We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun. Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonesta Inns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fun. Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited Sonesta inns with family and kids. The children had a lovely time. With the baby pool and lifeguard, it was peace of mind for us.
Rooms were good and equipped with all basic amenities.
Bathrooms were clean, though we did face a problem with some drainage stink. We resorted to leaving the exhaust fan switched on at all times.
Staff is attentive and prompt.
Cleaning crew were not upto the mark and we had to recall them to clean the rooms.
Hotel is absolute value for money.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank riya2677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks for your feed back,we will definitely improvise on the service of the cleaners in the room
Jose Desouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    267
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
197
223
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Please accept our collective thanks for a wonderful stay and a grand 80th Birthday Party at Sonesta Inns. The party was a celebration of mum's 80th.  It was staged at the Quarter Deck on October 27.  

Mum and dad enjoyed the party immensely and even savoured an extra night with us at Sonesta!  Importantly, all our guests had a grand time. Kudos to you and your fabulous staff for your hard work and personal attention at the party and throughout our stay.  Special mention must be made of Albert, the excellent F&B Manager, whose always kind, personal, and consummately professional attention made our stay and our celebration memorable.  He and his staff made us feel special each and every day.  

We are expecting to visit Goa next in March/April 2014 and look forward immensely to seeing you and your staff again.

Room Tip: The rooms are a far better value than the villas. The first floor rooms afford more privacy than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OVLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thankyou and all the rest in your family in giving us an oppotunity to serve you.It has always been a pleasure in dealing with all your guests
We have no words to express, how grateful ,the entire team at sonesta Inns is ,and look forward for many such occasions
We thankyou for all your support and kindness and best wishes from all of us
Jose Desouza G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great hotel, lovely pool, good rooms, breakfast excellent, backs onto the beach, all good, but the reception staff were curt and unhelpful, to be told 'we dont do foreign exchange until November, go into town' is not good enough. Their attitude nearly spoiled the stay for us, it was only the fact we stopped having anything to do with them that saved it. A real shame as all the other staff were brilliant. Worth mentioning that when we left, the reception staff appeared to have changed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We have taken a decision that the foreign exchange will be functionable 365 days in a year
We are trying our level best to educate the front office staff on a day to day basis and also adding a few new faces . We assure you that you will witness the changes in the service of the front office staff the next time you return
Thankyou for your feed back as this is seriously viewed by the management
Jose Desouza G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had stayed in sonesta inns goa,in october for 4 nights.we were 3couples o had taken a villa....it's a nice hotel....but..I would not suggest the villas,no view at all...feels outside the hotel,there are 3rooms in villa...one of them is very small....and shabby,one is without a bathroom.....only the pool side rooms are grt....should go for them,the breakfast needs to be improved....very very limited....location is very good...the beack there is very clean and just two mins walk.....even u can rent a bike or car....from the gate of hotel......altogether a good property to stay...but not food.

Room Tip: Only pool side rooms recommended......no villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIKITINU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We agree with you that the villas are very basic and this is meant for a family with small children and hence the price is matching the facilities
We have already enhanced the breakfast menu by adding a few items
Thanks for your review and we will see you soon
Jose De Souza G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went with family to Sonesta Inn primarily looking for a place close to the beach and convinient for family stays.The property is really next to the beach as one can get up early morning and walk down to the beach in 2 minutes and come back using their own pathway,have a sumptuous breakfast and go back to the beach.All the fun of Goa beaches are available along the beach like para sailing.water rides etc.Overall a very good experience and worth the price.It also has a nice small swimming pool for enjoying with kids and family.We had some negative experience too perhaps being the begining of the tourist season the staff was not yet geared to serve efficiently especially the restaurant staff.They are very slow and food is just ok considering the options available nearby.Better to have food elsewhere.The free internet was not functional and electricity does go off a few times,though generator back up is switched on soon.The SPA is not worth visiting and neither the services are proffessional nor the cost comensurate.If one ignores these issues as alternate opyions are available nearby within walking distance then this place is worth staying just for the close proximity to the beach and quite ambience.The place is difficult to locate but one can ask the reception on phone if you miss the lane which is not well marked.Overall we enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arindam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We will definitely look into the issues of the SPA and the service at the restaurant
Thanks for your review and hope to see you soon
Jose De Souza G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have just returned from our 2 1/2 week Indian holiday, although "holiday" is probably the wrong word and I should rather say our Indian adventure. We stayed at this hotel for the last 7 days of our Indian trip and generally we were pretty happy with our choice but we weren't blown away.

The positives:
1. The hotel is large and well set out around a huge swimming pool, with a separate tiny pool for very little kids.
2. The staff were friendly and helpful and the guy around the pool during the day was a real asset, always putting up umbrella's, bringing towels etc. All waiters were also good and friendly.
3. The breakfast was pretty good, without being great. Having said that though, our experience throughout India was that breakfast's are fairly average and generally have the same thing - toast / bread, a cereal, an egg station and then a few Indian foods.
4. Room service was pretty efficient and the menu had a good amount of choice.
5. The resort is right on the beach, so a quick 1 minute walk through the resort gets you onto the beach.
6. The suite rooms are a good size, with little balconies and excellent water pressure even on the top floor suites.

The negatives:
1. We were a couple traveling together without children. This hotel seems to cater specifically to families and the hotel was also full of local tourists, all large families with lots of kids. The noise around the pool area during the day was unbearable. The children scream and shout and cry and throw temper tantrums throughout the day and the parents do nothing about it. OK, so the hotel can't really be responsible for this but perhaps there can be some control put on the amount of noise around the pool especially before and after certain times of the day. Also, remember that most rooms face onto the pool and so there really needs to be some effort made in regard to noise. For 2 days of our stay we actually needed to sit at the pool with earplugs in, which did a little to help but wasn't totally effective. There were one or 2 other Westerners around and after having the odd chat to them, they were also suffering with the noise from the kids. So, this is something to bear in mind if you are a couple traveling together who are not found of a kids swamped hotel.
2. Many people have mentioned the location of the hotel as a positive, but we actually didn't think it was brilliant. The hotel is on the northern end of Candolim and thus to get into the heart of Candolim where some of the better restaurants and bars are is about a 1.5km walk. This doesn't sound like much but I tell you, in 30 degree temp's and humidity off the map, it's a tall ask. Also, the roads don't really have proper pavements and so sometimes you are walking in the road dodging taxi's, rickshaws, motorbikes and cows, thus making the walk longer than it needs to be.
3. The reception and front desk are rather uninformed about places to go and happenings in the area. The Anjuna weekly flea market is a big thing in that part of Goa and on enquiring about it at the front desk, no-one could give me any info and I was told to speak to a taxi driver. Also, the front desk have no maps of the area or even just of Candolim so you really never know where anything is. My suggestion - in each room is a yellow pages...turn to the pink pages at the back and there you will find brilliant maps on Candolim and Calangute, Baga and Anjuna. They even show the location of popular bars and restaurants. And my tip to the hotel is - find these maps and make some copies which you can leave at the reception for people to take. Most people don't page through the yellow pages like I did and so they will have no way of ever getting their hands on a map.
4. I'm not sure if it was just our room or section of the resort, but there was a constant "kloncking" in the walls. My partner thinks it had something to do with the hot water but it was very irritating and even kept us awake some nights. Even with earplugs in, we wouldn't get away from the sounds as it reverberated through the walls.

So, to conclude, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a decent resort with a great pool area and if you are family orientated or have kids with you. If we had to go to Goa again, I think we would try a different resort and that is why I score the resort a 3. It is a lovely resort and you will have a good holiday there, but for us, we would probably try somewhere else just because of the issues mentioned above.

For many of you travelling to India and Goa for the first time (as we were) you may also find the following tips about Goa in general to be useful:

1. The beaches in Goa did not live up to our expectations and I think this is because they are deteriorating every year and not being properly maintained and looked after. The beaches have lots of litter, dogs have free access to the beaches and they do their business everywhere and anywhere, the sea was dirty and from articles I have read, is fairly polluted. So, if you are looking for beach paradise, I would go as far as saying that Goa is not the place to go.

2. No beach shacks were open during our stay now in October, and we didn't even see any construction of beach shacks going on. Apparently the permits were issued very late and so there hasn't been much development to date. So, if you are wanting to party and hang out at the beach shacks, October is not the time to go.

3. Taxi's are an absolute rip-off in Goa. I'm talking Rs 200 - Rs 300 to go 1 - 1.5 km's up the road (one way). It is a huge pity because it really makes getting around expensive and it makes you not want to move around too much. It also highlights that it's a huge pity that reasonably priced rickshaws are not easily available in Goa.

4. Candolim is great - quieter and more chilled than Calangute and Baga, but for some late night party action, head for the beach in Baga where bars and restaurants are set up on the beach and sell alcohol and such things until late into the night.

5. Take note of my comment above about walking - it can be difficult with no pavements and in the heat of the day. It just means it takes a bit longer to walk to the places you want to go.

All the above said, we had a wonderful time in India and loved the experiences we had. Yes, India is not for the feint hearted and Goa probably isn't the paradise that it used to be but just go with the flow and enjoy everything that the country and it's people have to offer.

I hope the above has been of some help!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thankyou for penning such a descriptive feed back,we have already kept some maps and the necessary information to see places around goa.We will surely improve on other aspects as per your feed back
Jose Dsouza G.M Sonesta Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed from 12 th to 15th October 2013. The suite rooms were clean and well maintained and the hotel is located very near to both calangute and baga beaches.. Good restaurants are near by..

2 improvement areas I can see

1. Hardly you can find 2 main dishes in breakfast menu except omlets and bread.. This is very disappointing considering the price they charge.. I never had buffet breakfast with this very limited items.. I have seen lot of ppl complain in previous reviews, however Sonesta management by adding 1 item washed their hands, seems they are no more interested improving breakfast menu :)

2. The people sitting in reception never helped us. First they should know how to treat customers and they should know what are the places to visit in goa and help guests.. I made 2 attempts to get a feel of places to visit nearby and they were never helpful neither interested to help..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subbu_annam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose D, General Manager at Sonesta Inns, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
we will definitely improve on the services we are lacking as per your feed back.
we assure you that our reception staff will have necessary information the next time you visit us and also the breakfast menu will be enhanced
Jose Dsouza G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#2 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#11 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#15 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Inns

Property: Sonesta Inns
Address: Anna Vaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#10 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star resort in Goa with a perfect beachside location on the beautiful stretch of Candolim's Golden Sands, an ideal place to relax. Tastefully arranged around a vast central pool area, a gently shelving expanse of sand and garden runs from the grounds to the warm waters of the Arabian Sea, the scene of a spectacular sunset almost every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Inns Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Candolim
Candolim Sonesta
Sonesta Inns Hotel Goa
Sonesta Inns Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing