We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only One Word.... WOWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santana Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only One Word.... WOWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Amazing Amazing.......
We have Stayed there in Santana for almost 4 nights experience of staying there is fantastic.
just near to a DANDO beach.. you can hear a noise of water in late night and early morning...
as well as a staff is very co-operative. and we were spending almost 2 hours every mornig in swimming pool.. and rooms are neat and clean every morning and space in a room is very much.
I have gone with my 3 other friends. we all are in couples. and every night we are meeting in my room and doing gossips playing some games and having lots of fun. atmosphere here is very peaceful and enjoyable...
we enjoyed Breakfast like a Heavy meal.... Daily 3 waiters needed to collect plates and cups we used....... lol....
the most notice thing is a rates we paid.... very economical budget.....

Great great ......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vimal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    558
    100
    18
    15
See reviews for
564
673
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Santana resort was good location, very close to beach.

easily taxi and bike are available in resort for rent.

Breakfast is good.

Housekeeping takes lot of time to clean the room.

Pool side bar is good.

On the conclusion good budget resort considering the facilities they have in resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank rajesh-cbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Two and a half stars actually!!

With so many very good reviews, we had booked this one and was hoping for a great time here. Stayed here for 2 nights and must say we weren't impressed. The first day we checked in at 408 (1st flr) there was just so much drilling and nailing noise that we left immediately (we had actually planned for an hour's rest), they need to do the maintenance and it's understandable.
The next morning, should be around 8ish and we hear the noise again and that was our wake up call. Now, who wants to get disturbed when on a vacation. We got ready, had a quick breakfast and got back to the room still to hear the noise. Called up the reception and the person said he'll look into this. Nothing happened for the next one hour or more. Called up again and asked them to put the manager / owner on line, the owner (believe it is Mano) responded and apologised for this. He arranged for another room 527 (ground floor), we could hear the noise from here too but wasn't as bad as 408.
The rooms were clean but we were disappointed that there was absolutely no view from any of these rooms. Earlier when we made the online booking, I had checked if they could put us into a room with a good view but was told it would cost an additional INR 750, which I wasn't interested. So this sums up why the rooms don't have anything to see. The balconies from both the rooms were overseeing either the roof of the kitchen (408) / fence with thorns (527). Not sure if anyone would be interested to sit and look at this and enjoy their drink / food.
This place was too crowded for us, I guess it's a personal thing, we prefer calm, quiet places. The place was just buzzing with people everywhere - Pool, walk way, reception, needless to say the restaurant during breakfast. Breakfast time is very hectic with people in queue, noisy, quiet chaotic for a vacation. We went quiet early the next morning and it seemed little better.
Comparing this to our earlier stay at Treehouse Blue, we were dejected we didn't just continue staying there (reviewed too, if that interests).

Finally, its a beach resort and does have the beach right behind but the beach in itself is an average one. So that muffled up too.

Pros:
Ok breakfast
Owner response
They can store your bag after check-out

Cons:
Too crowded
Too noisy
Bad views from room, just check if possible
Bad customer service
very small lcd that you won't enjoy watching, especially given the distance from bed

Room Tip: 408 & 527 weren't good in terms of view from balcony. Check the rooms before moving, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_world12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in Santana during August this year. The reviews in TA for Santana were so good that I had to try this place out.
So, Santana is located in Candolim, very close to the main shopping area. It has a private beach which can be accessed from within the resort. Nice to hangout in the evenings. The much talked about Calamari beach shack was not open during our visit. The resort has a nice vibe to it because of the location, the pool, and it being nestled amidst trees and greenery. Let me review each aspect of this resort individually.

Service:
The service was nothing exceptional. It is a budget resort and the staff do just as much. I even encountered a grumpy Pool boy who talked quite impolitely and roughly on one occasion.
Service-2/5

Food:
The complimentary buffet breakfast was not good. There was one Indian dish and bread/eggs as the main dishes. This was one of the worst buffet breakfasts I have had in the recent past. I think since it is a budget resort the management does not care much about it and believe in providing just the bare minimum in everything. We did not try out the food in the restaurant because we had so many options near by to try.
Food-2/5

Room:
The room was just OK. We had a pool view room. The mattress wasn't of the best quality. The interiors were just average. The bathroom was small and had only bare minimum toiletries.
Room-2/5

Amenities:
The pools in the resort are nice. One of the pools is near the restaurant, and the other is near the guest residences. The pool has a kids section as well. The Pool bar in Santana is an awesome concept. You can have your drinks while being inside the pool.
Amenities-4/5

Location-Beach side resort and near to the shopping/restaurant area.
Location-5/5

Overall, the private beach, the awesome pool with bar attached and the general ambience in the resort are the high points of this resort. I'll go with a 3.5/5 for this place. If you are looking for luxury then this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a place by the beach with a great pool then this is it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dibya_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Backing onto the beach, which is almost private, the hotel is simply brilliant. The best thing about it is the staff who are fantastic and the food rivalled all the restaurants we went to during our 9 night stay. There were plenty of Indian tourists there which is nice, makes it feel less like a tourist resort in Spain!! The rooms were lovely but most of the time was spent in the pool, bar and restaurant or in town with an arranged taxi by the concierge. Truly a perfect place to stay in all Goa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at Santana 9-11 Aug, 2013 and had an awesome experience. The rooms/ bathrooms are so clean and tidy that you will fall in love with them. Excellent service and food - staff is very co-operative and all amenities are available. Located right on the beach and very close to calangute/ baga. Swimming pool depth is not very good but it is a good place to relax. Also, hotel management should include snooker/pool/table tennis. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwinkleJaithalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Aug 2011. Finally got around to writing this review. Considering the price we paid, the place was an absolute steal. We got an apartment type room which was fantastic. The property was very big and maintained very well, and the staff was excellent. The bar by the pool was awesome. Breakfast was good. The surroundings were peaceful but still not far away from hustle and bustle. Would love to come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jra1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#2 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#9 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Beach Resort

Property: Santana Beach Resort
Address: Sinquerim Rd Dando Beach | Dando Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#2 Family Hotel in Candolim
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Santana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Beach Hotel Candolim
Santana Beach Candolim
Santana Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing