We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Grove
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Plus:
Pretty
On top of lovely beach
Very friendly staff (not as found in some of other reviews)
Good pool
Good sunloungers
Fair food

Outings:
Must do cola beach and stay in tents. Beach breath taking and tents lovely
Elephant and spice interesting
Margao busy!

Restaurants:
Shack on right on beach banjys?excellent
Martins corner yum yum
Pentagon nice venue food ok
Alberts excellent value yummy food

Note:
Mosquito repellant from goa £1 much needed
We needed to use cabs at night as not too many restaurants in walking distance
We did get sick (not hotels fault) for 5days you can buy but easier if take hydration salts, Neurofen with you
Leos tailors good


Thomson rep Karen was exceptional

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellervg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 194 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

My wife and I wanted to travel somewhere that neither of us had been before for our honeymoon, and after some deliberation chose Goa, and Coconut Grove got our vote due to it's closeness to the beach. The beach is maybe 300m from the resort, so without actually being on the beach, it'd be difficult to get much closer.
When the booking wass made, the resort was informed by our travel company that it was for our honeymoon, and our room was beautifully decorated with and array of flowers and a floral display on our bed, we also had a complimentary bolttle of wine and some cake, a lovely touch.
The room was fine, clean, spacious, planty of seating and storage, air conditioned. Our only complaint is that the bath had a leak, so whenever we had a shoer there was a puddle on the floor.
The resort is well maintained, some lovely gardens and flower arrangements. The pool is a fair size and cleaned every night. Entertainment is provided most nights, but really isn't up to much. usually one man and his piano playing a selection of pop tunes from the 80's. Once a week we did have a fire eating display.
The restaurant is quiet good, the food coudn't be faulted, and is reasonably priced. 4 huge tiger prawns, fresh red snapper and a lovely bottle of wine cost £20 for the both of us.
If you fancy something a little cheaper, there are a couple of shacks on the beach, the "Baggies Rest" and the "Fishermans". We adopted the Fishermans for our stay, and the waiter, Santana, was very helpful and quite happy to bring drinks out to us on the beach. They have a good selection of local dishes, and well as Chinese and western food too, so most tastes should be catered for.
Finally, one thing anyone must be aware of when thinking about booking here is the number of Russians that use the resort. They weren't any trouble as such, but came across as very indifferent and quite surly and miserable. The staff seem to be so used to being ignored by them, that it took them a couple of days to realise that some people do actually know how to say thank you and be polite. Once they were used to us actually talking to them and showing some manners, they were brilliant. The girls on reception (Manika and Michelle) are really helpful, Seby in the restaurant couldn't do enough to help, and our room attendant, Manoj, was always happy to help, and would do laundry for us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicostag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My friend and I arrived for a two-night stay, having booked through Expedia nearly a month earlier only to be told that there was no room available. They had cancelled our booking with Expedia the day before - the manageress, who was not even apologetic, said that they had cancelled earlier but was unable to produce any evidence of this. Even if they had we would have been travelling and not aware of it, as far as Expedia is concerned, the booking is confirmed from the time they take your money. We were appalled. We had been travelling and there was no way of getting any notice of this - whether it was the day before or a few days earlier and we faced having nowhere to stay. We phoned Expedia and they called the hotel while i was hanging on the phone and tried to sort it out with the manageress, who kept hanging up on them. The hotel didn't care, in spite of the notice in the reception area that says they are committed to the welfare of women and children. That doesn't include two lone female travellers, then, whose rooms they must have let to someone else, irrespective of a confirmed booking with Expedia. It was disgusting behaviour and it was only thanks to Expedia finding us somewhere else that we were OK - we might not have been, for all the hotel cared. An apology at the very least would have been good - and in spite of all this we remained polite, which was more than they deserved.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank smithbelinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genman1, Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

This is in reply to your comment posted on March 29, 2011.

We were surprised and taken aback after viewing your comments. Whilst we empathize with you, your disappointment and anger has wrongly been directed at us. We would like to clarify and set the record straight.

1. Your first booking of 1 room for 2 nights from March 06, 2011 was passed on to us by Expedia on February 15, 2011 at 09:07 PM. A subsequent reply was sent ( on February 16, 2011 at 11.25 AM ) to them that we were unable to confirm the booking. Thereafter, they sent yet another mail for the same booking on March 04, 2011 at 02:48 PM, wherein once again a reply was sent ( March 05, 2011 at 03:00 PM ), saying that the booking could not be confirmed. Moreover, they were informed well in advance about the non availability of rooms.

2. Your second booking of 1 room for 1 night from March 10, 2011 was sent by Expedia on February 15, 2011 at 09:08 PM was held on confirmed basis and a confirmation sent to that effect. However, since you had not turned up, the same was deemed as " NO SHOW " and Expedia were informed of the same. They in turn sent us a mail stating that the booking was cancelled on March 06, 2011 and ' resent ' the cancelled invoice. We had not received any such mail from them prior to that and as such had continued holding the room up until the morning of March 11, 2011.

We would be glad to send you copies of our exchange of mails, if you would like to go through them.

Also, our ' Manageress ' did not have any interaction with you as it was her day off and it was our lady Receptionist who spoke to you and explained the situation as per the mails received.

We are in no way responsible for the mis-communication between Expedia and you and would therefore request that you follow up with Expedia on this so that you are not put to any inconvenience the next time you decide to go on a holiday. Please ensure that you get your facts in order before posting such negative comments.

- MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My partner and I stayed here from Feb 8 to 22 2011 and it was our introduction to Goa. We couldnt have chosen better. The breakfast was good and substantial. We were on bed and breakfast. The beach is only a very short walk over sand dunes and it stretches for miles. There are many beach restaurants and we ate at many here. The food is very tasty and cheap but do not look at the kitchens or you would be disgusted. having said that we did not suffer except when we drank lassies at Baggies, we were both ill with upset stomachs. We only ate three times in the resort restaurant. On the second last day we ordered a lobster and tiger prawns for dinner which was expensive and the food although very tasty gave my partner food poisoning!!
The other beach restaurants are good value but you need a very strong constitution. Outside the resort are some very good restaurants. Albert's place which is a very short walk along the lake is very popular and is excellent especially the tandoori. Martin's Corner also has a good reputation but we did not have a chance to go there. A short walk away is Majorda beach and the Pentagon restaurant is very good with nightly entertainment. We went there but I would recommend a reservation if you go on Saturday or Sunday. Ask for a table far away from the band and also away from the toilets!!
Walk along the beach towards the left and you will arrive at Colva beach. A dirty fishing village with fishy smells and loads of garbage around. Take a trip from Betty's Place for Rupees 750 per person you will go on a boat trip for about 5 hours and experience watching dolphins, exotic birds, a fantastic lunch and as much wine , beer and soft drinks as you can manage. Well worth it. Make your enquiries with John at Baggies Restaurant on the beach. He will give you the contact numbers for Chris or Colin. 10% of your ticket for this trip goes towards a clinic where street dogs are neutered to prevent over population.
On the sand dunes from the resort to the beach you will come across a hut where you will find Hamish and Gunga Din, They will give you Rs 72 for one pound sterling compared to Rs 68 at the resort. This is an ideal resort to chill out as apart from the good evening entertainment every night there is nothing else to do. This just what we wanted. The staff at reception and servers are very polite and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eardley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We spent a week in Coconut Grove at the Betalbatim Beach. The resort is lovely maintained and close to the beach. You can walk to Mickey´s restaurant within 10 minutes along the beach. The rooms were nice and with a little balcony. It is worth it´s 3,5 Stars, however, the breakfast is poor, but the omelette is quite nice; you have to check with the reception that there is water in the mini bar of your room.
The main difference between the north and the south of Goa is traffic. The beach in the south is quite, however there is just a very little nightlife as well. You have to take a taxi to get from one place to the other. The north is the extreme opposite. The beach is busy, and the nightlife is exiting and everything is within walking distance. Not quite at all; so make your choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifroehlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

just got back from coconut grove after a 2 week stay.. we liked it that much we have already booked it again for 3 weeks next january..
The rooms are lovely nice and clean, we got a top floor sunveiw, couldnt of got a better room. the gardens are well kept and very pretty.
The breakfast was good and variable, sometimes the waiters get a bit laid back but that's Goa !!
It is very close to the beach ( just up a sandy path and over the sand dunes), where there is many shacks waiting to serve you, you can lie on their sunbeds as long as you eat and drink there. dont expect you to eat a lot as long as you have something,, we used 'Baggies'for the first week then moved onto 'Silent Nook' for the second week as we got a bit bored with Baggies lunch menu., But there is about 8 different shacks along this side of the beach.. You can take a 10 minute stroll down the right hand side of the beach to Majorda and approx 15 minute stroll to the left hand side to Colva..
Alberts shack more inland is a good eating place it is overlooking the lake..and there is plenty of eating places in colva and majorda, the taxi's are outside the hotel gates and the cost is 400 rupees return which includes 2 hours waiting time!
The only fault i could find with this hotel is the price of the drinks at the bar, there is a happy hour from 5 till 8 where theres 15% discount but even thsi makes the drinks expensive after the luxury tax is on.. and after 8pm they work out double the price of the outside shacks and restaurants.. Which is a shame cause it's such a nice setting to sit and chill with a drink,, we did this a few nights then used the Alagoa hotel just outside the main gates, as our chill out bar...but would of like a drink in the hotel grounds..(just bugs you the price)..
Anyone thinking of going go as we was aprehensive as first due to going to another area of Goa for many years, but we loved it and we are back next year.... !!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyla20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We travelled out on 21st Jan 11 and came back on 5th Feb 11.

Good points are:

1) Hotel close to the beach
2) Minibar in room with mineral water and soft drinks (replaced daily)
3) Pleasant balcony overlooking attractive gardens
4) Polite and friendly staff
5) Clean room
6) Aircon
7) Breakfast served until 10.30 am
8) Satalite TV in room
9) Good tailor at hotel

Bad points:

1) Very tired bathroom - very old cracked bath
2) No proper drinks/snack service when lazing around pool area (unlike other hotels in which we have stayed)
3) Cannot use phone in room to make local, national nor international calls (have to use phone at reception).
4) Pool too small and seemed rather dirty
5) Annoying western pop music played during day (we would like to have heard Indian music instead)
6) Main meals at hotel not very good (particularly western-style food - very very poor) and a lot more expensive than shack restaurants on beach (just be careful in shacks though as hygiene looks a bit dodgy....)
7) Although it says check-out time in guide in room as 12 noon, the hotel insists that it is 11 am.
8) Safes for valuables only in some rooms

General points:

Another piece of advice is to take pounds sterling and change it with Hamish who you will encounter on the path to the beach. He was giving 72 rupees to the pound, the hotel was only between 68 to 69/pound.

If you have never been to Goa before, the airport procedure on the way out is a nightmare. They checked our passport 8 times for some reason. Also when at the check-in desk, some dodgy guy was leaning on cases (increasing the weight) and asking some people to put their hand luggage on as well, then adding the weight up and charging excess baggage, which was a nothing more than a complete scam!

Three out of the four of our party ended up with severe diarrhoea and sickness so be really careful with what you eat. I would even avoid boiled rice in shack restaurants in addition to salads, cream or mayonnaise, cold meats or cheese etc....... Piping hot freshly prepared food is fine!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeypot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
0.3 mi away
Martin's Comfort
Martin's Comfort
#14 of 39 in Salcette
186 reviews
1 mi away
Praia da Oura
Praia da Oura
#2 of 4 in Majorda
24 reviews
1 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Stonewater Eco Resort
Stonewater Eco Resort
#3 of 5 in Bogmalo
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alagoa Resort
Alagoa Resort
#3 of 5 in Betalbatim
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove

Address: Betalbatim beach, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Price Range: $106 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Goa, India
Coconut Grove Resort Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing