We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure at first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not sure at first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Arrived very late xmas day and stayed 3 weeks, wasn't sure at first as seemed to lack some amenities that previous hotel we'd stayed at had, however, the location of the Silver Sands, the size and cleanliness of the room more than made up for this. Agree with previous comments about certain guests but found once the family from shameless and others had left the atmosphere was a lot more friendly and the staff were great! Would definitely return.

Room Tip: worth booking superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaiserbil101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    185
    84
    33
    31
See reviews for
93
280
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

After all the hype about this hotel i was sadly disappointed, not with the location but the hotel itself. I fully understand that we were going into a 3rd world country so my eyes were fully open.
This hotel has apparently been upgraded from a 2* to a 3* for what reason?
All the decor was outdated, walls dirty with scuff marks and the furniture was falling apart.
The bar.......What bar?? With a little bit of imagination some decent carpenters this drab empty room would have been a great place to socialise with other guests BUT no, it had no attraction whatsoever so no wonder everybody shot off elsewhere in the evening.
The staff or rather the boys were fantastic, friendly, helpful and willing to have a laugh. Well done Joe, A.J, Ravvi, Raj and Mono you all did a fantasic job it it was fun.
Reception staff need to put a smile on their faces, at times they were as miserable as sin!
Location was bang on 5 mins to the beach and all the great shacks especially Monico's. Hi to you all, Stevie G, Santana, Sonni and Anitha oh better not forget the boss MONICO.
Overall our holiday was brilliant but be aware the ARROGANT, RUDE, IGNORANT and damn right BOLSHI Russians believe that all of Goa belong to them, they haven't just ruined Sham el Sheik and most of Turkey they are now doing the same in Goa.
Oh one more point, some of the guests just can't behave especially the one IDIOT who was knocking back a bottle of Jagermeister and beers from 10am then making the other guests feeling threatened, mate if you read this, be happy that i wasn't around, you would have got it!
This is a great resort so try it for yourselves, forget the pool its useless.

Room Tip: Take a simple room in the main building, 2nd floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesnewkey1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the silver sands over Christmas and New Year. Our room was cleaned every day. and we had linen and towel change every other day. The location is prime fof both the beach and the night life of Candolim. The staff are friendly (must mention Joe the best barman in Goa) We didnt take breakfast in the hotel,having taken a travel kettle for Tea / coffee so had lunch on the beach with a Kingfisher of course ! The only downside was the pool area which was very small and in the shade so very cold and being 5ft at one end and 5.5ft at the other not suitable for children. They also have no room service which would have been nice, if you dont feel like going out to eat every evening. And the hotel dog is called Colin he might have a few fleas but he aint got no ticks as previously in other reviews ! .....Would go back tomorro no hesitation

Room Tip: Book a superior room . The TV AC and Fridge come as standard and you have a nice garden view. And t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank outlook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Silver Sands in December. It was my fourth time at the hotel and eighth time in Candolim. We tend to go back to this hotel due to it's excellent location, close to the beach and plenty of restaurants.

We had a superior room, which was large with a pleasant balcony. The staff are lovely and really helpful. The room was clean, and we were regularly entertained by the creativity of the crazy towel creations - including a giant crocodile and an elephant.

We don't use the pool, preferring the beach, but if you spend your time round the pool this probably isn't the place for you as it's very shaded and quite small. But the beach is good and looks much nicer this year as the sunbeds are further up the beach making it much nicer if you like walking along the beach.

I'm sure we'll be back at the silver sands again in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank jo_b_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our 1st time in Goa and I have to admit I was a little bit worried, being the English food eating, clean toilet freak that I am. I knew the hotel was only rated 3 star and the pictures made it look a bit tired but it was closest to the beach. I was so happy with our choice, our room was spotless and cleaned every time we gave our key in, it was away from the madness of the main road, we didn't use the pool because it was a long way to go to stay in the hotel but we did have the occasional drink at the hotel as we headed out and the staff were lovely, I think I was the only person drinking a glass of wine as they always remembered. Maybe I'm not so picky but for the price we paid and the service we got I was a very happy Goan bunny. We will go back

Room Tip: We chose a superior room, it looked like it had recently been refurbished and was so much nicer than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Where ever the SS gets its higher ratings from I just dont know. I the rooms are not cleaned very well, which is surprising because you can say what you want about Indian hotels but the room lads always do a fantastic job,These did nt.
The pool was a joke.It got very little sun,the sunbeds and tables were filthy ,the emptys were left uncollected and the waiters were non exhistant ,The tiles were lifting and the pool side shower cubicle was home to one of the hotels four or five stray dogs.
The breakfast was just toast and jam but at least it was served at a table so you did nt have to que up at the toaster. And to escort you to your table was always one of the dogs.
We found the service slow but not unfriendly.
The acid test is always would we go back? .Yes we would because of the hotels location .We dont use the pool very often and we did nt mind the dogs.But if you re a pool person or your not keen on dogs this hotel is not for you.

Room Tip: We had a bungelo which was ok but everyone walks past your little pattio,so if you like to keep your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goanblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

we have just had 3 weeks in goa silver sands the hotel was brill the room we had a superia room for the air con room was great very big plenty of room comfy bed , all the staff were great the bar lads were brill all round v good would stay there again for sure same roon . we ate out there are lots of places to eat never had a bad meal the sheetel hotel resturant was v good for indian food also alaxandra on beach road was v good for english as well as indian food, the beach shacks are brill we had lunch most days at the one we went to drop in lovley food . we did some trips jungle book was realy good overnight in a tent with the eliphants brill . all in all goa was great will go again .

Room Tip: the superior rooms are good they have a garden veiw and a side sea veiw lovley rooms .well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#37 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#32 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Village
Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing