We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - perfect!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Set just back in Candolim but walking distance to beach and bars. Clean bedding, clean room, apartment style room with 2 balconies. Lovely clean pools, pool staff excellent. Only gripe, managers need to appreciate the good hard work put in by staff, saw first hand the way they are spoken to. Excellent staff, highly under appreciated in our opinion. Would recommend hotel to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRutherfords15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    209
    114
    63
    61
See reviews for
113
277
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Dont let the fancy name fool you. Apart from the proximity to Candolim Beach, there's nothing that would excite you in this 3 star hotel. Was told that the foreigners love this hotel. Precisely!!! Guess its made only for them. Separate set of breakfast sections for foreigners and indians. Food and travel are, as per my opinion,are the 2 most important aspects of any travel/travel plan.We stayed here for 3 days and had breakfast for all the 3 days. Not even a single day did we go satiated with the same. Bread toasts werent available, food lacked necessary salts, The Hotel had planned a day of sight seeing for all customers. Arrange they did but without a guide. So, now you had close to around 20 people in a bus, at the mercy of the driver, who were wandering haplessly, at every stop that the bus driver would make. Finally one of us had to take the onus of serving guide and coordinating with people on timings and locations to meet.Toilets in rooms do not have jets to wash ones bottom. (P.S: We are indians, we use water and not Tissue paper). Jets are a given in any hotel in India now.And if you sleep with the AC on and your room is fully cooled and you want to switch off the AC, you would have to get up and do it since no remote for AC's are provided.
Would not suggest this to anybody. Its a Lowland and not a Highland. A big NO

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ram376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Candolim hotels

bolton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel and staff very pleasant , very laid back, booked again for next year , plenty off pools, security was very good, manager very helpful, taxi rank just outside hotel, supermarket right outside, the elephant shop across the road from hotel to change money ,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath_worsley693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at Highland Beach Resort in Feb 2013. I guess the resort was originally built as a residential property since the rooms are like apartments with 2 bedrooms, kitchen and a living room. So nothing to complain about the space :)
The decor and the furniture was very basic and average. The kitchen/pantry area had a refrigerator which was stinking when we opened it. The bathroom was not cleaned when we arrived..there were foot marks all over the bathroom floor.
I was told the resort had 3 or 4 swimming pools. I saw two of those. Well maintained. There is a nice poolside restaurant. The food was decent.
Overall an average experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JarusGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days. Our stay was arranged by Bleach Tourism and we were a group of around 90 people of Jain community. The food arranged for us was Jain food and the hotel did an excellant job at that. Though we do not eat Jain food at home regularly, we could not make out that it was a pure Jain food without any potatoes, onions etc. The breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellant even being a pure Jain food.
The service quality of the staff was also very good. You just had to call once at the reception and the task was done.
The 2 swimming pools that we used were good. There are 7 swimming pools in the property as per their website though we did not get time to locate all of them. We used the 2 adjacent to our rooms. There was always staff around the swimming pool to help.
All in all it was an excellant stay and everyone of us enjoyed at the hotel.
There were geysers in the bathrooms for hot water.
We had travelled with our two kids age 4 and 7 and both enjoyed their stay at the hotel.
We had stayed in room no. 803 which has two bedrooms. One bedroom had A.C. other did not have A.C.
The location was in the mid of candolim so candolim beach was just 5-10 minutes of walking distance. Also just outside the hotel there were rental shops for renting two wheelers those who want to move about on their own. Nearby was a restaurant and bar named Fisherman's Cove. Live music is played in the evenings there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnandDNanavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent location. Walking distance from the beach. Surrounded by good restaurants.
We had a group booking and I was the last one to check in while the rest of party was out to a distant beach in Goa. It took me a while for them to find me in their booking system (surprisingly I didn’t see them referring to a computer...only phone calls). Several people were called, several people spoke to each other, my ID was requested and finally I was given the keys to a room. The apartment was very tidy and perfect for a group of single friends. We a great view of the pool. The property seems to be occupied by mostly Russian sun worshippers. The disappointment was that the wi-fi in the apartment did not work. When we went to check at the reception, we were told the wi-fi is available only till 5 pm in the evening...it was bizarre. I think the guy just wanted to get rid of us and stop trying. We did finally give up and never attempted to access the internet other than throughout phones. Overall a pleasant stay. I ordered some room service. The food was average but fresh and was delivered relatively promptly....I would come back to this place just for the location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurgR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location, fantastic apartment, everything we could wish for, plenty to do and see, people so friendly, restaurants close to hand for nights and shacks for lunch in the beach - try Bob Marleys on candolim beach, local taxi drivers do all the trips, elephants and dudhsagar waterfall are a must

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ljt2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#23 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
#47 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#29 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#20 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#14 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Property: Highland Beach Resort
Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing