We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great visit to goa especially the santana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

A great visit to goa especially the santana we actually would not want to go anywhere else after finding this lovely hotel.
We went as a party of ten 6th- 20th April and where do I start, the hotel is great comfortable beds; minibars in rooms and the grounds were lovely. Another great aspect was that it was mostly uk holiday makers/travelers and thankfully not the other nationality that are rude and greedy and have no respect if you get where I'm coming from (mentioning no names)
Ok the staff are amazing especially the front desk and management helping us when one of our group was hospitalised due to a allergic reaction the manager even woke up to take us to the clinic (thanks again)
All the waiting staff were great especially juplaur the waiter who is an asset to this hotel also thanks to krish.
The food at the hotel resturant was superb we ate there twice i can recommend the beef medallions and garlic bread.
The room attendants and ground staff are all great also.
The calamari shack linked with this hotel was very nice although a little pricey but live entertainment during lunch 1 till 4.
I will not stay anywhere else now that i found this little gem called santana beach.
Thanks to each and every one of you for making our holiday, the only negative I have is that our room 617 was adjacent to the lane which was very noisy with people coming home and taxi drivers/security talking early in the morning. Apart from this if your going to goa book the santana you won't be disappointed.






Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just what you need in goa. Peaceful crowd ..a beach.. a lovely beach shack .. with beautiful live music .. splash bar ( yes a bar in the pool ) . and not to forget .. superb value for money.. also very nice location

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sogani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were a family of 2 adults and 2 children, aged 8 and 3. We had a wonderful vacation in Goa and stayed in Santana for 4 nights. It was a pleasant experience overall.
I would definitely come back again and stay here.
Property:
The resort was very nice, with a lot of greenery. The space is utilized to the maximum, so rooms are not very far away from each other. There were two swimming pools, one with a sunken bar was really good. Spent an evening there with nice food and drinks. The other swimming pool beside the restaurant/bar was small and we didn't use that. There is a beach very close by and about less than 5 mins walk from the resort. There's a bar, and a restaurant close to it. A lot of sunbeds around the pool and in the lawn make it very good for sunbathing.
Room:
We were allotted room 505, with 2 bedrooms and a double bed in each, but no balcony. It was thoughtful of them to give us that room because with 2 kids, it made sense to get an extra room than a balcony. Room was good, decent ambience. I wouldn't say amazing interiors, but spotlessly clean. A nice bed for comfortable sleep. A two-seater and single-seater sofa-cum-bed. A small kitchenette with basic coffee-maker and some glasses. A decently stocked mini-bar. All these were fine.
However, bathroom was a little old-school, a little inconvenient with the shower taps. Couldn't manage hot water for long time. The toggle between tap and shower wouldn't work, needs replacement. Each time you had to close the hot and cold taps and open them again to get the 'right' hot water. A bit inconvenient, but manageable. Toiletries were ok.
TV could have been a little bigger for comfortable viewing.
Food:
The complimentary breakfast was good, but the spread was limited. There was one Indian dish each day that you could order, and rest of the items on the buffet were continental. You also could order Masala Omelette/Scrambled eggs to your table. Food was tasty and the coffee was good. The restaurant is not very big, so around 09:00-10:00AM, it can get a bit crowded. We went early on one day and it was convenient.
Had a pleasant evening at the bar with nice drinks and side-eats. It was good too.
Service:
In general, one thing worth mentioning is that staff need to be told that it is ok to wish Indians too ;) When you see a staff about 10m away, wishing someone pleasant goody goody 'Good Morning' and the next moment, he passes by you seeing you straight in the eye, without a smile, without a greeting, then something is not right.
Well, there were staff at the restaurant who were very friendly, the lady who was there to greet us in the restaurant enquiring if everything was ok, the security at the main gate who was always with a pleasant smile. The guys at the reception, were helpful, but wouldn't say very 'polite'. They were like 'straight-to-the-point', no smile, no friendly conversation, no greeting. It got better after a couple of days though. So that needs a bit of a step up.
General:
You can rent a bike from the hotel and that is the most convenient mode of transportation to local places around.
There is a beach shack called Calamari, just about 2 mins from the resort, with amazing food and live music.
Other good places to eat on the main road - Fisherman's Cove, The Curry House.
Sinquerim, Candolim, Calangute, Baga beaches are all close by.
Taxi is available on call from the reception. The tariff is there on the noticeboard.
Wi-fi was chargeable, more than the money, the username/password, connecting to it each time was a hassle. It worked perfectly though.

Overall, we had a memorable stay in Santana, and would surely consider this place when we return to Goa.

Room Tip: 505 has 2 bedrooms and no balcony. Helps if you are with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mshreedhaaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just got back from a 2 week stay at the Santana resort which we really enjoy. The hotel is maintained to a high standard and is very clean and has beautiful gardens. The staff were great and always very helpful and friendly. I would not stay any were else in Candolim as we really enjoy staying here. Great location the hotel starts from main road and leads down to the beach fab! Many thanks to all the staff who looked after us so well. We stayed in room 708 which was worth the small extra we paid and over looked the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 916Everton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Santana beach resort is in a great location, just a minute from the beach and Calamari beach shack. The Hotel/Resort is very well kept and very clean, the staff also are always polite and happy to help.
Olegarios bar on the resort was a good and sociable place a number of people met for a pre dinner or bed drink, their meals were also of good quality.
The Hotel also provide a few little extras that make such a difference, a cheap mini bar in the room, a mosquito repellent plugged in the room, towels changed daily and a local English language newspaper delivered to the room everyday.
So why only nearly excellent? Its purely down to the rooms, they are basic and in need of upgrading, we requested to be moved on the first day as our room was dark, dingy and noisy(overlooking a local taxi rank) and to the hotels credit they moved us the following day to a much nicer but still basic room.

Room Tip: Rooms inside the complex, not overlooking any of the two noisy roads. Any room on the beach side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary091964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Been to Santana again for four weeks it was a brilliant stay we usually stay over Christmas and our son comes with us the house boys all missed him , it was very hot com paired to Christmas this is the best hotel, clean and big rooms.The only disappoint was the beach shack they starting to charge for sun beds which is wrong when none of the other shacks charge so will not be going back to that shack.We loved the Santana everybody made our stay pleasant ,so will be going back at Christmas for 3 weeks can't wait goooood family hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The property is just a one minute walk to the almost exclusive beach. Rooms are very spacious with a small kitchenette too (so if you carry an induction cooktop you can make your meals too but which is unnecessary as the restaurant of the hotel too is pretty good. The resort is well designed for a long duration stay so you get a homely feel rather than a typical hotel. They have a good collection of books too at the reception, so it's really a great way to do nothing and just relax.

The complimentary breakfast is decent though quantity is limited especially for vegetarians, but on request we saw them even preparing parathas for some guests and asked us too if we would like to have them.

There are several shacks along the beach and resturants along the main road too for eating options. The only problem we had was we were approached by a guy on a motorcycle with some gift coupons which promised assured prizes on scratching after which we were taken to a nearby resort where they tried to sell a Azure vacation package. We wasted one and half hour on it.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms closer to the pool which will have a better view. Not sure if any of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepanair223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.6 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#15 of 66 in Candolim
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#7 of 66 in Candolim
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Beach Resort

Address: Sinquerim Rd Dando Beach | Dando Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Candolim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $67 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Santana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Beach Hotel Candolim
Santana Beach Candolim
Santana Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing