We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel @ affordable rate 2 mins from Candolim beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I visited Santana Beach Resort with my friends during summer. The resort is 2 minutes walking distance from the beach and has a direct beach access. Food and service is good. The rooms are fairly decent and affordable..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koyelchatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

We first stayed at Santana in Nov/Dec 2010 after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and were very happy with our choice. Liked it so much we returned in 2011.
From the minute we arrived we started relaxing.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The rooms are fairly basic but ideal. Ceiling fans, air conditioning, TV and fridge all included. Fridge is stocked with drinks, water and snacks which you can use and add to your room bill.
Safety deposit boxes at reception are chargable.
2 pools - One with a swim up bar and water feature - Plenty sun beds - Towels provided - Just sign for them with Lal the friendly security guard and return them when you're finished.
There are sunbeds in the gardens too if you want to relax away from the pool or beach.
Location is at the far end (South) of Candolim, right by the beach. Near to the Stonehouse restaurant. (Near Kingfisher Villa).
It's about a 20 minute walk to the main beach road where there are lots of restaurants etc. but you can stop for a kingfisher or 2 along the way as there are restaurant/bars all the way.
The bar staff and waiters are very friendly and helpful - Anthony, Krish etc.
The room boys are great, keep the rooms clean and make great towel sculptures.
Breakfast is eggs (Cooked as you like, hard/medium/soft boiled, fried, poached) with toast (made fresh to order), tea, coffee, fruit juice etc and usually either beans or fruit as an extra (Changes most days). Indian breakfast dishes are also available.
The food at the restaurand is nice. The Calamari beach shack/restaurant is at the bottom of the garden (same owners as the Santana) and serves lovely food with great view of the sea and has good live music some days.
The calamari is a bit more expensive than other shacks but it handy to pop down from the sunbed in the hotel garden for a spot of lunch and cool off in the breeze.
All in all the Santana is a perfect place for a relaxing holiday - We have been stayed at the Beira Mar in Baga and St. Anthonys at Calengute but Santana beats both hands down.
Candolim is a nicer, quieter resort and if you want the hustle & bustle of Baga & Tito's Road you can get a taxi along for about 300 rupees (£3.75).Might go back for 3 weeks this year ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms are in 2 storey blocks spread out through the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here at the end of a wonderful but tiring tour of India. For the price we paid we were happy with the resort, we were disappointed that most of the clientele were either British or Russian, not many Indians. The staff were very nice and the rooms cleaned to a high standard, we would stay here again as it would be a good base to see more of Goa.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Santana Hotel is really excellent, we stayed there over Christmas and New Year 2011/12 and with regard to the hotel itself we could not fault a single thing. The room we had was very spacious and it consisted of 4 rooms - bedroom with TV; bathroom; kitchen area with fridge, kettle and sink; sitting area with sofa and wardrobe. The room boys came in every single day and changed bedding and towels every day, they kept the room spottless. The hotel location is also ideal for the beach and only a very short stroll to the main road where there are shops and bars

All the hotel staff were very friendly and nobody ever passed you without saying hello and giving you a big smile, they were also very efficient and nothing was too much trouble. The Reception staff are the only ones that we did find a little grumpy, although very efficient and helpful, not at all friendly.

The only disappointing thing was the Calamari Beach Shack, which is located in front of the Santana, it does belong to the hotel. We have been to India 11 times over the past 16 years and have visited very many beach shacks in our time and so know what to expect, this is most definitely the worst shack we have ever been to, the staff could not be bothered, we had to wait ages to get served, the food when it came was quite poor, when you could get the waiter's attention in order to get the bill that was incorrect, we had been charged for items we had not had and also found it to be very expensive. We first of all went there on the second day of our holiday and could not believe how bad it was, so thinking that maybe we had caught them on a bad day because it was particularly busy there on that day, we decided to give them the benefit of the doubt and went there again about a week later, but it was exactly the same.

The ratings I have given are for the Santana Hotel, which we found to be excellent and it is somewhere we will definitely return to, but we will definitely not be returning the Calamari Beach Shack

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravellingRooster42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed with my family (wife and kid) for 6 nights and 7 days during December. The stay is excellent.
Location: 5 star
The Candolim beach is just 2 mins walk from the resort towards the backside. There are lots of petty shops, Wine shops, restaurants, ATM etc near the front side of the resort. The good part is you can walk in the resort and reach either the beach or the nearby restaurants. The resort is nearly 40 kms from the Airport. You can call the reception and they would arrange for pick up or drop. Fare is 950 Rs one way.
Accommodation: 4 star
Large rooms, Kitchen, Balcony, Spacious Toilet/Bathroom etc. If you have small kid, go with some electric rice cooker or stove. It will be pretty useful. You can get 5liters water can, rice, etc from nearby shops, if you wish to prepare a meal or two by yourself.
service: 3 star
I personally think the housekeeping staffs and reception etc are hell bent to please the foreign visitors and spend more time to talk to them or serve them. I dont have any regrets, but once in a while they can smile to our locals :-)
Food: 4 star
Dont expect anything in Breakfast. It will be some toast, egg etc. But do ask for whats the special. They will serve upma/Alu Paratha/poori paji etc if you ASK. Olegarios inside Santana is good. Price is okay. Tried in Calamari, the beach shack restaurant. Food is okay. Price is costly. We tried stonehouse, Indian Curry house outside the resort. Food is really good. Try Goan fish curry, prawn masala, Pomfret Rechado etc. They are superb.
Entertainment: 5 star
The reception will arrange for packaged tours by Taxi. We went to North Goa, south Goa, Dolphin trips, Ferry trips, Jet boats, water scooters etc. Excellent.
All in all a good trip. Even if you dont want to go anywhere you can relax by the swimming pool (good for kids), relax by the sun beds.
Will come again to Santana!!!

Room Tip: Stay near the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank veenasaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed with my wife and a year old kid in Jan last year. Booked through Yatra. Great staff very cordial. Excellent rooms, neat tidy and spacious. courteous management, allowed us early check in at 7 AM, happily. Nicely done place. Other guests too were very cultured adding to the atmosphere. Food is amazing. The hotel has a long beach (2-3 kms long beach) attached to it. This was our best experience as we could go to the beach whenever we felt like and there were times when we were the only ones on the entire beach. Very romantic feeling. Otherwise also we never found more than 15-20 people on the entire beach. Apart from this all the major hot spots were very easily approachable.
i even had a chance to speak to the owner who is a gentleman and was eager to get the feedback. this is perhaps the reason why the hotel is where it is today. would definitely recommend it and would come back again.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nitinbpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The resort is quite nice and peaceful. The standard rooms are quite good and spacious with a sit out, though not all the rooms have a view except for a few trees. Rooms are very clean, with a kitchen and spacious, clean bathroom with separate shower area. The resort has nicer rooms also. It is very close to the beach, walkable and a nice sea facing beach restaurant. The beach has beach beds which can be hired. The resort has a nice pool. The main road has lovely restaurants & shops. The place is quite nice and value for money. I stayed at estrela do mar also at the same price, but the rooms and the property was not as good as Santana.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desai66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.6 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#15 of 66 in Candolim
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#10 of 66 in Candolim
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Beach Resort

Address: Sinquerim Rd Dando Beach | Dando Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#2 Family Hotel in Candolim
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#5 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $67 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Santana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Beach Hotel Candolim
Santana Beach Candolim
Santana Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing