We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great - but it is a hostel more than a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great location- close to restaurants - don't bother with breakfast or any food in the hotel - free breakfast is three slices of cold toast and tea or coffee, if you order other food you are waiting so long that You lose your apetite.

The main problem with this place is that it does not appear to be managed in any shape or form, there is no boss/manager to welcome you -we arrived at about 3 am there was no welcome at all, just a grunt.
We had a deluxe room - which means a fridge and an easy chair, not worth the extra. Room and bathroom very tired and dated, room service unfathomable, some days it was cleaned, other times we went 2 days without a clean?
Ignore the photos which show a long pool - it is tiny and not cleaned at all from what I could see, the pool area is not big enough for more than half a dozen sun loungers. is a shame as there is a long strip of garden which could be utilised by guests - but for some reason it is not.

In summary I would say it is great if you can get a fortnight here with flight for under £700 you are doing okay- any more than that and you will disappointed. There are much better run hotels with much fresher and more user friendly facilities than here and for less money too.
The damage of no management is not irreversible, just needs a sensible staff training programme and a refurb, could be made good, but somehow I doubt that it will happen.
Ignore anything on hotel's website that says it has broadband in rooms, that is just a plain fib, it is in the reception area only and very sporadic.

If you want a laugh, go for breakfast at 8 am, it comes as a massive shock to the staff that anyone has arrived wanting tea and toast, the first 15 minutes of service is just sheer panic by the staff bumping into each other and looking very stressed, as long as you are not in a hurry it does have themes of Manuel from Fawlty Towers!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank hopefulcaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 543 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

The best feature of this hotel is its location. It is the closest to Candolim Beach which is a nice clean beach by Indian standards. It is also at the end of a street with a number of good restaurants.
The room is OK. It was clean and reasonably comfortable but there are a few issues, no WiFi, limited breakfast and noisy air conditioners. All of these are easily fixed and then Silver Sands would rate a 4.
Staff at reception were friendly and the manager was very helpful in checking our train departure time.
In summary, they need to sort out the air conditioners (get some new ones), breakfast (get areal cook) and wifi (this cant be too hard).

Room Tip: Cottages are best. Main building can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Silver Sands for 2 weeks (& one day due to a delay) and would say our stay was pleasant. We stayed in a superior room and it was spacious and just what we needed. There are film channels in English on the TV, air con and fan. We always had hot water and only the morning of our first departure was the water in the shower just a dribble. We seemed to be lucky in our room as when the electric went out one night we was the only room in our block to have power and other rooms complained of no water.
Housekeeping was hit & miss... we run out of toilet rolls and asked for some more then the next day got about 30 rolls in our room. Beds were made and towels folded on our beds some people commented that they got towel art but think its pot luck with your cleaners.
Location is great 5 minutes from the beach and close enough to the restaurants and the bars (about 2 minutes) & you don’t get all the noise.
The fellow holiday makers were lovely in the hotel which made us feel welcome and the lady behind reception as always smiling... we never hit it off with the waiter staff and was left just sitting at our table for a drink and found it was quicker to go the bar ourselves (and we even tipped them well all through the holiday, well until we was totally ignored by a few of them.
Candolim is apparently the quietest of the 3 locations (candolim, Calungute and Baga) and would defo recommend and if we do go back to Goa then we would stay in Candolim and seriously consider this hotel.
Remember its India and its down as a 3*, it’s not an English 3* but its well worth the money.

A little advice - Don’t book your tours through Thomson about 200% more expensive than other ways. We hired a fantastic driver and was driven around Goa for about £20 and he stayed with us all day & waited while we done all the attractions (7am till 4pm) you’re not in a group of 40 people, its personal and our Taxi driver was like a tour guide as well, very knowledgeable. We did a trip to Delhi and Agra to see the Taj Mahal and done it on £300 between us both (booked it all before we went) Thomson wanted over £500 each. Well worth going to see the real India and get our of the tourist trap.

Room Tip: Superior room was spacious, good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Second time in silver sands, this time the main hotel rather than the annexe, very nice, clean, friendly, decent wifi in reception and great location. Not luxury but where is in Goa? Would def stay again? Book through thompsons or Thomas cook package to get the main building.

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms for making friends, superior for a quiet time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail-and-Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My Husband and 2 friends have just returned from a 2 week holiday in Goa staying at the silver sands holiday village.We have a wonderful time and will be returning again in the future.The Hotel is basic but staff very friendly and helpfull nothing was too much trouble.Rooms were clean and big we opted for a Superior Room which was fine.The only problem is the pool area is not big enough and it could do with cleaning up a bit and they allow galsses at the side of the pool which could be dangerous as a few were knocked over an broken.The beach is only 5 minutes wallk away and the Hotel is ideally situated near plenty of shops, bars an Restaurants which are all very cheap to eat an drink in,had some wonderful meals.The weather was perfect never saw a cloud just lovely sunshine all in all a great holiday,India is a must see place.

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms are a lot more spacious than the Standard rooms, but nothing wrong with them,its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank warriorjan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The location was good, very close to the beach. The rooms looked good from the outside, however inside they werent up to the mark. Housekeeping wasnt too great either, not available post midnight. Continental Breakfast was included in the price, but when we came around to eat it the next morning after we checked in, we realised it was only a couple of slices of toasted bread, coffee and pathetic juice. The staff was courteous but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpooja96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3days of my honeymoon at this hotel with my wife and bleev me we had great time...the best things is its location,then it's low rent and the staff.i took the bungalow juzz behind the reception and it was a fair room with good services.The ambience and the crowd is soothing although it was off season but I have seen soo Many guest there most of them are with family.Pool is not upto the mark but its fine.As I said the staff is very good and friendly.Specially ANIL that guy is favourite of all guest bcuz of his perfect hospitality which really impressed me THANX ANIL.I will surely come back to this hotel.its very good and I am giving 4star out of 5.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jahanzeb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#27 of 66 in Candolim
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 66 in Candolim
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#15 of 66 in Candolim
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#21 of 66 in Candolim
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#31 of 66 in Candolim
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range: $36 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing