We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marquis Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with friends for 2 nights. Horrible breakfast but nice pool and bar facilities. Recently renewated and easily accessible to beach. Reasonably priced but lacks spa. Conveniently located near candolim and calangute beaches.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajeshKarale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 493 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Quiet and calmly located hotel..the rooms are ok.. also have swimming pool view.. personally liked this hotel for its private beach experience so can walk here any time..Had stayed here for two days n there was renovation going on..The food was also good..budget resort.. located closely to beach..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmiSavjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I visited Goa in August 2nd Week and found marquis as the best option to stay. If you visit Goa during rainy season and are looking for a budget resort its the best place to stay with an awesome swimming pool, on the beach and great location. As most of the shacks are closed during this time of the year we stayed here and had a wonderful experience with really good food served.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaurav J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were a group of 6 who stayed here for 2N 3D in August 2013. The property is rightly located on the beach and one can walk down to the beach any time. It has got an amazing pool too. On the negative front, the rooms are very small, filthy and no views. The moment we entered the room made us to think that we made a wrong choice. The chairs on the small balcony were old, the nails tore our dresses.

I have complained about the filthy room condition and requested for change of room but i was told that all rooms were full. When i complained about the bad smell, they said it is like that and can't help :) After hard talk, they put some room refresher. I wish i could have taken photos of the walls and how ugly they were. The food is very expensive but not worth it. We ate most of the time outside nearby hotels.

We'd forgotten the battery charger in our room. When i called back, they said they have it but can't send it even if i'm ready to pay for it. I have requested them to handover to other guests who are returning to Bangalore but they have not. I have heard that they are going for major renovation shortly. So i would not recommend this hotel to anyone before that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LakshmanaPrakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

v stay 12 pax for one night this resort , i love resort location . nice staff. beach property/, v book 7 rooms , now resort in under some finishing work . big swimming pool . near to all spa center & veg restaurant , v back again sure ,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjain916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that it is located by the beach in a nice part of Goa that is Candolim. They have developed the beach front with a nice lawn and a deck. This appeared to be the only hotel in the area which had such a nice beach front. I am sure during season it would get pretty active.
The beach portion in front of the hotel was pretty decent, a little dirty. When I say dirty I mean some weeds and other stuff washed up by the ocean, no garbage as such. But other than that the beach is beautiful and extends for quite some distance on either side. Good for long walks.
The rooms were clean and pretty good. Given that we were travelling during Monsoons there was no sign of dampness at all. Almost all the rooms on the first floor appear to have some view of the sea. The bathroom was also neat and quite usable. Overall its a well maintained property.
They have a decent sized swimming pool as well.
The food is average but then there are a number of food options all around, and within walking distance. In fact there is a shack next to the hotel (on the beach) which was open even in monsoons. Nice place to catch a meal, looking out onto the sea.
The service is above average. The staff a bit detached and not very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AquaDrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I would love to stay again. Very good cooperative and friendly staff.
Hotel Location takes it all. Bang on beach. Neat and Clean view. Good place for family or group friends.
Hotel food is awesome. Even Veg food is too good and full of spices. Must say thanks to all restaurant staff. Very Very cooperative and friendly.
i almost went to all north beaches in goa but the peace is absolutely owned by this hotel's beach.kind of a private beach type feeling.
Hotel Services are very good and spot on.
Accommodation you'll find a bit above average, means not that excellent but definitely can say 7/10.

Room Tip: i took Luxury room No 130 but its on ground floor and there's wall in front of balcony. if not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aakash909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 69 in Candolim
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#7 of 69 in Candolim
616 reviews
2 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 125 in Calangute
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Beach Resort

Address: Dando Sinquerim Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range: $120 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marquis Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marquis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Beach Hotel Candolim
Hotel Marquis Beach
Marquis Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing