We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and big property”
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It is a big property which is well maintained and clean. There are two swimming pools which are big, one pool at the front with a sea face view. It is easy to have leisurely time without any problem. They have a good space for official program like big gathering. Restaurants are good and foods are tasty. They have lot of choices of foods. Only drawback is that they don’t have direct access to the beach, but they have regular shuttle bogie to the beach, which is big and with lots of activities.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monzur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Delighted to read your review about your recent stay at Alila Diwa Goa. We are glad that you enjoyed the ambiance and also the culinary offerings available at the resort. I hope you and your friends were able to experience a taste of Goa via our destination experiences conducted by our Leisure Concierge team. Hope to see you at the resort soon.
Best regards,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
There are newer reviews for Alila Diwa Goa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was a nice calm and beautiful place with good rooms and also it was good place for children with swiming pool and mini threate with a separate place for game zone.. The beach was very close to the resort with the vehicle facility to take you to the beach.. The resort has pick up and drop facility which is excellent. The food is amazing which has some good non-veg dishes which is mouth watering..

Overall it is a very good place to stay with family. Very helpful staff with good surrounding around the properties.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StannyATholiday2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am happy to note that you and your family had a good stay at Alila Diwa Goa and also enjoyed the amenities on offer. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to your next visit and to serving you again.
Best regards,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of the finest boutique hotel you can stay with one of the most courtious staffs...very helpful and have had a wide spread of food.

the best part of it was the swimming pool and the kids play zone which can be well used for the couples who wishes to have privacy....

Room Tip: great experience
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaushikds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that we were able to make your visit to Goa a memorable one. Also good to know that you enjoyed the cuisine and other amenities on offer. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Goa.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

There is something about this resort which brings out the true regional character, and a relief from the usual speperficial-pseudo-international properties that larger chains offer - hats off to the designer! The ambience, food and facilities are above par!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enpee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, delighted to note that your appreciated the design and architecture of the resort as also the amenities on offer. We hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Goa.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on the 27th & 28th March 2013. Was slightly unsure of what to expect after reading the mixed reviews. However, we were in for a pleasant surprise. At the main gate entrance while in the cab itself, the security guard gave us a bowl of candies :) The check in was pretty smooth & quick & took place while we were seated & having our welcome drinks. We stayed at the Diwa Wing & the hotel was nice enough to upgrade us to the Diwa Suite. Ashley, who initially took us from the reception to the room while giving us the tour of the hotel on the way, was pretty much our SPOC during our 2 days there. And he had a solution to every query that we had for him :) Great Service with a smile by him for going out of the way to make everything we asked for available to us. The suite was pretty huge & had a very spacious balcony. The bathroom was pretty much the most amazing part of the suite. It was as big as the room itself, very stylishly done & had an extremely lavish tub. The all day breakfast at the Bistro was quite a delight. The chef whipped up some of their specialty dishes for us & I can safely say I have never had such a different breakfast in any of the 5 stars I have stayed in previously. The pools were quite nice as well. The beach is about a km away, however the complimentary beach buggy provided by the hotel every few minutes sorted that problem for us. A dinner at Martin’s Corner which is a 5 min walk from the hotel is recommended as well. All in all, a great place to stay. Will surely be back here soon.

Room Tip: The Diwa Wing for sure!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmritiGera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments on Trip Advisor, I am delighted that we were able to provide you with a memorable and relaxing stay at The Diwa Club. I will definitely pass on your complimentary feedback to Ashley and the rest of the Diwa Club team. Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Arrived at the alila diwa following a wonderful week at the grand Hyatt in north goa to be faced with a very large chaotic wedding party.
I had reserved a suite at the more exclusive diwa wing so thought the wedding would not interrupt my stay.
Advised the manager from the diwa wing was coming to escort me to the separate check in area and asked to sit in the library and await his arrival.
30 minutes later I was still waiting, tried several time to speak to reception who appeared to be overwhelmed by the wedding guests. Felt as if I was being ignored as I wasn't part of the wedding party.50 minutes before the manager arrived to escort us to the diwa wing.
As he walked us through the hotel passed the extremely noisy wedding pool party I couldn't help but wonder what had happened to all the other non wedding guests,transferred out to other hotels for 3 nights was the answer.
The manager advised us that there would be an outdoor reception that night that would be loud but would be over by 12 midnight.
Loud doesn't 't come close to describing the noise and it went on till 2 am not 12 midnight.
The suite was lovely if a little bland,crying out for some art on the walls.
The bathroom was extremely spacious centered around a fantastic bath.
Lovely pool however the main part of the pool deck was in the shade for most of the day, the area that got most of the sun was a narrow strip around the outer edge of the pool.
An all day a la carte breakfast was available to diwa guests and this was a nice touch,I did venture to the main part of the hotel for the buffet breakfast one day but certainly did not feel the need to repeat the experience.
Spice studio for dinner was nice and a good choice for in room dining but felt the bistro restaurant was expensive and lacked atmosphere.
I particularly enjoyed the edge bar and thought it was very reasonably priced in comparison to other 5 star resorts in goa.
Unfortunately for me this hotel does not deliver the 5 star treatment when compared to other 5 star hotels in goa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Firstly, I would like to apologise for your final impression of your stay with us. It is disappointing that we were not able to ensure you left with positive memories. I do acknowledge the fact that Alila Diwa Goa like other starred hotels in Goa is a popular wedding venue, however we do try our best to see that our other guests are not affected. Clearly this was not the case with you. We definitely aspire to provide a relaxed and memorable experience to all our guests and apologize for falling short of your expectations on this occasion.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visited Alila Diwa in the end march 2013. This time we decided to stay in South Goa (last time we stayed in North Goa) and struck a good deal for Alila on one of the travel website. Overall, the stay was refreshing and the property is just too good.
Room: We were given a room in their Diwa Wing (one with its own Swimming Pool and Bfast available whole day). Room was huge with the hugest bathroom. Bathroom was the highlight of the room. The balcony with 2 couches and 2 chairs and 1 table was also very good overlooking the magnificent swimming pool.
Food: Food was good, everything was not very good but Indian desserts were simply outstanding though indian vegetables were quite bad. Since all our meals were part of the package, we always had their buffet. Breakfast buffet was quite good with very good veriety.
Swimming Pools: They have essentially 2 swimming pools and 1 kiddie pool, one of the swimming pool is Infinity pool with water beds and Edge Bar cafe on the side so you can have a drink while you are in water. Other swimming pool is Diwa wing one which is only accessible to guests staying in diwa wing. Both of them were simply awesome.
Spa: I also got my SPA done which was quite fantastic.
Staff: Staff was very courteous and cooperative.
Airport Transfers: We also had complimentary airport transfers and their vehicles had a ipad installed.
Location: The location of the hotel is not very good as its quite interior and everything is quite far away so if you want to be in the facility itself, go for it but if you want to roam around, its quite a task. Only Colva beach is near which is a complete disappointment. We hired a cab to go to Panjim one day which was around 32 Kms.
Alila Beach: For the first 2 days we were not aware that Alila had a private beach, when we went there on 3rd day, we were completely awestruck by the sheer beauty of the beach. I have never seen such a beautiful and clear beach with white sand.Simple Divine!!
This is the perfect place for a family vacation as they also have a fully equipped Kids play area, a mini theatre which run movies twice a day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nidhianchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
4.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
10.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,286 reviews
14.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,292 reviews
23.4 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
16.5 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salcette
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salcette
#2 Spa Hotel in Salcette
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette
#3 Family Hotel in Salcette
Price Range: $151 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing