We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“goa”
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Superb hotel,all the staff very pleasant they could not do any more too help you relax and enjoy the hotel facilities.
We had a Diwa wing loft room, absolutely fabulous.
The two pools where very good,tremendous food, could not have wished for a better hotel to
spend with my wife on her 50th birthday.
Best regards too Titus and Colin.
Will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Diwa wing loft room well worth the upgrade
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikram_A_Singh, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that we were able to provide you and your wife with a relaxed and memorable holiday. Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Goa.
Best wishes,
Vikram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,903)
There are newer reviews for Alila Diwa Goa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

The first thing i noticed was the IPAD with connectivity in the pick up car, so the experience starts at the airport itself. The air in Goa relaxes you the moment you arrive, its become so synonymous with holiday and relaxation and Alila Diwa enhances that experience no end.
The reception is large, warm and the staff was courteous, as expected and you are led into our rooms through tranquil corridors which have interesting props alongside.
The breakfast spread is amazing and you can spend reasonable amount of time, just being there.

I tried the gym, was very well equipped and with a calming view, the fragrance of lemon grass oil soothed the senses. There are interesting plants in the property and certain plants attract lots of butterfly.
The pool gives an infinity look and its relaxing to sit by there and soak in the ambience.
Over all, an excellent place to stay, relax and let the moments freeze.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank achal_mehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out to share your experiences. We are delighted that you appreciated the little enhancements we made to our guest experience such as the Wi Fi connectivity in the cars as well as the overall ambiance and service at the resort. Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Goa.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Splendid hotel, the customer service was great. We were welcomed with a local specialty drink and shown to our room shortly after. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, explaining the attractions in the local area and what activities to do. The hotel is situated in South Goa which suited us perfectly as we wanted get a taste of cultural Goa. I would highly recommended booking a table for dinner at the Spice Lounge, with Live music and excellent tasting food, it's too good to be missed. The beach is located roughly 650 yards away and you can get a free transit provided by the hotel to drop you from 7am to 7pm. However, the prices are expensive and you could get some food and drink service just outside the hotel for a friction of the cost. The sunbeds were all occupied during the day but didn't bother us as enjoyed the beach front more. I would highly recommend Alila Diwa for couples looking for a relaxing and romantic gateway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting about your experience with us. We strive to provide memorable experiences to all our guests and it's encouraging to be recognized for them. I am glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Spice Studio as well as a cultural immersion into South Goa. Looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Together with a colleague we stayed at the Alila Diwa Goa Hotel over a weekend during a hectic 2 week business trip in late October. The booking had been made locally and we were charged what seemed to be a very reasonable rate £146.00 per night inclusive of all meals and with bar credit vouchers thrown in, far lower than reported by other reviewers.

In some ways it was really great, in others as other reviews make clear, it isn’t quiet all it aims to be. The rooms are wonderful, the clever design using screens to separate the bathroom from bedroom was impressive, but wasted on this lone traveller. A shower with a seat for 2 offers so much….

As a business traveller the terrible wifi signal is disappointing. I resorted to using Vodafone’s good 3G signal to pick up mail, despite the costs. The hotel It isn’t fit for use as a business hotel, and as more an more leisure visitors have multiple wifi devices any hotel claiming 5 Stars needs 5 Star wifi.,

I have a real issue with buffet restaurants: in a 5 star hotel I expect a buffet for breakfast but not for lunch and dinner. But the main one at this hotel was better than most, lots of choice and good quality food. Even so in the evenings we chose to eat in the two “specialist” restaurants, Spice and the one in the Diwa Wing. Both were good, excellent even but not busy and child free…an added bonus.

The main pool and bar were great, they were not really busy, indeed the hotel was rather quiet, most of the other guests were from Russia. It seems that they are important to the hotel for there is a full time Russian speaker on the staff. But I can imagine in high season with lots of Russian and Indian kids it could be rather noisy and crowded.

Would I go back for a vacation? I’m not sure: at the room rate I paid it was good value, but the distance from the sea is a bit of a minus. I’ve stayed in other Goa hotels and there is lots of choice. But if the deal was right? Possibly.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay get a room away from the Poole
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenkspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us in October. It is good to note that you liked the resort as also the facilities on offer. I also apologise for the problems you faced with the WiFi. Unfortunately this is an issue we encounter in Goa during and soon after the monsoon and please rest assured that the IT team on hand would have done everything possible to get it back on track as soon as possible. We definitely understand the need for travelers today to stay connected and for this reason we now offer iPAD's with WiFi connectivity even in our guest transportation. I hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Goa.
Best regards,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

first the good points.Excellent room and a first rate swimming pool.Very nice staff.Now the bad points.The hotel is almost completely full of russians even to the extent that when we tried the restaurant on the first night the menu was in russian.Similarly the beach bars have russian names in lots of cases.The food is good but much more expensive than restaurants outside which are just as good.Try Pentagon and Martins to quarter the bill. By 8am all the sunloungers have towels on them reserving space.However the really annoying thing is that I wanted to hire a self drive car and they did everything in their power to stop me achieving this ( including lying that it is illegal in goa) and citing that the taxi drivers outside the hotel have a union agreement with them, and telling me they cant find a phone book to give me the number of Hertz or Avis !!!!

Room Tip: unless youre a fan of russian tourists go somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We regret that we were unable to provide you with an enjoyable stay with us. As you are probably aware during this time of the year we welcome visitors from all over the world who seek respite from the cold in their hometowns and indeed we do have a lot of Russians who holiday in Goa as they enjoy the balmy weather here. It is possible that when you dined at VIVO, we had celebrations for the Russian Christmas ongoing and hence the menus were in Russian. Had you contacted a member of the staff, i am sure they would have been happy to help. We also have a beautiful poolside and sun beds are available on a first come first serve basis, however we have always tried to make alternate arrangements for guests requesting our assistance should they be full. We will however look into increasing the number of sun loungers for the next season. In connection with your comments on the car rental, as per Government regulations it is illegal for visitors to self hire cars. I did enquire with my team and was informed that local taxi hire service options were provided to you. Nevertheless we are sorry once again that we fell short of providing you with a memorable stay with us.
All the best!
Regards,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been in Alila Diwa from 29th dec till 01st January. Our stay was marvellous. All staff was very helpfull, professional and very friendly. We have tested Vivo and Spice Sutio's food and both of them were just perfect.
We also have enjoy a fantastic "buffet" for New Year and we will never forget it. So many fishes, fruits, indian food and desserts... It was just incredible.
Our room was in Diwa Wing and it was very quiet. The room was superbe and well furnished.
One more time, THE BEST PLACE TO STAY in India.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay with us. Am happy to note that you enjoyed the ambiance and service at the resort and we were able to meet your expectations of a surprisingly different experience.
Hope to welcome you back again on your next visit.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spend one night at Alila Diva it was awsome all round ,hoped to stay there longer but Agent had other plans ,the rooms that me and my daughters stayed in was stunning, food and breakfast was so good we had to taste everything,Staff always willing to help even managers are avaiable for a chat ,went to beach for short time but look good. this was Haven food ,pool , room ,The dinner @ the spice resturant limited spaces must book early ,was amazing we ate like we never see food before everything was so good we could not leave acrumb behind .

Will recomend any decerning tourist to stay and experience royalty .my daughters had to go to pool although it was past 6:30

Simply too good better then 5*

Room Tip: ask for a room in in the Diva wing ,
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shubash d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Alila Diwa Goa. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay at our beautiful resort. Look forward to your next visit and to serving you again.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
4.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
10.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,286 reviews
14.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,292 reviews
23.4 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
16.5 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salcette
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salcette
#2 Spa Hotel in Salcette
#3 Family Hotel in Salcette
Price Range: $151 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing