We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cozy”
Review of Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Grove
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Quiet and cozy”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

A small and cozy hotel, very green and very peaceful. Ideal for family holiday. Our air-conditioned room had a big double bed, two armchairs, a coffee table, a sofa, and a fridge. Tea and coffee-making facilities. The room was comfortable although a bit tired and not soundproof – you could hear your neighbors talking. The bathroom with a bathtub was fairly big. Attention: there is a special switch that turns hot water on.

Breakfast was OK – porridge, sausage, beans, eggs, and of course different kinds of fruit. The breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. It seemed that once brought, none of the dishes were ever replenished, so we worked out a habit of coming early.

The beach is about 200 meters’ walk from the hotel. Clean and quiet. The hotel has a small pool.

The only thing that really put us off was the Internet access – quite expensive and very slow. Otherwise everything was fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
57
84
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

visited March 23 - 7 April 2012,
Although a small resort, but wonderfully positioned. The pictures on the wedsite did not do it justice. The surrounding gardens have since taken shape since the photos were taken, and are beautifully laid out. Very quiet, and peaceful. But still lots going on outside. A short walk through the coconut grove to the beach, where there are eight shacks to chose from to sample the local fish and local dishes, which are very good value for money. Colva is a 35min walk along the beach. The resorts tend to put up signs warning that it is dangerous to walk on the beach after 8p.m. but it is a ploy to keep you at the resort and eat at their restaurants. Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was not very good, some things were not quite as they should be, food edible but not very good for the money. There were quite a few Restaurants in the neighbouring vacinity either a short cab ride away or in walking distance.
The "Alberts Place, Restaurant" a short walk from the resort is very good, with a wide range of fresh fish and local dishes. The "Leda Restaurant" in Colva is very good, lovely tasty curries as well as international dishes, and there is the famous "Pentagon" restaurant with wonderful food as well as evening entertainment in Majorda village, a short cab drive away or a 20min walk along the beach. The beaches are long with powdery white sand, and relatively deserted, and very safe for families, around the coconut Grove resort, they get busier close to Colva Beach at the weekends by local people. All in all we had a great holiday. Most tourists are Russian as the British tour company's do not go to this part of Goa anymore, but not all bad. Once you get over the shock that they never say 'please' or 'thank you' or say 'good morning' or even smile, it can be quite an experience. We met some very nice Russians who were very pleasant. They say it gets very busy November, December (xmas) and January. But we went end of March and was very quite. The shacks start to pack up middle of April - May just before the rainy season. Certainly would go there again.

Room Tip: There are only 50 rooms in the resort on two floors, The rooms were a good size. Our room was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at the Coconut Grove from 02/02/2012 for 7 nights as a base to then find our own accommodation for a further 3 weeks holiday. Whilst the hotel looks pretty from the exterior and the gardens are pleasant, the hotel is very tired and needs a refurbishment. The pool is much smaller than it looks from the photographs, and the breakfast is adequate at best. The real down sides were the bathrooms and the noise. The bathrooms although cleaned every day, are poor and dirty in the corners and around the bath and toilet. Our washbasin had a large crack in it which had obviously been there for some time. However, the worst thing about the hotel was the noise. Every morning before dawn a motorcycle roared through the grounds waking us up. Shortly afterwards, the army of cleaners started work. Their equipment was kept behind wrought iron padlocked doors situated near each of the rooms, and the noise they made was unbelievable. This would go on for about an hour and then people walking past our room en route to breakfast ensured that no more sleep was possible. There were mostly Russian tourists there and the hotel seems to mainly cater for them. We also found the drinks at the (very small) bar very expensive. On the positive side, the staff were pleasant and it was close to the beach. If you want a peaceful holiday, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Think all rooms were as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Chose it a my honeymoon destination after lot of research and was more than satisfied with the hotel. Rooms were clean and good.beach was near hotel. Food was nice, peaceful hotel.have lots of memories attached to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazycrazyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed 3 nights Coconut Grove.
The hotel is small, very clean, a lot of trees and flowers and the garden is well maintained. The beach is very close, with several shacks that rent out sun beds and serve good food. Advertising is in Russian, as this place like many others in Goa serve the Russian Tourist industry looking for the warm sun during the cold winters in Russia.
The service was excellent, and the Taxi service and price from the hotel to places in Goa seems to the same as non hotel suppliers, before negotiation.
The beach is beautiful and very clean by indian standard. We walked along the sandy beach every sun down and liked it a lot.
The place called Sea Princess served good and fresh fish and shrimp dishes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Israeltourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have been to Goa anually for the past 6 years and stayed here for the first and last time. Good points: Rooms wereclean, reception staff helpful, close to the beach.
Bad points: The pool was filthy.
Staff were seen to be cleaning it each day yet the water was murky and had things living in it (I have photos). Plates and tables were dirty at breakfast and if you could get hold of a waiter, any request was a chore. The hotel is quite isolated and even a trip to the nearet shop required a taxi at an inflated price from the cartel that runs it. No other taxi drivers will collect you from there because they will be beaten up. (his information came from an out of town driver). Overrun with rude Russians. Hardly any British travellers stay there so the social aspect was poor. Don't waste you hard earned money here and stay somewhere better

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moonshayde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland Province, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Just like we did last year, we did spend 2 weeks in Goa in the Coconut Grove during our travel in India. of course we looked into other hotels in Goa as well but we liked the Coconut a lot last year so we decided to go there.
It was nice to come back. A warm welcome at the reception desk where the same professional and friendly staff were doing a great job. We got a very good room. This time with a king bed (last year twins) and in this room the airconditioner was located on a better spot than in the room we had last year where the airconditioner blew cold air over the bed all the time. This time it didn't which was good.
The room was clean and comfortable; a few forgotten spots (window in the bathroom for example) but overall housekeeping did a good job.
Bathroom towels were of better quality than last year so I guess they bought new ones.
Breakfast didn't change much from last year. Last year I wasn't that happy with breakfast and I have still the same opinion. Although the waiters are friendly they seem to hang around without much to do while tables are not set or in a mess. A lack of management there.
No flies on the sweets anymore, that has improved.
The big television screen in the restaurant below has been removed which is good but the restaurant still doesn't have a good athmosphere. It is a pitty that there are not enough tables outside. Same goes for the breakfast restaurant. Foreign tourists love to sit outside but it seems that the staff thinks everyone loves sitting inside.
There were very many Russian tourists in the hotel. Much more than last year. Some are really nice and do speak some english but many of them ignored us completley.
Usually we had a drink in the bar in the evening and several evenings of the week there is live entertaiment which we did enjoy. Especailly the Tuesdays (Frank) are really nice.
Location is wonderful. I love walking to the beach. On the sandy road you usually see goats, waterbuffaloos, birds etcetera and the beach itself is wonderful. Many times you can spot dolphins and you can always see all kind of birds.
We hope to visit Coconut Grove in the future again. We like it a lot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zeeland Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
0.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette
1,882 reviews
3.7 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 15 in Benaulim
589 reviews
6.0 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove

Property: Coconut Grove
Address: Betalbatim beach, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Goa, India
Coconut Grove Resort Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing