We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel, staff. Food is better if taken outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel, staff. Food is better if taken outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in plaza room, the room is clean and well equipped with all the standard amenities, dont expect a large room though.
The staff is great, polite and friendly. Swimming pool is well maintained, clean and is great for relaxation.
It is located very close to the candolim beach, can walk down there in 5 minutes or so, but it is not the most happening beach out there. It is great place if you dont like too much crowd and prefer privacy and calm.
Only thing I'd advise you against is going for the lunch/dinner buffer, it is worthless both in value and taste, choice. If you are dying of hunger and cant find food outside, then opt for the in room dining options. The chinese joint in the hotel is fine, not great, use it if you cant go outside for food.
All in all, very decent hotel for couples/families. You cant go wrong if you avoid the food and dont mind the rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxSumesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    706
    149
    34
    38
See reviews for
681
575
49
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is located very well, close to the beach. It is a very cosy hotel with excellent standards of cleanliness and hygiene across all facilities. The staff is very courteous and friendly - they reached out on more then one occasion to make our stay memorable. The bar at the pool churns out some very exciting cocktails. Would highly reccomend this hotel to those looking for a resort y the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The holiday did not get off to a good start. After many emails back and forth I booked a Pavilion Room as advertised by them for three people, 2 twin beds and an extra single bed. On arrival there was a double bed and a single. We were three female friends travelling together and all prefer to have our own bed. The receptionist informed us that Pavilion rooms don't have twin beds even though their pamphlet says they do. They offered to move us to a downstairs room but advised us against it due to it's location. We opted to stay put.
After 5 mails confirming my airport pick up at 3.30am with them, there was no one to meet me. I took a taxi from the airport and it was a trip from hell. Thank goodness it was early morning. On arrival at the hotel, the receptionist's answer was - oh sorry we had no car to fetch you! The next morning the manageress was more helpful and gave the return transfer without charge.
Other than that the hotel was pleasant, but beware of the abundance of taxes you pay at the end. A drink at the pool bar has approximately 35% tax added and a beer 32%. It would make it much easier if they just added all the taxes to the price quoted beforehand, The Republic of Noodles serves good food, but again the tax is nearly half the bill! The taxes are not only at this hotel but all over.
Breakfast was okay, but I'm not a lover of chicken casserole or beef strogenhof for breakfast. I had waffles everyday. They don't really advertise waffles and pancakes but ask one of the friendly waiters and they will get it for you.
The good point about this hotel are the waiters, housekeeping and pool staff - always very friendly. I can't say the same about the Recetion staff. They were rather unfriendly and sullen.
If you are looking for cheap places to eat outside the hotel, turn left and go to The Lobster Pot next to Delfinos and a little further down The Fishermans Cove.
Can't say much about the beach because even though the beach huts were supposed to be up in September, there was some problem with the government and they only started to erect them the beginning of November.
The pool at the hotel was very pleasant except there definitely is not enough sun loungers and when people are allowed to book the chair early morning, but only come down after lunch to use them I think it's just plain selfish on their part.
Would I suggest this hotel to friends? Yes I would if staying in Candolim. I did however find Goa rather expensive and some places very dirty.

Room Tip: Pavilion room was pleasant, but wifi reception non existent. Small balcony, but not a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeliaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lemon Tree Amarante is indeed one of the best resorts in Candolim.

Situated in a prime location in Fort Aguada road, the Lemon Tree resort was a haven for us. Excellent architecture with stained glass paintings, ambient lighting, cosy and comfortable rooms and amenities, Lemon Tree was a delightful stay.

You could opt for fine dining at their award winning Republic of Noodles, or walk down Fort Aguada road to eat authentic Goan and European delights at the shacks and restaurants lining up the street. The breakfast buffet at their Citrus Cafe is a lavish spread of delicious south-Indian and European treats.

The swimming pool is sparkling clean, and the Candolim beach is just a 3-minute walk from the hotel.

I absolutely recommend Lemon Tree for a memorable holiday in Goa!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My mother in-law, sister in-law and myself stayed here for 3 nights and we had an absolutely fabulous time. We stayed in a double room (two twin beds) and had them add an extra bed. It was enough room for the 3 of us, however the location of the room didn't have good cell service. It was located near the back on the ground floor. Seems that rooms closer to the reception area / front of the hotel have better cell service. In general, the rooms are very clean, you get bottled water each day, there's a DVD player with a selection of DVDs you can pick from at the reception area for free, the beds are very comfortable and the bathroom has a great rain shower. The pool was wonderful and had a pool side bar in the pool which was great. Very nice design.

The restaurants at the hotel have nice food. Our favorite was the breakfast buffet every morning which had a wide selection of dishes from waffles and pancakes to indian breakfast items to customized omelet station to an array of fresh fruits.

The hotel is about a 5-10 min walk from the hotel. The beach is clean and there are many huts that have chairs you can rent for about Rs. 100 for the day. The huts unfortunately do not serve food, only drinks, so you have to go to some of the other beaches in Goa for that. It might have also been that the huts were just setting up for tourist season, but either way, you can get chairs, drinks, and a clean beach.

The service was great and the staff were very nice and helpful. The hotel is close to many shops and other restaurants and you can pretty much get to any of the other beaches in Goa via private taxi or renting a scooter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FireDragonFruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Lovely premises, close to beach, lovely pool and hammoks available as well. Very nice room even in cheapest category, nice and helpful staff, just sometimes a little slow - one when it comes to answering e-mails beforehand and two when ordering sth at the pool bar. Good food, breakfast could be a little more, I missed pancakes or waffels but otherwise everything available. You can borrow DVDs for free from reception and watch in your room. I feel Internet today should be free anywhere, but ok. All in all really enjoyed my stay. Will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
0.8 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#5 of 62 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#4 of 62 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#7 of 62 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
21.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa

Property: Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Address: Vadi, Candolim, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Candolim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
#7 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers 65 beautiful rooms and suites. All ground floor rooms provide access to a compact private garden. The six heritage rooms and suite, housed in a century old Portuguese mansion, have been restored to their original glory and appointed with all modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa Hotel Candolim
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Hotel
Lemon Tree Goa
Hotel Lemon Tree Amarante Beach
Lemon Tree Hotel Goa
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing