We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Salcette District
Certificate of Excellence
walsall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have just returned from two wonderful weeks, over Christmas at the Alila Diwa. This was our second visit in a year. The staff are very helpfull and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The new years eve gala dinner was amazing, so much too choose from.(If this was Mumbai street food I can't wait to visit Mumbai) True the hotel isn't on the beach, but the shuttle runs on demand, so it isn't any problem. We love this hotel and can't wait till our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Resident Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at Alila Diwa Goa. We were delighted to welcome you back again and I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay. Also happy to note that you enjoyed the New Celebrations we had planned. Look forward to your next visit and to serving you again.
Regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    512
    123
    39
    41
See reviews for
593
692
41
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I am writing with feedback about the dinner my family of eight and I had at Spice Studio, Alila Diwa last night, i.e. Wednesday, 4th January 2012.

From loud music, loud fights in the kitchen, dirty plates and snail pace service, one could describe it as a most unpleasant experience, definitely not one that would draw a customer for a second time around.

We were awed by the property itself and the elegance. However, once seated at the table, it was really something we never expected.

Firstly, the waiters got the order all wrong. I don't know why more than one had to take the order to begin with.

The drinks came in one at a time, the last one, a humble orange juice arriving 45 minutes later midway during dinner. Cashew feni came instead of the Palm feni and when exchanged the waiter tried to light up the drink unsuccessfully with a cigarette gas lighter. Is this actually permissible? After all the effort the drink only ended up with an unpleasant smell! It took ages to even get two bottles of drinking water.

The appetisers arrived well after the drinks were had and then the dinner, one dish at a time, with the accompaniments rice/rotis coming in when the food was cold. No one thought of serving us and the heavy crockery was just placed on the table (you could really switch to something lighter for self service). And the climax was that half the order did not arrive - two dishes of mutton pepper fry, rice and a seafood salad. After some waiting we called the waiter who was absolutely clueless about the rest of the order and so were the other two who had pitched in to take the same.

We were told after consultation with the chef, that the salad would take at least 20 minutes to prepare, the mutton fry another 20 minutes and well, there were no suggestions of any quicker option. As a result 3 of us had no food to eat. We just about split what was left of the other dishes. We were even denied a naan to go along as it would take 15 minutes and then the two rotis which they condescended to bring arrived after we finished eating, all burnt around the edges. Most probably the dough was hurriedly prepared as it was raw in the centre. It seems they were in a hurry to close down the kitchen which we realised when leaving.

I would understand if something like this happened in an overcrowded restaurant and not one that had hardly five guest covers last evening. The way the staff was operating serving all five at one time, with one dish here and one there, gave the impression that these were either untrained hands or that the hotel just lacked the capacity to run a restaurant. We had to keep asking for the music volume to be lowered and another guest and I had to request that the shouting in the kitchen be moved elsewhere. It was really difficult to have a relaxed evening and conversation across the table.

I really do hope the hotel takes this feedback seriously as this is NOT an experience one takes back from a hotel of supposedly of this standard. I would not rate it as the Best Hotel in India after yesterday. I surely hope the rest of the services are better. For us it was just a waste of money and we could have got a better deal in the restaurant across the road.

The only staff member who can be recommended was the Security Guard at the entrance of the hotel, who was very helpful with my disabled mother, getting her in a wheelchair and taking her into the hotel and out of it. He really stood out for his good and polite behaviour and willingness to help. This was a small consolation for my 84 year old mother, who does not go out any more, but did so specially yesterday just for us. She didn't even get her small salad!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YourSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Resident Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed comments on your dining experience at Alila Diwa Goa. We acknowledge our failure to provide you and your family with an enjoyable meal and I can assure you that all concerns have been addressed and have become a measurable target of improvement by our Food & Beverage Manager through increased hands on training and development. As discussed personally with you through email correspondence after the event, I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in true Alila hospitality.
Regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel is supposed to be a five star property but it does not match to any of the other places i have stayed in Goa in my earlier visits.

The staff is not only ignorant but very callous towards the needs of the guests.( if I tell them that there is no salt in the sambar and he reverts that salt is there on the table u can understand what I am saying!)

They take too long to do the check in and one person does not know what the other is doing so there is total chaos.

There were no napkins in the rest rooms!

The gala dinner for the new year eve was at a steep price of Rs 6000 per head ( compulsory ) and what they offered us was street food of Mumbai ! i could see all the foreigners just having fruit for dinner. There was no show and at midnight there were barely a one minute firework which ended before it began.Total shoddy show. We were made to pay for the gala dinner along with our booking but on 31 afternoon we realise that we have to book our table, which was too late so we got a very corner table. they did not have to courtesy to tell us also that we have to get our table alloted or anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravelling46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Resident Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is disappointing to read your comments about your recent stay. Regarding your comments on the service in the restaurants and also your unsatisfactory check in experience, I am personally investigating the cause of the problem and we will address the same via increased training and detailed departmental briefings. In connection to your feedback on the New Year’s Eve dinner, as you must be aware the compulsory dinner is common to all five star hotels over the New Year period being the peak season for Goa. Rather than offer one gala event as is common with most hotels, we were looking to offer an experience and hence had different options for our guests to upgrade their dining experience based on the type of cuisine they preferred to the ambience of the venue. The buffet that was being served at VIVO, the all day dining restaurant showcased contemporary Indian and local Goan cuisine in addition to live cooking stations serving a variety of food from all parts of India while Spice Studio and Edge Bar featured a more formal fine dining menu. Our festive desk was open from the 28th December, 4 days prior to the event and we had our hostesses advising guests on the menus for the evening and also the ambiance and entertainment at each venue so guests could choose accordingly. To carry on the celebrations post dinner, we had also organized a dance party in our ballroom which was at no extra cost to our guests. Your comments on the fireworks are valid and we too were disappointed as the same had been outsourced to an external vendor and we had originally planned for a 5 minute elaborate show. We are addressing this separately with the contractor. I would like to apologize if you feel that the event was not worth the money and would welcome your feedback on adavidson@alilahotels.com .
Regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We came on a package deal over Xmas and New Year and were lucky enough to be upgraded to the newer Diwa Wing as there were some weddings going on in the main hotel in the first few days.
The Diwa wing rooms are truly 5-star with huge double balcony, king size bed, separate sitting area, two 37" TVs and large bathroom with a free-standing bath. The touch-button light switches fit in with the ultra-modern feel of the place, but probably should be a bit brighter. There is the occasional power-cut which can get a bit annoying if you are watching a film but they never last longer than a few seconds.
When there was no wedding going on, both pools were pretty quiet but the majority of the sunbeds are well-protected by palm trees so the sun lovers sometimes had a battle getting into position. they had a button on the umbrellas to request a drink but not all of them worked.
The on-demand shuttle to the beach is very quick and convenient.You never have to wait more than a couple of minutes and the Alila guys at the beach were just as helpful and friendly as the hotel staff. Plenty of beach shacks nearby to get a cheap lunch or a drink.
All 3 restaurants had a variety of Indian and international cuisine which were all good quality and reasonably priced (for hotel food). Some of the restaurants were unavailable on wedding days but there was always one available.
FishKa over the road is probably half the price but similar quality or you can walk 5 mins up the road to Martin's Corner, which was always popular with the locals.
We organised a couple of taxis to take us to Anjuna flea market and Agonda beach and the prices were marginally more expensive than the taxi guys outside the hotel.
Our package included the standard NYE Gala Dinner that was priced at 6,000 rupees per head (or you could 'upgrade' to an 8,000 or 12,000 rupee menu!) - quite how they can justify such a high cost for a glorified buffet dinner (no drinks included) and a few fireworks I don't know.
Overall for a hotel still only a couple of years old, it's well on the way to justifying its 5 star rating. There's an abundance of staff who look happy to work there and are always courteous and friendly.
It was a wonderful hotel for the relaxing holiday we were looking for.

Room Tip: Go for the Diwa wing's top floor for the biggest balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rik_LUFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Resident Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed comments on your stay at Alila Diwa Goa. It is nice to know that you enjoyed the ambiance and the amenities at the Diwa Wing as well as the food and beverage choices on offer at the resort. I am looking into your comments on the pager buttons not functioning on the umbrellas and will ensure these are all rectified immediately. I also hope you enjoyed your New Year’s Eve dinner at VIVO. We were hoping to offer a selection of venues to our guests based on their choice of cuisine and ambiance and hence the three different menu options. Also the dinner at Edge Bar which was an 8 course degustation menu including lobster, foie gras, oysters and caviar included matching wines for each course. I do believe that our offerings across the restaurants were competitively priced with the other five star properties in the area. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
430 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed during a wedding celebration...It is a good hotel with new rooms and bathrooms but the biggest problem is that it is not on the beach...It can not be compared with Taj Exotica, Leela,or with Park Hyatt either in location or service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on first floor otherwise you will to put on curtains while you are in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalkrishnaShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlasdairDavidson, Resident Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We do not advertise ourselves as a beach front property rather as a venue where our guests can experience the local community and interact with them to get a sense of how they live. For our guests that would like to access the beach which is barely 500 m away, we do offer complimentary shuttle services to the beach at regular intervals. We hope you enjoyed the other facilities at the resort and look forward to your stay with us again.
Regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

What can I say about this wonderful place ? I have never been to Goa before but now understand fully why people rave about it. Although only there for four days I fell in love with the place. The hotel is beautiful, my room was lovely. Walk in shower room and a free standing bath. My only fault with the room was that I struggled putting make up on ( I was attending a wedding otherwise would not have been doing this ) the lighting in the bathroom area was not bright enough but I got round this by checking what I had done in the walk in wardrobe ! Very good lighting in there !
Food was fantastic, I could not stop eating ! Beautiful endless pool and a good size so you can swim off your excess eating. Surrounding gardens and countryside were also rather lovely. There are pools all around the hotel grounds so you have a constant gentle noise of water which is very relaxing.
I did not find time to use the spa but the treatments looked good and reasonably priced.
It is a calming, beautiful hotel with friendly staff. I did not want to leave and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We spent a week in April in this hotel and had a great time as a family. The room was very nice, the Pool spectacular and the Infrastructure very Good for kids. There were still some points that could've been better, such as the total Lack of attention from the staff in the restaurants or the missing feedback to our Letter to the Manager. Also the company trips where there where Maßes of Indian employees whom crowded the Garden and just took a round were somewhat irritating. However for the Price, the allover experience was okay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbaiwalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette District
4.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
14.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
20.8 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
10.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Property: Alila Diwa Goa
Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > Salcette District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salcette District
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette District
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salcette District
#2 Spa Hotel in Salcette District
#3 Family Hotel in Salcette District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing