We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Sands Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went for 3 weeks end of Jan to mid Feb. 4th time to Goa, 1st time staying at this Hotel/resort.
Booked a superior room, which had A/c and fridge included in the price. Large airy room, with armchairs, coffee table and nice wicker furniture on balcony. Bed and for the 1st time pillows were nice and cumfy. Had a good view overlooking the gardens (and crematorium). Service in bar and restraunt all excellent. Public bar areas kept clean. As other reviewers have pointed out, there are a number of flies around, try and get an inside table for breakfast if possible.
Location is excellent with the beach and many shops, bars and restraunts all only a few minutes walk away. TIP try the vegetable pakoras from the lads on bikes, 10 rupees each and they are delicious. Breakfast was the usual, tea/coffee, toast and fruit juice. Extras such as eggs/omelettes etc can be purchased at a nominal cost. The only thing that let this place down for me was the cleaners. They were very noisy, turning telly on in the rooms they are cleaning, as we had an adjoining door in our room. Many a morning I was awoken early 8.30 onwards to them shouting and making a right racket. Overall excellent Hotel, good location and food and bar staff were very efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sqwirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    183
    84
    33
    30
See reviews for
93
276
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corralejo, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

After a long series of flights my friend and I arrived at Silver Sands at 23.00 at night, with some trepidation, since we were moved here from the hotel we'd actually booked. We found a haven of peace and calm. Our ground floor room F09 overlooked the pool was very clean and cool and quiet - we couldn't even hear the night dogs of Candolim ! All the staff were so friendly and cheerful and got to know our preferences - cocktails as well as breakfast requests. The reasonably large room, complete with fridge, was cleaned daily and linen changed every other day. The location of the hotel was off a busy street and close to the beach - we reckoned it took us 10 minutes to arrive at our favourite shack. The restaurant connected to the hotel was also good quality and value. We were pleased to find out that the prices for drinks, food and extras were on a par with those charged in other places rather than the usual hotel uplifts. The pool is smallish and invigorating and there probably aren't enough loungers to go around all the guests - but the sea is only over the dunes. I'd certainly recommend this hotel and will be booking it next time I go to Candolim.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here from 26th of January. When we arrived the receptionist was the most unfriendly person I have ever met. We had payed for 2 superior rooms and had requested upstairs . She said none were available yet the staff told us there were loads available but they were being kept for the regulars.We were given the worst rooms in the hotel they were riddled with ants and in our bathroom room 205 when you stood on the file floor all the contaminated water came up on to your feet and it stunk. The rep.tried to help but they took no notice whatsover It was a disgrace after living out of the suitcase for 4 days they eventually moved us. If booking threw Thompson's do not take any notice of restructured because the hotel looks nothing like this in fact I will be complaining to ABTA about there mis representative photos as they are an out an out lie. Dispite the bad hotel had a good time in His and would go back to different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loutsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked this holiday as a package before travelling independently and were now disappointed. The location is excellent at the end of Candolim Beach Road, you literally can't get any nearer to the beach and so close to many restaurants and bars whilst also being in a relatively quiet area. The staff were excellent and the rooms were clean and serviced regularly. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are off the main face to face rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyPaula611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have just returned from 12 days in Goa.The Silver Sands Hotel (not to be confused with the Silver Sands Hideaway although some of the pictures here show their photos as well)
The room was clean and serviced regularly, once we realised that they had to have our key at reception, to pass to the cleaners. All rooms have padlocks with different keys, no master key here!
The staff are the most friendly people I have had the pleasure to meet, we arrived very late, but they served us in their restaurant at nearly midnight, then waved when they saw us at breakfast. I was impressed that they recognised us.
The location is so close to the beach that you can be in the sea in less than 15 minutes. Lovely!
The hotel is also away from the main road and therefore away from too much traffic noise if you are in the poolside rooms, or those near the reception area.
The pool is cold, but that is rather refreshing after a hot day on the beach.
I would return to that hotel in a heartbeat, so just saving up now!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are away from traffic noise. Pool closes at 6pm so no pool noise to worry abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bundilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Silvers Sands on our first trip to Goa. The location was perfect, being at the end of the road to the beach, a little off the manic main drag but still within shouting distance of numerous restaurants, bars & shops. We stayed in one of the bungalows, which was a little dated but still clean and servicable. The beds were comfortable and the linen & towels were changed every other day, and of a satisfactory quality. Rooms cleaned every day. The staff are friendly & approachable, they do seem to work some very long hours, we did not feel harrassed to give them tips, just left one to share at the end. There are several hotel dogs who were very friendly to dog lovers (like us) and did not seem to bother people who didn't want their company. We found prices in Goa to be very cheap, and had some lovely meals out for very little cost. Our favourite restaurant just down the road was Angarra- always well staffed and with 5 or 6 chefs on the go that you could clearly see from the tables. Beautiful beach 5 minutes walk away, or if you like a slightly quieter setting, 10 minutes down the back road will take you to some quieter shacks & cheaper sun beds for the day. Our favourite shack was San Fernandez.
Yes the pool is too shady, but you can use another one just down the road, and of course the beach is on your doorstep.
Loved the whole Goa experience, very chilled and laid back. Enjoyed the overnight Jungle Book tour to see the elephants and would definately like to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bloom_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bazauges, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Just started a two week holiday in a superior room. Yes, they are not up to European standard but this is India and the hotel is a 2/3 star.

The staff are very friendly and the location is excellent. Breakfast was as expected, but those who did order extras were served quite quickly.

Good first impression.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#23 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#41 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#29 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#14 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Village
Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing