We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed it a lot & would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it a lot & would go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were put into the Annexe part of the hotel...room A7, very basic but very clean & adequate. Dominic & Edward kept our room clean & spotless. We asked to be moved after the first week as the aircon wasnt working well, this was done quickly & with no fuss.In the Angara ,Jason,Raj & the other waiters couldnt do enough for us, Antony & Tom were great barman & great entertainers too!!!! The rose given to the ladies each night was a lovely touch, no other restaurant did this. We both got Delhi belly, the doctor was called (Jason offered to do this) within half an hour the doctor arrived & duly prescribed medication. The beach nearby was very clean. Bono's beach shack had 2 regular customers for the 2 weeks we were there. Simon kept us fed & watered through the day. A trip booked at the ''Johns Tours'' office opposite the annexe on Beach Road was arranged within minutes, local shops & stalls were very helpful & friendly. The bank on to ''top road'' had 2 or 3 holes in the wall for your ''Rupees'' Local resaturants served fantastic food,all GVFM... in all a great stay, will defo go back in the futrue.

Room Tip: Go for the Annexe part of Silver Sands Hol Village
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarahgemini59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    185
    84
    33
    31
See reviews for
93
280
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed two weeks at the silver sands holiday village from the 16th April to the 1st may. This was our third visit, but we will not be returning due to the fact that this hotel has changed drastically for the worse.
While we were there on two occasions we were kept awake by music being played into the early hours of the morning, firstly from a room opposite that had been occupied by some Indian guests that didn’t seem to show any consideration to other guests in the hotel. On two occasions I had to get dressed and go to reception as there was no phone in the room, and wake a blissfully sleeping night manager to deal with the disturbance, his only reaction was to ask the guests to turn down the music and not turn it off. At 3.30 I had to awake him again as the music carried on. And on the second occasion the hotel decided to open up its night club that is situated on the beach. This used to be the ceau mar beach shack, where you used to be able to have a quiet relaxed breakfast. The music penetrates the whole hotel due to its near vicinity; the music went on till 6.00am another night with no sleep.
After talking with the Thomson rep she said that she had had to move other guests through the season and would make comments about including this in the hotel information in future Thomson brochures. And on our last night a stage was set up on the beach opposite, and music started to play from 6pm onwards with this in mind we asked for a transfer to the silver sands annex so as to get a proper nights sleep before our return journey, this was accommodated but put a damper on things as we had to pack and move.
The hotel rooms and staff were fine and what we expected having stayed before,. But to book a holiday with no guarantee of having a decent night’s sleep due to the night club on the beach, which so close and never knowing when the music would start certainly put us of staying at the Silver Sands again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernard44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Returned from Silver Sands on 5.4.11 and within 2 days we have booked again for next year...3 weeks this time! The staff (from management to room boys) are amazing. 3rd time we have stayed there(5 in goa) and they not only remembered our names and what we drink but our routine! Guests are part of their extended family and they would do anything for you and point you in the right direction for anything u need. We upgraded to superior room this year and it was like staying in a different hotel! Basic rooms are basic...bungalows are good but dark but the superior rooms are brill. We didnt watch tv but to have fridge n a.c without xtra charge n more space was great. Really quiet location but within 5 mins of everything! 47 weeks and counting!

Room Tip: Worth the extra to upgrade to superioir room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hespie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

Having enjoyed a stay at Silver Sands 3 years ago, I booked again (largely for the great location) hoping things hadn't changed too much. I wasn't disappointed!!
We had a bungalow which was spacious with a good sized bathroom (added bonus that the shower didn't flood the whole bathroom!) and terrace.
Room was basic (as expected) but very clean, with comfortable beds and good hanging space with plenty of hangers.
Rooms cleaned daily (as long as you hand in your key, but it doesn't matter what time you hand it in) sheets and towels changed every other day.
Staff all friendly and helpful.
Breakfast the same as all over Goa - basic coffee, juice and toast but you can add eggs, fruit etc for a very small charge.
The location is simply the best! Nice quiet hotel but only a couple of minuted from the main street one way and the same distance from the beach .... what more could you ask for?
Just remember, you are in India .... no, the accomodation is not the same standard as an appartment in Spain or Greece but everything else is 100% better and for a fraction of the cost!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BradfordHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stopped at the annex to the silversands which is situated by the Angaara restaraunt fron march 20th to April 4, 2011. The room we stayed in was A5 overlooking the CANDOLIM beach rd. The room was very dated and decorated to a very poor standard (paint peeling, curtains not fitting windows). The bedding although clean was threadbare, holed and stained, my first job after seeing my pillow in the daylight was to visit the local supermarket and buy 2 pillows and cases.The bed was as hard as bricks but fom past India holidays this is common. The bathroom was dark, the toilet heavily stained and the shower was what could at best be described as a trickle (just as well as the stained and rotting shower curtain didnt fit either). The aircon had a mind of its own and was largly ineffectual. The towels were very old, threadbare and smelt of mothballs but were clean and changed every day.
The staff at the hotel were really good, Dominic the room boy cleaned the rooms thoroughly every day Antony and Tom kept us entertained at the bar and Jason and Raj looked after us at meal times nothing was too much trouble and they are clearly the reason people return year after year. The location of the hotel is great about 10 mins from the beach and it is quiet at night. Did i enjoy my stay, yes which is largly down to the staff, would i stay again NO. I know that you have to keep in mind that it is a 3rd world country and standards are diffrent but i have stopped in far superior rooms for the same cost. The real shame is that the cost of updating would be minimal and shortcomings are not because its typically Indian but because of penny pinching. I would say that if you have not been to India before and are used to good standard hotels do not go to silversands annex as you will be shocked.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed in a bungalow at the silver sands and found them to be very spacious although maybe a touch dark, but had no problem with that at all..large bathrooms, good beds and matresses and very very clean. spacious balconys and very very good service from the staff. The angarra restarant which is oart of the silver sands does a great baby king fish done in the tandor...all in all a great holiday and would go back

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC_Yorkshire50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

If any one travelling to here is offered accomadation in the bungalows, be very aware that they have a rat problem. We stayed initially in room 104 where we had a rat. We were moved to room 115, where we had a rat come out of the toilet. We inspected another room and that to had rat droppings on the floor. The senior management within the hotel seemed to think it was a laugh, however I was not so amused. Would you want to share your bedroom with a rat?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stu135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#37 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#32 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Village
Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing