect the Ritz, but it is an ideal place to return to after a long day at the beach. The pool - which is filled with spring water which is why it's cloudy - gets very hot whereas the beach has a lovely breeze.
There are a lot of older folks who go out there for the British Winter - and I don't blame them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viv E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed here last year with Thomas Cook, and i have to say never again. We arrived at 7am after a long flight only to be told that our room would not be available for an hour...we waited 3 hours in the end. The room itself was basic but ok, with 2 double beds but no A/c, which we were told would be an extra £250 a week...we made do without and decided to put the money saved back into the local economy rather than the pocket of the greedy owner of the Hotel. Best thing about this hotel is the Chef Vinney, who is a star and cooks a great steak!

We ate regularly at Dom's shack on the beach, The River view in the evening and The Rice Bowl for a late night drink and chinsese.

You get what you pay for and if all you want is a base then this hotel is bareable...otherwise stay clear! There are more friendly owners in the area who would welcome your custom...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireFoodie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette District
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
0.0 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mobor Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mobor Beach Resort

Property: Mobor Beach Resort
Address: Mobor Beach | Cavelossim, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > Salcette District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mobor Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mobor Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mobor Beach Hotel Salcette
Mobor Beach Resort Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing