We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice play to stay for a relaxing vacation in Goa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marquis Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A nice property right on Candolim beach. Location wise, it offers a private beach to unwind peacefully and the other prominent beaches are not too far. Calangute beach, where we can go shopping at local markets and see the crowd, is around 5kms from this resort.
Bikes and cabs are available right in front of the resort. The property is nicely maintained, rooms clean and the staff courteous and friendly. Food was tasty, but there wasn’t much variety and on the expensive side. There are other restaurants close to the resort where one can try the local Goan cuisine. The beach was clean and with not many people around, we really had a good time. The lawn overlooking the beach is lovely and one can spend hours there regardless of day or night. We had chosen a duplex room, and it had just a small view of the sea from the balcony. All in all, a nice place to stay for a relaxing vacation in Goa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_3_G_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 465 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was given the task of selecting a hotel for our family group of 29 adults and 6 kids for 2 nights and 3 days. After a lot of research and negotiations we finalized on about 13 rooms in Marquis Beach Resort which is on the Candolim beach.

The manager Alec gave us an amazing rate (about 60% of rack rates) due to the size of the group and since it was off season. Going by the rates quoted by others reviewers here, I am quite surprised! :)

The breakfast was also included in the price. The food is a bit pricy but very tasty.

We enjoyed ourselves in the pool since it is very well maintained.

For people who'd prefer to be in the sea, the property is right on the beach with a view of the Fort from the beach.

Since ours was such a big group, we did have our problems of house keeping or plumbing or air conditioning issues, but overall, we really enjoyed the stay and would definitely recommend the resort to fellow travelers.

I found the staff really helpful and courteous and ever willing to help with their tips on Goa. :)

Room Tip: Take the luxury rooms on the 1st floor. It's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 553,366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was looking for a decent property right on the beach. I was surprised to see several beach resorts with beach being more than a kilometer away from them. In the Candolim area, Marquis Beach Resort is an excellent option for people who love the beach and want to be there in the morning, afternoon, evening and night. Very clean and deserted beach at this time of the year made the stay very nice. Transport arrangements of hiring a car or a bike are present right outside the Hotel and all the party places of Calangute and Baga are just a 10 minute ride away. Decent food. Overall good value for money!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikanshu_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Selected this hotel because one of my friend suggested me telling that it is close to Calungute beach. I was charged 3500 per night (off-season). Nothing special about this hotel. Just rooms and a small restuarant. The pool was OK. The service is terrible. The hotel staff were not courteous nor were they helpful in any manner. Just felt that we were staying in a room for which we had paid rent.
The location of this hotel is approx 3 kms from Colungute and 5 kms from Baga. We were in Goa to party throughout but this part of Goa is very silent.
The only good thing about this hotel is that it has a private beach, which is clean and you could expect little privacy.
I would only suggest honeymooners to stay at this hotel, only if they dont get accomadation anywhere else. STAY IN UR HOUSE RATHER THAN STAYING HERE.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

location:

this is a true beach resort ,when you notice that just as you step out of the rooms, after crossing the well maintained pool, we cross the gargen area and step on to a lovely beach. its that close. the beach is silent,not too crowded and clean.

Food:

The food is delicious, even the vegetarian dishes were very nice.... so I would give them a 4* for the taste.

Staff: very courteous and well behaved.

Rooms: rooms in the old section have that quintessential old goa feel..but its a little small. the rooms in the new section are bigger and fresher. but all the rooms have a cosy small balcony with chairs for your morning cuppa. The bathrooms were clean and maintained. The Air conditioners were disappointing.

location: an hour or so from the airport.

Budget: its a reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the new section and compare the rooms after seeing them.. you ll notice the dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shahzad_sheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Last week me n my husband travelled to Goa for a short vacation. We stayed at MBR. The place is a nice beach resort, with a very clean beach. Loved watching the grey sky (we travelled during monsoon) sitting on the deck of the resort which was on the beach. The rooms, though were not too spacious, yet was clean. We had booked a superior room with partial beach view. Would suggest others not to opt for them as there was no partial view of the sea. Infact no view at all! However i didnt mind that much coz you just need to walk down a few steps and the whole sea is infront of you.
Food was ok. The breakfast menu was limited. Taste wise, i would rate the food 3 out of 5.
Pool was clean.
Overall a decent place to stay. And since we went during the off season we got the rooms at a good deal.

Room Tip: Opt for a pool facing room, preferably on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paromitab16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had visited for 3 nights and had a truely wonderfull experience as it was the first time i had taken my family and the place and view is truely awesome and one of the best in the north Goa. The beach is silent feels privacy with less of crowd and being in the resort is so wonderfull that you dont feel like going around !!!!!!!!

I would suggest all first time visitor to be at this place will have a wonderfull and awesome experience !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chatraakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Beach Resort

Address: Dando Sinquerim Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range: $95 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marquis Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marquis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Beach Hotel Candolim
Hotel Marquis Beach
Marquis Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing