We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience.. Ever!!”
Review of Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Grove
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience.. Ever!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

After staying in ramada.. came to this hotel / resort for a night.. It is rated as 4stars.... I dont know what kind of people would give this 4 stars.. It is 2* according to american standards.. Breakfast terrible.. Found a small cockroach inside a napkin in the restaurant during buffet.. coffee cold.. asked if they have any toothbrush/paste.. not available... Found another small cockroach inside the room.. Only the landscaping is good.. apart from that there is nothing 4star about this.. Terrible breakfast.. Rooms look old... I would never go to this resort again.. BEWARE.. do not be fooled by the number of stars!!

Room Tip: None of the rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post this review, although it was rather surprising and at the same time disheartening to read it. From putting the Reception staff in an uncomfortable and difficult position by insisting rather loudly that you will not be paying for your 7 year old child, which was ultimately waived off to keep you happy, to making a scene later that same evening in the lobby area because the Front Desk staff told you about the 'hotel's policy' of not permitting non-resident guests directly into the room. Such type of behaviour is totally uncalled for. If you remember correctly, you had registered yourself and your two children only at the time of check in. Neither did you keep the Front Desk staff informed about the arrival of your lady guest or divulge her name nor did you tell the staff that you had allowed her access directly to your room and that she might stay the night. All of this went against the very essence of our hotel's policy and regulations. And, if you had taken the time out to patiently listen to what the the staff had to say instead of relentlessly questioning our policy and comparing it to the likes of Ramada, you would have understood that these are basic security measures taken in the interest of protecting our guests and their belongings. As a result of your outburst and intimidation, the staff called me to intervene and help you calm down and explain to you the hotel's policy. We have been very flexible, tolerant and decent inspite of your aggressive behaviour. But, we see that you are still rather disgruntled as is evident in the review posted by you. A couple of suggestions dear Guest, the next time you stay at any hotel, please give a patient hearing to the hotel's policies and house rules as it obviously differs from hotel to hotel and please find a way to respect rather than ridicule it. And please, inform the management whilst you are in house of any complaints that you may have as this would enable the management to filter the complaints and take necessary action wherever needed.

Regards,

Marc Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
57
84
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went there for lunch as we were staying in a hotel nearby which didn't have the kitchen operational. Reached at 2:00 pm with 7 people including me.
the resort and restaurant looked nice. no AC in the restaurant, not switched on even when requested.
Ordered pineapple and watermelon juice without looking at the menu. was priced exorbitantly at Rs. 130. was not very chilled and portions were small.
Then food took very long to arrive. took 2 strolls to the beach in the mean while. food was good but again portions didn't justify the price. It took an hour to get us all the food.

Then I notice a rice weevil inside my fish curry and Rice. Complained to the waiter. No action. no deduction in the bill. very poor.
I must add that the staff was very nice and polite. but the insect in my food and the delay in serving us takes away the rating and i am marking 1 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was a quick weekend stay, for a quick break. And its our second stay in the same Hotel after about a year.

Clean, decently furnished rooms but bathtubs could have been in better shape. Preferred the 1st floor to our earlier ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We have noted the contents & are in the process of rectifying same. We appreciate you taking the time out to post this review & we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Marc Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The service was good.....food was amazing, specially the prawn biryani and the lobster...thoroughly enjoyed the 2-night stay.
The room was nice and cozy....perfect for a couple getaway....enjoyed our time there at the pool and at the room. Convenient location, can head to colva beach for some hussle and bussle, or just relax at their own beach exit.
In short, was an amazing trip and would love to do it again.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Royston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for lovely feedback. We appreciate you taking the time out to post such a beautiful review & we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Marc Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margao,Goa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We go every year to Coconut Grove for a weekend stay especially during May-June and we enjoy it so much that we dont bother to go to any other place. The rooms are great,ambience is great, superb food and above all fantastic hospitality with the staff being really friendly ,helpful and prompt to respond to anything. The smiling ,courteous staff at the reception itself make you feel at home right on arrival. Great beach close by and lot of privacy.Really suerb atmosphere. The only negative part is of the swimming pool which could have been a little bigger,but not to complaint ,overall a fantastic experience. Highly recommended.
Edgar Menezes, Margao,Goa.

Room Tip: We really dont have any room preferences and enjoy our stay in any of the roomms. If u r not sure ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddyMargao_Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay & look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We wanted to visit south goa and decided to stay here. Thus was our first time and we were glad to make this choice.
Besides the staff we were the only Indians in the resort. So clearly its famous among the westerners.
The resort is well done. Good facilities like restaurant and a swimming pool.
But the best part is the access to the beach which is like a 2 minute walk.
Staff is great and well maintained property. Only problem is you need to have your own vehicle or a scooter to reach here. At the end its worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulshetty432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

the resort has beautiful reception and a wonderful garden but somehow i felt that the management is all keen to maintain the lawns and garden only. dont go by the professional pics. the resort is way old property which might have been awesome some 20-30 yrs back but now its kinda after-retirement abode for the old foreign tourists. i will tell you the reasons why.

1.they dont provide free wi-fi connection which is a must today. we were ready to pay for the facility but they asked us to go to the reception coz the router was not working that day. i am sure tht must not be working for ages!!!

2 the interiors have been decorated with beautiful terracotta n china-bone stuff which gives a hill station feeling not the goan feeling n that might spoil ur holidaying mood if u r with friends or kids.

3. the bathroom was just ok ok. but to my surprise,the tub was among the oldest models. it didnt have the hand shower!!

4. the breakfast was too limited. that to the horrible taste.. .

5. swimming pool was too small. ..they dont have a baby pool..also immediately it touches 5.5inches after half a meter you enter the pool. so no fun for people who dont know swimming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blue_tuliprosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments though rather unusual & surprising ! It would have been nice if you had informed the management of any grievances whilst you were in-house.

Anyway, thank you for taking the time out to write this comment.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
0.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alagoa Resort
Alagoa Resort
#4 of 5 in Betalbatim
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove

Property: Coconut Grove
Address: Betalbatim beach, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Salcette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Resort Goa
Coconut Grove Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing