We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Thoroughly recommended.”
Review of Sea Mist Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Mist Resort
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Thoroughly recommended.”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We came to the Casa Sea Shell after having spent a terrible few nights in another hotel in Candolim. I really cannot praise this place highly enough, it saved our holiday. Comfortable, immaculately clean rooms, really nice and well kept grounds. The staff for so friendly and helpful, they really couldn't do enough for you and all seemed to be really nice lads.

Fantastic place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    78
    23
    4
    8
See reviews for
41
88
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Selby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just spent three exellent weeks at The Casa Seashell in Candolim, all the boys were very helpful throughout our stay. The lad who looked after our room was a gent called Issac who did a brilliant job on our room everyday, with clean bedding and towels every other day. The food is allways good at the casa and its sister hotel The Seashell with a brilliant manager Sanjay. We have booked the same three weeks for next year along with our 4 friends who also stayed this year.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, better outlook over gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChunkySelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Ist time staying at Casa Sea Shell, must say, the welcome, room quality ( for India ) and staff were all very good, no complaints at all. Room cleaned everyday, towels changed daily. Small hotel, only 25 rooms, 10 rooms added 4 years ago. Set in what i would call a lovely garden setting. Breakfast being basic Indian, tea / coffee, toast & jam / marmalade. Had to pay extra for juice. This has been included in all our previous indian hotel visits. You can pay extra for an array of breakfast items but we prefer to buy breakfast on route to our daily destination, local indian breads, patties etc for 4 of us still only around 50p. Only 2 things spoiled the Casa for our party of 6, the breakfast area is right on the busy main road, the local bus stops right outside keeping engine running for 20 mins, causing an obstruction, so the noise from horns and smell of fuel is off putting at breakfast. The pool area is lacking in sunbeds, must have been ok before extra 10 rooms were built but now it can be a major issue as we found out. We only stayed in 3 days out of our 15 day stay at the Casa as we prefer to get out and about to the villages & northern beaches. I think we were just very unlucky in the guests that were staying there while we were as they stayed in most days and a few got very upset that we were sat at their breakfast table and then again when we dared to lie on their sunbed. Funny when we booked we never got the option to pay extra for our own sunbeds but you live and learn. Once we new that it was going to end in trouble we decided to go out everyday as we were on holiday and not looking for trouble. Apart from that the Casa is very good value. Obviously with the guest issues we never ate an evening meal there but we have eaten there many times over the years so new what we were missing. Candolim itself didn't seem as busy this year, trips out the roads were quiet compared to other years. The new Splashdown water park is ok for a change, especially for children, from our point 2 hours there was plenty, it was empty ( unlike the pool area at Casa ) so we tied this in with Anjuna market, which is always worth a visit, we arrive before 9am to beat the blistering heat, then waterpark then beach. This year the northern beaches have become busy, nothing special about them any more, Lovely Jubbly still worth a visit at Morjim apart from that packed with Russians, and plenty evidence of drug taking along the beach, drink filled evening parties leave the beach littered with bottles and various rubbish. Best stretch of this area is by Golden Goa, beach still quiet, clean and worth a visit. The tide has changed here and that's why i think no more shacks can invade, they'll be washed away at evening time. Kerri beach is all that's left now if you want what is termed a paradise beach, Morjim, Aswen & Mandrem is like Baga and Calangute were like 10 years ago. Big difference from our 1st visits years ago. We had a good time and may return to Goa but unfortunately not to Casa Sea.

Room Tip: End Rooms near pool are quieter, away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Staying here for the fifth time in as many years. A very well run small hotel with an excelent pool.
Hygiene standards well above the average for this part of the world, rooms fine and staff extremely helpful. It speaks for itself when many people with a lot of experience of this part of the world keep coming back often booking for next year before leaving to make sure of a room
Also a delightful garden visible from all balconies. Ideal for the evening g&t.

Room Tip: All of equal standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

our stay at the casa sea shell was the best ever ,have been to candolim several times but this was our first time at the casa stayed for 2 months dec 2011 jan 2012 very friendly staff always there to help .rooms cleaned everyday good food lovely settings
our room boy Amwar very friendly and popular with guests nothing was to much trouble for him
hope to see him there when we return in november to room number 7
thanks once again for making our stay at the casa most enjoyable
doreen & michael crowley
(dolly)to Amwar

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here in January 2012. Our room, one of the air con rooms, was spotlessly clean. The room is quite small but has a large comfortable double bed (albeit two singles attached to each other), a dressing table and a proper sized wardrope (not always the case in Goa), a small table and two chairs. There is a small balcony which overlooks the gardens.
There was a new flat screen LCD tv mounted on the wall and very modern air con unit (very quiet and remote control operated).
The electrics were the most modern I've ever seen in Goa. The bathroom was the usual wet room with a new water heater installed.
We had to pay extra for a fridge in the room (thought that was a bit poor, it should really be provided as standard).
The room was cleaned every day.
The pool is quite small but perfectly adequate with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. There are pool towels provided.
The staff were lovely, very friendly. We only had lunch at the restaurant but it was very nice.

Casa Sea Shell is on the main Candolim Road bang opposite the Panjim Road, so the downside is the noise of the traffic. If you haven't been to India before, they drive with their horns. Every time they approach another car or junction they give warning by way of sounding their horn - lots. This starts fairly early and goes on til late. It's not the hotels fault but it was quite noisy.

There are lots of restaurants nearby. We particularly liked Gato Loco, After Seven (in Calingute), East Meets West (in Baga) and Top Nosh. The beach is a 10 minute walk although we found that the shacks at this end of the beach were catering more for the Russian guests so we walked back down towards Beach Road.

So, in summary, the hotel is small, comfortable, spotlessly clean and friendly. Unfortunately it's on a noisy junction.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugby_Park_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Just returned today from a two week stay at Casa Sea Shell. I wouldn't usually write a review on here but the hotel truly deserves the recognition.

The hotel is located in a great spot, just minutes away from the beach and a couple of minutes walk from the centre. The rooms are spacious, bright and spotlessly clean with 'real' UK standard matresses. Having stayed in Candolim for the previous two years in different accommodation, I can honestly say that the room at Casa Sea Shell was the only room that was actually a pleasure to return to at the end of the day. The air-con was fab, remote controlled and the fan was effective too. The balcony overlooked the lush gardens that were extremely well maintained.

The pool area, although small was clean and well kept. We ended up spending a few days around there, the more time we spent there the more we liked it! The pool was also very cool, an absolute godsend on those hot days! We were also visited by a beautiful barn owl that flew over the the pool residing in the rafters of the church next door. Fascinating!

The hotel also have a generator which they use during the power cuts. This was great, meant that if the electricity went off which it often does in Goa we were only without for a couple of minutes at most.

There is only one criticism that I could make, and it is a constructive one..... The hotel does not do room service. If they did it would make it an 11/10 rather than a 10/10.

I just can't praise the hotel enough, great place, great staff, great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.5 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 65 in Candolim
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#18 of 65 in Candolim
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 65 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.8 mi away
Baywatch Express Urbane
Baywatch Express Urbane
#24 of 65 in Candolim
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Resort

Property: Sea Mist Resort
Address: Vaddy, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India (Formerly Casa Sea Shell)
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist Resort is Located just 100 Meters away straight walk to the famous Candolim Beach and on the main street where all happening nightlife and major restaurants dazzle each traveler; a popular tourist destination in North Goa, 12 kms from the capital city of Panaji and 40 kms from Dabolim Airport. The Resort offers a charming blend on idyllic beach side location and a base to explore North Goa, a former Portuguese colony famed for places of worship like the Basilica of Bom Jesus, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and world heritage architecture like the Fort Aguada. All rooms are carefully designed to tickle the tastes buds of modern travelers and over look beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Mist Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sea Shell Hotel Candolim
Sea Mist Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing