We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was at home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candolim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lucia Beach Guest House
Ranked #7 of 85 Candolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Felt like I was at home!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Every day that I spent in Candolim, coming back from the beach, I always felt that I was coming back home. Very nice people to stay with - extremely cooperative and homely! Nice and clean rooms! They even give you a refrigerator at no extra cost!

Special thanks to Lucia - she even helped me with pepper seeds for my bad throat :-)

Very close to Candolim beach - you can walk down to the Calamari beach shack - it is located at a mere 2 minute walk from this guest house!!

Mr Fernandes also arranged for a bike for us (that made our trip easier)!!

All in all - we found a permanent location to stay whenever we go to Candolim, Goa!!

A big thanks to the Fernandes family!!

Room Tip: the room facing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haryaniashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    17
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
92
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

yet again we stay at Lucia Beach Guest House,whilst in Goa

the warm welcome & comfort as perfect as it always has been,
some renivations had taken place since last visit, including new flooring & new bathroom tiles.
it remains an excellent place to stay, quiet & peaceful & a safe haven in Goa.
A pleasure to stay with the Fernandes family.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the beach are best, the view is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I travelled alone in India and booked Lucia after its amazing reviews on trip advisor - and wasnt disappointed.

I received a lovely welcome from Joseph, Lucia and Lawrence on arrival - after a long delayed flight.

My room was clean, spacious and Joseph even put some kingfishers in the fridge for me.

I received an amazing breakfast on my balcony every morning - which was included in the bargain price.

Candolim can be quite loud and brash in places but Lucia's was tucked away near the beach. The only thing you heard at night was the birds... and dogs sometimes.

I felt incredibly safe and welcome here :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MancWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

very cute,little guest house, very-very honest & caring host, lucia & joseph, peaceful environment, amazing guest house. we have just returned after a short & sweet vacation. we have chosen this guest house by seeing the tripadvisor rating and by reading the guest reviews. and it is as similar as the reviewer said, guest house is more beautiful than the photographs. our train was late by 5 hrs so we reached 12:45 at night, madam lucia opened the door and mr. joseph served tea within 5 min on our demand, we were impressed. every thing inside the room was very clean, clean toilet, breakfast & tea available in your balcony that is relaxing. prime location, just 3 minutes walk from the beach, very close to the main road and busy restaurants and shopping places in candolim. lucia & joseph both are nice & helping, as couple they are like made for each other, they arranged every thing for us, last day due to some reason our flight preponed due to some reason, immediately mr joseph called a taxi for us and sure it was cheaper in goa. so many positive things, i can't write.so thank you joseph & lucia for a wonderful stay, definitely we will come here again, whether you have vacant room available or not. BYE

Room Tip: all 6 rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indore_nikita30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned after spending a truly lovely and unforgettable three weeks in this wonderful guest house with this most lovely genuine and friendly family who embrace you as` though you are one of the family.
It is situated in an excellent position just off the busy Beach Road, and just a five minute walk from the beach .Breakfast is served by Joseph on your balcony whos knowledge of the area and wildlife will keep you entertained throughout.. Rooms are cleaned with regular linen and towel changes, I even had a cookery lesson with Lucia on how to cook onion bahgis, and a lovely evening meal with the family. Nothing is too much trouble and you will be given all the advice that you need.
We really should not be telling you all this as you may book it before we do!!!
Thank you Lucia, Joseph and Laurence for a truly wonderful stay.

Garry and Margaret

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

What can I say, amazing wonderful lovely family that take you in their arms and embrase you as if you were the only ones staying in their guest house. So helpful, wonderrful breakfast and tea!! Will never stay anywhere else when coming here again (unless they dont have space of course!) If you want to enjoy the pleasure of real Indian life, food and poeple then this is the place to stay, but remember to book early as there are only 6 rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyurvedaEssence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked via email having read good reports about the guest house on TripAdvisor. We were impressed with the prompt reponses and detailed communication from Lucia and Joseph. A 50% deposit was required via Western Union to secure our room for 16 nights over the New Year period, then the balance paid on leaving.

The guest house is at the Sinquerim end of Candolim close to the Kingfisher Villa and on the same road as the Lui Beach hotel. It is small - about 5 or 6 rooms - and is away from all of the hustle and bustle of the main road so a good nights sleep is guaranteed (esp as the beds are the most comfortable we've known in Goa!). Only a couple of minutes walk to the beach through a sand path at the back of the guest house and in walking distance of some excellent quality restaurants.

The rate included breakfast which was delivered to the balcony and on the few occasions we had breakfast it was delicious. Compared to many other places Lucia and Joseph did not hike their prices up over New Year and we felt the guest house was excellent value for money. Our room had an en-suite bathroom, fridge, dresser, wardrobe and large balcony. We did not have A/C but the ceiling fan was sufficient and the windows had mosquito nets so we were able to leave them open over night without the worry of insects getting in.

Lucia and Joseph were lovely hosts without being intrusive. We went with realistic expectations of a budget Goan guest house and were not disappointed. We are fans of Goa and whilst have no immediate plans to return I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cls_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,674 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#14 of 65 in Candolim
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
0.5 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucia Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucia Beach Guest House

Property: Lucia Beach Guest House
Address: Candolim Dando 182 - A Lucia Beach Guest House Next To Kingfisher Villa | Bardez, Goa, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lucia Beach Guest House Hotel Candolim
Lucia Beach Guest House Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing