We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic But Good (Great Staff)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed November 20, 2008

My Wife and myself stopped at the Silver Sands Annex Hotel in Candolim from 1st November to 16th. We have not been to a 3rd World country before so was not sure what to expect. We arrived tired and were initially a little disappointed with the room at first. It was quite dirty with cobwebs and basic with hard beds, my wife is used to a soft bed. But after a while you do get used to the electic going off for sometimes hours at a time and the staff are absolutely fantastic, they cannot do enough for you. Candolim caters for the tourist, and is great for cheap meals and souveniers, it is a very friendly place and as you walk down the high street, it is constant chants of "taxi sir". Silver Sands is good for Goan Hotels and you are made to feel very welcome. We went on several trips including inland to the next state, where conditions are far worse. If you can put up with the 3rd world standards being no where like in the UK, Silver Sands is recommended. As I say the staff are so helpful and polite. Well Recomended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MarkWButler5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 542 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed in the delux rooms at Silversands and it was very basic, sort of clean but comfortable, i did go round with my detox wipes though and spent the first hour or so erradicating mozzys. Service was good and we got our pot of tea every morning braught to our room. Food good in both the hotel bar & the hotel's beach hut . they have a traditional indian restraunt too, great food all round. Location is cool, you are almost on the beach and seconds away to the shops & bars ext. You can arrange anything with the lads on the beach, dolphin trips, days out to any attractions and transport is inclusive, all much cheeper than what the reps ask for. India is a magical place & I strongly recomend it for adults of all ages but wouldn't recomend Indian hollidays for children! roads, power sockets & pools are dodgy. We need to remember that our standards and expectations of accomodation is miles away from what you get in india.Overall it was all good but i cant help feeling that north Goa is loosing some of it's magical charm, i was calling it GOADORM after the spanish resort of Benidorm because it's all about package deal tourists now. I'm sticking to South Goa for my trip in November, fewer package resorts there.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank simo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

hi peeps.
just returned from 2 weeks in a BUNGALOW at silver sands and as before we were pleased with our accomodation and as we have been before, knew the drill. It is a lovely friendly SAFE sociable place to stay. there is not a lot to do other than socialise and use the pool but, hey whats wrong with that. its a stones throw from the beach!! FAB. its in Candolims most used Bar come restaurant street so you never go hungry or dry. the Block as its known is a bit dubious, always research where you will be allocated. The new SUPERIOR apts/cottages are fine if you go with superior wildlife:)))
anyway, its a great place if your in a bungalow and want the beach, pool, social life ( or not if thats you) taxi rank right outside and 24 hour caretaking!!! you click your fingers, and the boys are always there. but always show how grateful you are. 50 rupees is enough. you can tip more than you spend. p.s any amount of loo roll is yours. just ask :))) enjoy your stay ( in a BUNGALOW )

Stayed: April 2008
7  Thank julieandady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

Although we used Calangute beach (bear to the left once down the steps and its the first bar) for 2 of our stays we found it was better to jump in a tutu to Baga beach and the Silver shack is the best the beach boys look after you and stop you getting too much hassle! the food and the drinks are great there and sitting with a cocktail watching the sun go down can't be beaten.
So I spent most days there sunbathing. Just lying on the beach is fab, enjoy the fruit from the women sellers but always put things away or they will get stolen buy the cows!!
Most evenings eating the fab food at silver shack and drinking(possibly) too much with new friends, the staff are great Raj, Sammy, John & Nicky. They do make you feel so welcome and nothing is to much trouble. The Sunday seafood B-B-Q's are the best .

1  Thank boo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

This is the mos disgusting rat infested hotel we have ever stayed in!! Following the reviews on here we decided to treat ourselves to a little bit of luxuary following our 3 week stint in North India. Everything went well the first night we had a little cottage right next to the pool- although it was quite dark and had a few ants it was fine. The second night we started hearing noises coming from the roof of the cottage- they were definately animal like- so we went to reception and they said it was probably a rat!! The door to the attic was opened so it could have come down at any stage. The staff looked blankly at us wondering what to do until we demanded to be moved to another room. The room the gave us was smaller, damp, infested with ants and mosquito's, and the bathroom was filthy. The next day we decided to try and get our money back and leave. We were told that they would be at the loss of the money so unless people booked in there would be no refund. This hotel was so disgusting that we paid for another hotel the third night. Returning on the fourth day we discover that peolpe had checked in but yet we still weren't granted a refund. Thats when we decided to cut our losses. We checked out with the loss of over €100- and even upon check out having complained so much to the receptionist ( there is no manager apparently) she still charged us for the tea and waters we ordered to the room. This is a warning DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ainebrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

went to this hotel after reading other reviews on trip advisor. i know from past experience the hotels in goa are not up to european standards, but this place realy let me down. the so called 'superior' room, was a disgrace. my wife just sat down and cried. the room we had overlooked a well at the back and was next to the hotels rubbish dump, which they had tried to hide with ripped netting. the sheets were grey, the bed looked like it had been knocked together with bits of pallet board. the walls were stained . the bath mat looked as if it had been used to mop the floor. there were cob-webs everywhere. the toilet paper holder was lying on the floor and ther was a gap in the socket in the bathroom you could get your fingers in. as first impressions go, not very good. i went down to reception and asked for another room. i was shown a room overlooking the pool, not a 'superior' room, so no air con or fridge, which was worse than the one we were in. something looked familiar about the two beds pushed together to make the double bed. it was not till later on into the holiday that i realised that they had been two beach sunbeds with a matress on top. i got in touch with the first choice rep and told him we wanted a move to another hotel. we had to pay this hotel 3 days money and then another £80+ to move back to the marinha dourada in arpora where we had stayed a few months before. whoever says that this hotel is good must be staying in a different place or maybe i just caught it on a bad day. in total we were in the hotel for less than an hour. my advice is just dont go.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulcLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Stayed at Silver sands anenex rooms, pretty basic, but did have air con, fridge,sat tv, is very clean, and staff cannot do enough for you, breakfast normal tea/coffee toast, pay extra for eggs/omlettes/. The resturant attached to hotel is pretty good, great loacation for beach, bars, resturants, the pool is quite small but was well kept, and is good for a dip when you get back from the beach, it was'nt luxury but good clean rooms, with helpful & attentive staff.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonBlondie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#27 of 66 in Candolim
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#38 of 66 in Candolim
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#15 of 66 in Candolim
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#21 of 66 in Candolim
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#31 of 66 in Candolim
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range: $34 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing