We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not quite as described by cosmos”
Review of Prazeres Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prazeres Resorts
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed January 21, 2013

full of russian 18 to 30's partying 24/7 dirty and we visit india often so know what to expect but standards here none existant we had blood worms mosquito lavae crawling through bathroom and leaking dirty toilet had to move rooms 3 times due to noise they put 3 english couples in with a block of party going teenagers who partied in corridor from midnight until 730 am banging on our doors. staff did not care !!! stick with highland beach its far nicer sorry cosmos you need to seriously review this place

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nina49uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 302 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was skeptical about staying here after reading the reviews, but have stayed in hotels with bad reviews before which were actually OK. From the outside the hotel doesn't actually look too bad, there is a nice bar and the restaurant area isn't the worst. The rooms in this hotel however are very dirty and could do with being completely stripped out, re-decorated and re-furbished. The beds are basically a sheet of plywood on top of a bed frame with a mattress about 3 inches thick and are very uncomfortable. There is no hot water in the showers and the draining system is terrible, the floor is constantly soaking wet after you've had a shower. Towels are changed very sparingly. if you leave your towels on the floor to be changed, i found that half the time you would find the same one hanging back up when you returned to the room later. On top of that when you did receive clean towels they were covered in stains, i had to on a couple of occasions complain at reception to have my towels changed. Finally, if you do stay here, make sure that you do not leave anything of value in your hotel room. in our group, 2 rooms had money stolen and other groups we spoke to had the same problem. I would say that if you are backpacking or a student travelling then this would not be the worst hotel for you, it is very basic but bearable. unfortunately however it is not ideal for a family holiday if you are used to a reasonably nice, clean hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the restaurant area- the music is loud on entertainment nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RopeJordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

after reading the reviews on this hotel i thought no hotel could be this bad it was ! which was unfortuate as i booked it for 13 other guests . Ive been to Goa several times and stayed in candolim before so had an idea what to expect. This hotel could do with closing down and cleaning . If you are unlucky enough to stay here lock your valubles away as money was stolen from two of our rooms and do not leave anthing of value in your room take it with you. On our arrival we were shown to our rooms which were awful so requested to change we were moved to a larger room overlooking the pool .. which was equally awful but larger. We had no hot water until we had to once again complain and were shown a switch to turn on the boiler in your room but watch the cleaner he likes to turn it of.At night you are treated to a disco which could be in your room its so loud. It also attracts a lot of Russans who seem to like staying up all night fighting. It is a terrible shame because the bar area is ok and the pool is ok they could turn it into a good hotel with a lot of renovation.I dont recomend you stay here if you are three families like us.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere all the rooms we booked were awful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieGuy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The resort is over-stated. The location on the main Panjim road littered with debris & cow dung, and with thundering traffic close to you, makes it unsafe to get to from the main part of Candolim.
Don't bother with breakfast, it consisted of watered down (20 parts water to 1 part coffee / tea)coffee / tea and 'basic' cheapest quality white bread and butter. Anything else had to be paid for, & this is a bed & Breakfast booking !!!
Food was totally dis-organised. Also, unfortunately, we had a room above the restaurant area, & the noise on entertainment nights was horrendeous !! I've visited Goa six times in past ten years, & this resort, although 'looks' good from outside, & has a nice pool & exterior decor,is the worst one that I.ve stayed in. It has very dated furniture and absolutely no proper facilities in the rooms. Although spacious, the fans are noisy, & toilets stained from over use.

Room Tip: Recommend you find another place to stay, if you happen to land here. Accommodation is cheap & p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 15greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed here several years ago and loved it, so booked to go back...........................big mistake

was shown several rooms before we found one that was just about exeptable,saying the rooms are dirty would be an understatment, we have been to goa many times so didnt expect 5 star.
**dirty urine stained sheets on the bed,
** glass missing in the bathroom windows,so passers by can see you shower
** mouldly fridges
**brown marks on the beds(you can guess what that was :(
**every peice of furniture was dirty and stained from previous guests
** the furniture in the big tree bar was so stained and dirty that we ruined several items of clothing just by sitting down

the hotel was nearly all russian tourist which wasnt a problem,what was a big problem was the bus loads of local indian tourists that checked in,have never heard such noise in our lifes,at half six we would be woken by a coach load of indians cooking breakfast on thier own stoves on the grass area outside our room {but the hotel manager was adament this never happened}.all day and night they had no consideration for any other hotel guest.(shouting down the corridors and slamming doors ) .
whilst having lunch a group of 4 indians were constantly sitting on the floor right next to us .
we went and spent a few days in a beach hut just so we could get some peice and quiet.
the hotel manager never did a thing to try and sort things out for us,whenever we spoke to him ,he would pretend to listen when do nothing,he even lied to us on several occasions
in the end we called in our holiday prep to get us moved,

there was 2 good things about the hotel that we really liked and that was 2 of the staff,dominic in the pool bar and ben the pool boy,they were so friendly and helpful..

would we stay here again.............................never

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank UkCartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from goa,stayed in the prazeres,we were given a double room when I'd booked a twin,we asked the manager to change it and I was told another bed would be put in the room, I asked every day for nearly a week... So we shared a double!!! Clean towel and bedding were a bit of a problem,although the rooms were cleaned every day fresh towels were not given every day which is a pain as the roads make your feet and body red so there dirty after one drying session, toilet roll also seems to be sparse at this hotel we kept having to ask for it as none was ever left during the first week, the room was basic,bed wardrobe, mattress and pillows were as hard as a brick which apparently is the norm in India, not a major problem as the money we saved went on our 3 trips :-) the breakfast was tea and toast..bread only if the power was off.. Which happened every day although you could buy a breakfast from the restaurant cheap enough, but they do need to update there chairs and tables,the paint would come off on your skin!! the pool was great clean and tidy and the staff were all really friendly and couldn't do enough for you,so if you don't mind a basic hotel it's perfect.
The shacks we used on candolim beach were Ryan's,his bathroom was immaculate and the food is great,the blue shack was ok, bathroom not so great but food good.The restaurants we used were infernos on beach road great food and lovely staff a steak house up the side of highland beach resort, the best steak I've ever tasted, the mango grove, ruffles,floyds all on the main road had great food.
We did trips to the jungle book tour.... Amazing time washing elephants an experience not to be missed our guide Jeffrey was fantastic,such a lovely man, an overnight stay at palolem 2 hrs south of candolim, beautiful peaceful beach with calm sea as it can be rough in candolim,we stayed in a beach hut again basic with a bathroom built round a tree but great fun to experience and your sat on the beach... Heaven !!!! The last trip was on a house boat overnight taken up the river watch the sunset and sail back the next day all done with johns tours on beach road, all well organised and friendly guides.
All in all I had a great time the weather is perfect,the place is charming and the people are lovely I'm defiantly saving for next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good resort very near candolim(India) beach best part of resort love quite place ,made my stay worth it. Toilet was Clean, sheets and towels were white , food quality excellent ,good swimming pool nice ,and good room

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Edwinpererira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#60 of 67 in Candolim
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#53 of 67 in Candolim
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ave Maria Beach Resort
Ave Maria Beach Resort
#51 of 67 in Candolim
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#46 of 67 in Candolim
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 67 in Candolim
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#15 of 67 in Candolim
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prazeres Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prazeres Resorts

Address: Marquis Waddo, beyond Nerul Bridge, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $32 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Prazeres Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you think of a holiday in Goa, the first thing that comes to your mind is the gorgeous palm fringed beaches, the lush green tropical landscapes and the hospitality of the Goan people. Prazeres Resorts is a 130 roomed charming hotel located 700mtrs away from the Candolim beach, 42kms from the International Airport of Goa and blessed with myriad of attractions around the area. We at Prazeres Resorts are committed to ensure that our guests have the most memorable holiday of their life time, enjoying themselves to the maximum, whether it’s relaxing by the poolside, sipping an exotic cocktail at the lounge bar or trying out our delicious Continental, Indian or Goan cuisine in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prazeres Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prazeres Hotel Candolim
Prazeres Resorts Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing