We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Joe's Birthday Paradise”
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This trip was planned for my partners 60th birthday. We arrived nov 10th, we knew we were to be upgraded before we went but wot a surprise we got. We were allocated a loft room in the Diwa wing, this was perfection. The room, it was a suite really was total luxury, if you want to spoil yourself then book in the Diwa wing. There was a fabulous pool, which most days I had to myself, and we could eat breakfast a la carte. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were well equipped, had a fabulous balcony, and the pillows and bed were to die for.
The reception staff , rohit and others but I cant remember their names, were very helpful and a special mention to Stephen for the towel art, he is very clever.
On Joes birthday day, the hotel provided a chocolate cake and a bouquet of yellow roses, all in all he had a fabulous day.

There is a little shuttle bus that takes you to the beach, the beach is fabulous, with 15 miles of golden sands to choose from, numerous beach shacks along the way to drop in and have a bite to eat and a drink, all very cheap. The sunsets are amazing and lovely to watch and chill at the end of the day.

The beach near to the hotel was very quiet, colva within walking distance was more busy. We took the local busy to Margao, (10 rupees each way) was an experience but fun.

We didnt eat in the evenings in the hotel as there were a few restaurants outside. Fishka was excellent and very cheap. Martins corner was busy but food lovely, Pentagon was excellent, all in all I dont think we had a bad meal. We didnt get delhi belly as people often predict, I guess you just have to be careful, use hand gel, and drink bottled water.

The weather was perfect and this is the place for some fabulous winter sun.

The hotel has everything you can ask for if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday. If you want bars and clubs and night clubs, then this isnt the place for you. I hope it stays this way.

There were a few shops appearing to be opening near the hotel, i do hope it doesnt become too built up as this would spoil it.

All in all, we had a fabulous time and would return.

Only downside is there are lots of russians .... wot a dreadful bunch of obnoxious people I have ever met in my life..........they look so angry all the time, they have no manners and they eat like pigs..............but just ignore them and you will have a fabulous time :-)

Room Tip: Room 358 in the Diwa wing was at the end, looked over the pool and was perfect, but i shouldnt reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pink-sparkly-shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted that you and your partner had an enjoyable stay at The Diwa Club. I shall also pass on your feedback to all my team members as requested. Also good to know that we were able to provide Joe with a memorable birthday celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Alila is a lovely relaxing hotel. Rooms are large, airy and very comfortable, with the largest bed I have every slept in and so comfy. Lovely balcony with two beds and a fan. Good choice of food in both restaurants that is delicious. Staff friendly enough but sometimes there seems to be a language/communication problem. The pool is lovely with views of the paddy fields, which I loved, I spent hours watching the local farmers farming and cattle roaming around. Beach a 10 minute walk through the village or you can take a shuttle bus, but no sun beds or any hotel comforts. The only down side is there is nothing to do at the Alila, no evening entertainment. We had gone on an all inclusive basis as had spent the last week travelling the Indian triangle and thought it would be nice to just not think about where to eat, but some evenings there was only a few of us in the restuarant as most people are on b & b basis and go outside the hotel for dinner. Also, there was an indian wedding that was going on for two days and I do feel that us holiday makers where slightly marginalised. We had to eat at the spice bar and were not offered the selection of foods and one of the evenings had a set menu given to us, (which was very poor) Also during the day the wedding celebrations where so noisy (loud music) that we couldnt sit round the pool. But if you like peace and quite this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are amazing, large rooms, huge bed, large bathroom and balcony. Upper floor probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnjmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent posting, am happy to hear that you had a relaxing holiday with us. On behalf of the team, I apologize for an inconvenience caused due to the wedding at the resort. Unfortunately or fortunately Goa is a very popular wedding destination, however we try as much as possible to see that alternative venue choices are offered to our other guests. I have also taken note of your feedback on lack of entertainment and along with my food and beverage team, am in the process of finalizing a regular schedule for entertainment in the evenings. I do hope you will visit us again.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights following our travels around North India. It is a haven of peace, tranquility and luxury and was exactly what we needed after the choas of Delhi etc. The hotel is only around 2 years old and everything is still emaculate and the staff appear to be working hard to keep it that way. It has a large infinity pool which overlooks paddy fields - not the best view in the world, but not much they can do about that. we stayed in a terrace room with its own patio with seats and an outside fan. The room is lovely with very good facilities, excellent air con and free WiFi.

Breakfast can be taken outside or in one of the restaurants and has an extensive choice to suit all palates. we ate in both the Vivo and Spice Studio restaurants. They both serve excellent food, well presented and with attentive waiters. Its a little pricey, but still alot cheaper than UK.

The beach is about a 10 minute walk down a track, but the hotel run a shuttle - rather like a large golf buggy that runs you up and down throughout the day, until 7pm. If you are at the beach and think you have been waiting too long, the lady who owns the shop will call through for you (you may however have to examine her items for sale whilst you wait!). the beach is lovely, backed with coconut trees, with many beach shacks with beds and refreshments. You will be approached to visit these, but they take "no" with good grace. the hotel provides towels for you to take to the beach - ask at the swimming pool.

The only slightly down side is that the hotel is quite isolated with very little within walking distance from its front door. Taxis are available from outside the hotel, but it is cheaper if you make a deal with one to pick you up outside the grounds of the hotel.

We also used the spa for a couples Balinese massage, followed by the steam room and outside shower. A lovely way to spend about an hour and a half.

All in all an excellent hotel, with great staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments, we are happy that we were able to provide you with a surprisingly different experience at our resort. Also good to note that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and beverage as well as the Spa Alila facilities. The resort also offers a number of experiences for guests to partake of in and around the area, hope you managed to get in a bit of sight seeing as well. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We Booked 3 Rooms In The Diwa Wing Of The Resort For 4 Nights (11th November)

Good -- A Luxury Mini Bus Was Send To Received Us From The Airport. The Check In Was Very Quick & Casual. Rooms Was Allotted Very Quickly. Rooms Were Quite Big & Impressive. Bathrooms Were As Big As Bed Rooms Amazing ....... Excellent. All Feather Touch Electrical Switches.
Buffet At VIVO Restaurant Was Very Very Elaborate & Different Every Day & Specially On Diwali Night :-)

Both The Pools Are Very Good & The SPA Was Also Very Nice.

Bad -- Our Package Was -- All Suite Deals. As Per The Package We Can Have Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner In Any Of The Restaurants In The Resort But At The Time Of Check In The Lady At The Reception Told Us That We Can Have Buffet At VIVO Only. Next Morning I Showed The Copy Of Brosher To The Person At Reception He Replied That I Will Check The Same And Get Back To You But Never Talked About The Same. Even The BISTRO Restaurant Staff Was Acting That They Are Not Aware Of This Deal. It Was Very Embarrassing For Me & My Family To Show Them The Deal Details Again & Again.

Good Again -- Spice Studio Another Restaurant In Resort Opens Only For Dinner Was Too Good. The Lady Server Who Gave Us Our Table Had Full Information Regarding The Deal & We Were Welcomed Very Nicely.

Room Tip: Diwa Wing Is Quiet Nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viveklovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed comments, good to note that your experience was overall an enjoyable one. I am personally investigating into what went wrong with your meal package and will contact you on the same. I deeply regret any inconvenience caused because of this. Also happy to note that you enjoyed your meal at Spice Studio and also the Spa facilities.
I hope we can welcome you back for another experience at Alila Diwa Goa.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Alila Diwa is a new propery in Goa... feels very refreshing to be there ...A excellent place and a very new property... Pool side is just aweosme which is near the farms ..This is one of the best resorts I have stayed in Goa.. Excellent rooms and a very helpful staff...

The food was OK... it can be more better !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NayanaSamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments, we are glad we were able to provide you with a memorable stay at Alila Diwa Goa. I have noted your comments on your culinary experience and will discuss the same with my Chefs. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Alila Diwa in Goa near the Majorda beach is a very stylish hotel. Despite using elements of traditional Indian architecture like Mangalore tiles and columns, the place has a very formal look about it - it does not look like a let-your-hair-down kind of place but it is gorgeous. The hotel website makes people fall head over heels over it, and it is 90 per cent as it looks on the web. So you should ideally not be disappointed.

I visited this resort in November this year along with my wife and six-year old son. The experience starts the moment you land at the airport and the Toyota Innova draws up to take you to the hotel - no minibus, mind you, but a well-maintained personal vehicle. There is an iPad you can play with till the 20 minutes dash to the hotel gets over. And the driver helpfully passes some locally made cookies around too in beautiful glass jars. I am impressed already.

The porch is beautiful, dominated by a large banyan tree. The lobby area is also pretty, and it looks beautiful and traditional. Check-in is efficiently done - sip on a chilled drink while they finish their formalities. Coincidentally, Sunita at the desk was someone who had checked us in at the Holiday Inn in South Goa at the same time last year! So she took care to show us the property and explain it to us before taking us to our rooms.

We had a lovely ground floor Terrace room and we didn't bother staying in the more expensive Diwa rooms. The walk through the corridors is in itself beautiful, as on one side is the pretty Spice Studio restaurant with gurgling water around and on the other is a large courtyard dominated by more lovely trees. The room was decent, not exceptional. The bathroom area had sliding wooden doors which you can keep shut or open - which makes it rather unique. There is a bathtub and a shower cubicle while the potty is tucked away in a corner.

Since we were on the ground floor, we had a terrace leading to the lawns in front, with access to the pool to our right. The terrace had two settees to lounge around and each one of them has a tree growing in the corner as well. Very pretty, very peaceful, you could just sit here all day either sipping beer or coffee and reading a book. But there's more to the Alila Diwa.

There is an activity area for the kids and a massive kiddie pool too. The infinity swimming pool as well as the kiddie pool are fantastic, as spread out in front are green fields and flocks of white birds. It's extremely picturesque. There is also a play area for kids in the lawns.

The Vivo all-day restaurant is also beautiful - in fact you can sit outside and have your meals. Vivo is something else - the spread is lavish and there are live counters as well. The food tends to be slightly bland so as to keep foreign tourists happy as well. But the choice is staggering and it is tasty too.

We had taken a modified American plan which suited us very well - breakfast and one meal in a day. That way it was flexible for us and we could just hop across to the famous Martins Corner restaurant which is a hop, skip and a jump away.

So far, so good, right? There is only one weakness to the Alila Diwa, and that is access to the beach. It's not bang on the water. There are shuttles that ferry you to the beach (barely a few minutes' drive), but there is no waiting area near the beach to ferry you back to the hotel. And I usually called the hotel from the beach to ask the shuttle to come and fetch us. It is not a long walk, provided the weather is cool. If it's evening, it is a pleasant walk through the countryside. Conversely there are no beach chairs or umbrellas organised by the hotel - you have to pay to the others who run them. Barring this, the Alila Diwa is really a fantastic hotel.

The costs are a little above other hotels but you do stay in a property that really looks the part. It is gorgeous, the staff is friendly, helpful and genuinely warm. The facilities are all there and you will enjoy it for sure. I would love to go back there again.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor Terrace rooms. Of course, the Diwa wing is more indulgent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srinik69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write about your experience at Alila Diwa Goa. Good to know that you enjoyed all the facilities and the ambiance of the resort. In connection with your feedback on the beach access, unfortunately this year licenses have not been granted to operators that do not have legal shacks on the beach. We are still hopeful that eventually this will happen so our beach services will resume to normalcy. Meanwhile we do inform our guests to call our hosts as soon as they are ready to return back to the resort.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

One of the very best resorts I have stayed in. Excellent rooms, very minutely designed, good food, helpful staff, children and adults have lot of activities and games options and finally the most amazing part of the resort "the Alila wing swimming pool". The beach is a little far from the resort... Say about 10 mins walk but it's ok.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumalya007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out to write about your experience at Alila Diwa Goa. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. Regarding your comment on the transportation to the beach, we do offer a shuttle service at regular intervals from the Leisure Concierge hub on site. Our guests simply have to call our Alila Hosts when they're ready to leave and return back to the resort. Apologies if you were not aware of the same.
Hope you managed to experience our Spa and other facilities on offer.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
4.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
14.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Diwa Club by Alila
The Diwa Club by Alila
#1 of 4 in Majorda
171 reviews
23.4 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette
#2 Spa Hotel in Salcette
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salcette
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salcette
#3 Family Hotel in Salcette
Price Range: $226 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing