We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we have just returned from The Highland Beach Resort, Goa, we had a brilliant time. we had an enormous apartment! 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large sitting room and kitchen area, although i wouldn't put anything other than water in the fridge! (it had seen better days!) our towels were changed every day and bedding every 2-3 days. it was kept spotlessly clean, t.rolls plentiful. very basic but enough for our needs to sleep, shower etc. it had 2 balconies, either side of the apartment. beach/pool towels on request, clean every day. Breakfast very good but you do tend to get a bit fed up of eggs by the end of your holiday!! Candolim was a great place to stay, plenty of bars/restaurants and the beach very good, not far from the hotel. we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: we stayed in 'B' block room 805 - we didn't experience any noise from anywhere! so had...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Highland Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 561 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

we visited the highland beach 7 years ago and it was a lovely hotel, the pools where looked after and clean, so when we went back to Goa and friends booked us in there we where very pleased, The room,s we where given where very small and half of are party where right over the far side of the hotel, so we would have had to walk 10minutes to meet them and could not use the same pool or eat together, we got the rooms change no problem so the family where all together,The room was big two good size bedrooms and two bathrooms big living area, but trying to get the rooms cleaned and clean bedding and towels was a nightmare,We had to phone everyday for towels,the first night one of the beds never had bedding on at all, it was 4am so we never phoned for bedding, the next night we came off the beach and there was still no bedding or towels, I rang down and was told the hotel had no clean bedding left, they would pick the best out of the dirty laundary for us,,we did in the end get clean bedding, would not stay at this hotel again, and would not even try to write about the spa,

Room Tip: All family rooms are big and light it is just the service and cleanliness
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shirlmar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Suresh G at Highland Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are grateful for your review. Please note that we do have clean bedding in plenty, given we are one of the largest hotels in Goa, so there must be some miscommunication with the staff, specially since as you see, you did get the clean bedding. It is possible, due to the late hour, there is a lag in the service. However whilst we do try our best to match up to the higher category hotels, we are already providing excellent value as per our cost. We won the best Holiday Home in India award in 2011, something no hotel in Goa had won before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at Highland Beach. First went there in 2001 when they only had two pools and it was very quiet. We find this hotel best placed in Candolim, very friendly staff, do anything for you. We always stay in room 806 nice room a bit outdated because this is one of the first rooms that was built in 2001. Excellent cleaner moves everything off the floors, washes up any crocks we have left, always gives us clean towels and bed linen every day. This year we stayed in another room by pool 2, Room was as the other but with 3 balconies and air conditioning in both bedrooms, Our usual cleaner recognised us walking in the site and asked where we was staying. The cleaner we had was ok.(Mongo), the pool cleaner (Sanjin) was excellent I watched him myself he cleaned the area round the pool every day and the pool itself was cleaned. He would bring you an umbarella or do anything for you if you asked him. People forget this is India (very dry and dusty) impossible to keep clean. I have been to other hotels in Candolim but they were not as good as Highland. If you want luxury then, go to the Taj and pay the extra £2,000. You get what you pay for. I will be going to the Highland Beach again next year and i always stay for a month. Very good hotel. Thumbs up for Savio's bar very good lads always smile when you go in and always remember your drinks.

Room Tip: i always ask for quiet room with balcony and havn't failed yet
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patricia509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just back from my worst holiday ever.Three weeks in prison would of been better,i know what cool hand luke felt like having to eat all those eggs.chiped cups only about ten tea spoons to the full hotel.The one morning i tried to eat the indian buffet food i was told it was extra Toast is toast so it was ok the jam was quite nice and the kitchen staff and waiters were a good group of lads.Our room was daited with no cooking facilities but i was expecting a kettle we did use room service but this was very slow and usually coffee in a tea pot they didnt have much idea but again the lads were brill. The swiming pools were plenty but all were a litle dirty ,we used three difrent pools over the three weeks cups and glasses were oftern there two to three days and the toilot areas were just indian bath rooms with indian staff using them to clean themselfs.Another problem was spitting everyone seems to spit you couldnt walk round the site with out hearing some one spit,this put you off eating there.Rubish was also a problem and the few small bins left around the place were always over flowing.The hotel did have monkeys playing round the trees round the pool what was quite nice to see but other than this and the nice friendly kitchen staff the place to us was just a run down hotel.Please dont let me put you off India and Candolim as this is the most lovely place you can go just think about were you stay i for one wish i had read the reviews before i booked ..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andrea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Marketing Associate at Highland Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are grateful for your review and are disappointed that you did not enjoy your holiday. You have stayed 3 weeks with us and perhaps you got bored of toast and eggs in that time. However this is only the free breakfast , which on Continental Plan is only toast & tea/ coffee. We provide eggs only as an add-on, but free of cost. This is true of all visitors on the charter plan. And you can order other breakfast items from the restaurant menu. We have also noted your statement that the crockery was sometimes chipped and spoons were not easily available. An inspection of the crockery by senior managers last week , in response, has revealed no damaged, just some mildly scratched pieces. Also I understand from Trip Advisor , you visited our property after staying at the five star St Regis Doha. I am sure you understand that any comparison to a five star is completely unfair and we are one of the best 3 star properties in Goa. We look forward to your staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Clean towels every day, room cleaned everyday. Service was excellent. 3rd time I've been and will always go back and stay at this hotel. Parents stayed in 3 different hotels in goa and none compare to this one, so have stayed in this one for the last 12 years.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rawding01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very basic, but think this is typical for the area. No facilities, no hair dryer, no kettle etc. No choice for breakfast just eggs!!! Overall happy with the hotel it was clean etc. The thing I didn’t like was the security that was there supposedly to make you feel safe made you feel like you were in prison!!! They were also quite rude.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShazzaLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Marketing Associate at Highland Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We are grateful for your feedback.

Please note that you can report any rude behaviour of the staff to reception.

Our breakfast is on continental plan ( toast. tea/coffee) not american plan(buffet), so eggs are actually provided as an add-on. You also failed to mention that we provide eggs in almost all possible recipes, including boiled, sunny side, omelets and poached . We also provide some Indian vegetarian items for breakfast, but we understand it may not be to your taste. The restaurant has a extensive breakfast menu if you need extras.

We did not understand what you mean by no facilities. We have a gym / sauna/steam, over 7 swimming pools, a full fledged ayurvedic spa. 2 restaurants, a coffee shop, a bar, a sandwich bar etc. No one in Goa offers so much in a 3 star.

We do not offer tea kettle / hair dryer in room; this is true as a majority of our International guests carry their own hair dryers and tea / coffee is available to all at the restaurant during breakfast.

We thank you for liking our hotel and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Returned from the Highland Beach Resort, just over 2 weeks ago. Read all the previous reviews and must admit some of them were really funny……………….. Its India remember not 4 and 5 start luxury of Thailand or the States.
We arrived early hours of the morning and were greeted by the usual ‘Happy & Smiling’ reception staff. Check in very quick and efficient, long trek to our room, and immediately back to the bar which our porter told us was open 24/7 for guests. What the porter did not tell us was that you could only get Beer or Soft drinks. So no chance of a Vodka and coke then………….. Never mind it had been a long day traveling so after a couple of nice cold beers of to bed.
Like the other reviews I can confirm that the beds are ‘Rock Hard’, loved it… best sleep I had for ages. Rooms are basic, but clean. We were in 1901 which is about as far as you can get away from reception. Lovely and quiet, unlike the previous couple of years. No howling dogs, no cockerels, no road noise, just blissful peace and quiet all the time. Except in the morning once it is fully light, the ‘Monkeys’ wake up and start there morning chat, we all loved looking for them.
Breakfast is nothing to write home about, eggs every possible way of cooking them, and toast. No cereal, that was a bit disappointing.
Issue’s: Television intermittently stops working and you have to call maintenance to get it fixed. This seemed to upset a lot of people; personally I did not go to India to watch the telly. Room cleaning, variable, sometimes you had to call reception to chase them up. No service around the pool i.e. Drinks, Snacks and it’s a long way to the bar area.
Apart from that we had a great time, again in India. Candolim is by far the best area to stay in, we have now done Arpora and Baga areas, and Candolim has much more of a choice than both of them together. Would I go back to the Highland Beach? If I return to India I would consider it? However, the cost of Visa’s is getting to a point where I feel that India is now becoming too expensive to get to.

Room Tip: Room 1910, ground floor back of complex. Basic but clean and very quiet. Nice pool area all on its o...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRoberts49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Marketing Associate at Highland Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

As a veteran visitor to India, we are honoured to have your honest commentary on our services. We do regret you were unable to get a drink at the late hour; this is due to local regulations. Our meal plan is Continental so that includes toast & tea/coffee; but we also provide eggs and an Indian vegetarian item ; if you need more, it is available from the restaurant.
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#26 of 66 in Candolim
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#14 of 66 in Candolim
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#31 of 66 in Candolim
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#20 of 66 in Candolim
437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 66 in Candolim
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $45 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing