We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we've stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Stayed at silver sands for the xmas holidays and can only say
WOW it was brilliant.
I read the reviews before going and decided to keep open minded and see for myself,
Well, we have stayed in 4/5 star hotels in 'other'
3rd world countries and considering this is only a 2 star it was loads better than the other 4/5 star hotels. I am not saying it was fantastic accommodation it was basic but clean which in my opinion is all that matters.
All the staff are great, Neil, Adjay and all the other lads really nice people, they would bend over backwards just to please you nothing was ever a problem.
Location of hotel is ideal, right on the beach and restaurants are just round the corner from hotel too.
We ate at most of the restaurants other people have already mentioned on trip advisor so I wont bother writing them all down but the best was Infernos.
Beach boy lads great too we used Jacksons beach shack every day, food was good there too and the service again excellent,
The only trips we did were the waterfall and the bathing with the elephants great fun.
If you are thinking about staying at this hotel just book it you wont be disappointed,
I'm already looking for late deals back !!!! Love the place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walksox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Silver Sands Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 526 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2009

if you are expecting a 5 star mint hotel u aint gonna get it its an experience of a life time.

food is amazing some of the best meals i have eva had was in the lemon grass sports bar. if you book bed n breakfast you can have brekky in sheetal straight across the road or the ceu mar the beach shack.

the ppl. the ppeople are amazing over there must give most praise to neil, kinda boss manager person. he took me everywhere on his motorbike took me to all the nightclubs mint guy. also all the guys at teama the bar on the corner mint lads in there Raj Chrish Raju everyone your all amazing .

best holiday of a life time the best place on the world

some of best nite clubs
- titos
-sunrise
-paradiso
-tequila sun
-ivy
- hungry eyes

i was well lucky to be there at the same time as SUNBURN big rave on candolim beach

best beach shack has to be lawrencios mint as eva
-hungry eyes

cant wait to get back to sshv to see everyone and have another wicked holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dimples758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Arrived at hotel having booked superior rooms, all three rooms we were allocated where filthy on arrival, our room overlooked a cesspit and dump,the pillows and bed linen were not fit for a dog, i picked up a glass from the bed side cabinet and it stuck to my hand, we were moved to another bloc after some severe moaning.

The staff were not phased one bit by our complaint it seemed that this was the norm. Our rep was not available until evening and was un helpful saying it was two star in the end, the rating was not the issue, rather the cleanliness.

I will say that the new rooms were of a much higher standard, but 5 of the six travelling got a bug and we are still suffering back home.

The people we met in Goa, Pradesh in the sheetal restaurant and a few others at vincents shack were fantastic people, and the food in the infernos was brilliant, a visit to after seven is also worth while, therefore if you are going to Goa don't stay at the silver sands

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andycapWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We’re just back from another fantastic trip to Goa but our first time staying at the Silver Sands for 3 weeks through First Choice.

We arranged our own taxi from the airport to the hotel so check-in was quick and we were showered and on our way to the beach just as the coach pulled up with the other guests from the same flight.

We stayed in room 114 – a detached bungalow close to the reception area. It had a spacious bedroom and bathroom and was immaculately clean. Bedding and towels were replaced daily. Although the air conditioning and ceiling fan were a bit noisy they were a god send! This hotel was the best we have stayed in whilst in Goa (previously stayed at the Prazeres and Village Royal) in terms of its general comfort, cleanliness and location. Being a bungalow also had the benefit of not hearing any noise from adjacent rooms, banging doors, etc… The only downside of the room although really not that important was lack of storage for clothes (though this is common in Goa it was a pain living from a suitcase for 3 weeks) and poor lighting making the room a bit dingy.

Breakfast is served in ‘Sheetal’ the hotel restaurant just across the road between 8am-10am. We didn’t eat here for breakfast so can’t comment on that but we did have dinner there a few times and it was some of the best food we’ve ever tasted and the service was fantastic. Highly recommended!

We don’t usually spend time around the pool but had a quick look at it and it seemed clean and a decent size. There didn’t appear to be many sunbeds though so I don’t know how easy it would be to find a space.

The hotel is only a 2 minute walk to the beach and just at the bottom of beach road where most of the restaurants and bars are concentrated so location is fantastic and everything is to hand.

I would definitely consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cls_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

This is one of the best places ive ever been, from the moment you land, your made to feel so welcome, the food, the people are just so great, you are entering a thrid world country and sometimes its a bit hard to take, but thats all part of it. The hotel staff are truley amazing, its not there jobs to look after stray dog, so people shouldnt get upset when they dont. They cant do enough for you, I have to say a special thank you to Neil, Pintu, aj, gous, for making my holiday so amazing. As soon as i left the hotel, i wanted the coach to turn back around and drop me of for a few more weeks. there are so many sites to see, would recommend the boat shack in the day at the beach, as its just a tottaly different way of living. would i return , The rooms in the hotel are very basic but wouldnt change it for the world, would i return ? if i could id be on the plane right now !

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johannasoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Having just returned home after spending a Fortnight at the Silver Sands Holiday Village in Goa,I can`t help thinking that Goa and this hotel isn`t for the discerning traveller.The rooms in the hotel and I must add we upgraded to a bungalow are very basic, tired,shabby and are in need of refurbishing.The beds are like lying on a concrete slab and our towels constantly stunk of dampness and our bedding smelt of urine.Our room door was also tried on two occasions in the early hours of one morning as the hotel dog awoke us with it`s barking which was quite unnerving.I complained constantly but nothing was done.The bungalows do have a kind of village community feel about them and it was nice to find out more from speaking to other people in opposite Bungalows than our own rep.The room boy that we had to service our room was very good ,the only downside was remembering to hand our room key in at reception as they don`t have duplicates,if you don`t ,your room doesn`t get cleaned.The swimming pool was disgusting with rusty grates around the side with water that spilled over the sides and streamed passed our room.Whilst we were there they were having trouble with the chlorine level or more like lack of it which caused cloudiness due to the filter pump being broke, but people were still using the pool even though many were getting ill from it .Thomson refused to shut it due to hotel bookings???The one good thing about this hotel is that it is ideally situated for all the local amenities i.e-bars,restuarants,beach etc.. but I must add that North Goa is turning into Benidorm with it`s Karaoke and all day English Breakfast signs apparent which was totally what I unexpected Goa to be like, but that`s western influence for you!If you want a cheap holiday destination with great weather ,good hospitality and a place to just rest your head then Silver Sands is for you.I definately won`t be going back and will be sticking to better standard hotels in future.The best thing about this hotel is the hotel dogs which are real friendly and gave us good memories to take home with us as we spent 2 weeks looking after and feeding them!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank charl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2008

Firstly I'll say that this is a thirld world country - if you want to go to visit England with Sun you are better off going to tenneriffe :) or pay for a 5 star luxury resort! I cant believe anyone is complaining to be honest its such a lovely place

We stayed in Silversands for a week and had a superior room, we arrived at 6 am and the reception staff were friendly and helpful, the porter took our bags to our room and left us to settle in. The room was basic but clean and the balcony had a nice view.

The pool is small and was always full but the hotel is right off the beach and we never needed to use the pool; the staff are all friendly and polite - helping us when we found we couldnt get any money as our banks had blocked our cards.

Breakfast was included but again was basic - toast and tea and juice - this wasnt a problem as food is so cheap out there you shouldnt begrudge paying a bit more for extras.

Restaurant was well maintained, food was good and the beach shack was friendly and fun.

The restaurants in Candolim were lovely and people are so friendly - you have to barter for presents BUT they are so cheap you shouldnt begrudge having a bit of a barter.

If you want to go out and about go up to the supermarket and find Vaz - he has a roof rack on his taxi (only one) excellent driver very friendly and reasonable

I've stayed in several 5 star locations and never have I enjoyed a place so much - we will be returning next year for two weeks instead of one!!

Stayed: November 2008
3  Thank Tryn_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#26 of 66 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#35 of 66 in Candolim
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#40 of 66 in Candolim
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#16 of 66 in Candolim
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#31 of 66 in Candolim
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $26 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing