We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good standard of hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel several times and for Goan standards we can't fault it! The location is great, set back from the busy main road but close enough to all the restaurants/bars and shops and not too far away from the beach. Rooms are cleaned everyday and fresh towels left most days (just need to ask housekeeping for some if they haven't left any and they bring them straight to your room... this only happened on a couple of occasions!). We have been lucky to always have stayed in the apartment style rooms which are huge and have 3 balconies! Breakfast adequate if you just want a brew, fresh juice, toast & eggs but cheap enough to go for breakfast anywhere in Candolim. Very friendly staff, hotel seems to be expanding each time we visit. We bought some nice jewellery from the store next to the hotel, he seems a genuine guy... just hope the gemstones we bought are also genuine!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisamarie_ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    212
    116
    65
    65
See reviews for
117
281
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have just come back from a very good 2 weeks at Highland Beach

I will give a full account in the coming days

But i would recommend Tiffany Jewellers in the lane, i got my wife a solitaire ring made and when i brought it back home and got it valued it was worth 3 x what we paid for it, they will make it for you in 48 hours

Room Tip: Ask for a room in B-Block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blueboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

stayed in this hotel on many occasions and never been dissapointed its in good walking distence of the beach shops etc. this time i got a small room and had no problem changing it for a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom in the new block at the back of newtons supermarket. we had 3 balconys looking over the pool front and back.

Room Tip: new block at the back of Newtons supermarket any floor try for the 2 bed ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, England
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a lovely room or rooms - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living room, 2 balconies. It was lovely to have so much space. The second bedroom only had a double bed, dressing table and bedside table, no wardrobe which would have been awkward if anymore than 2 people were staying there as the wardrobe in the first bedroom was only big enough for 2 people, the usual Goa size wardrobe. Our room overlooked the pool but we were on the top floor and had 60 steps to our room so wouldn't have suited some people. There was no problem with luggage though as the boys took it up there and brought it down again when we left. Breakfast was eaten around the pool, eggs anyway you liked them with toast and jam/marmalade. It was nice that the jam and marmalade were home made and not the bright red variety. The hotel was in a great position for restaurants and the staff were all lovely. Reception was very efficient. It was good that safety deposit boxes were provided free in a secure area as this saved a considerable amount of money on a 3 week holiday. The only thing we were disappointed with was the spa. We went for a manicure and pedicure and they didn't even have any nail polish remover and attempted to proceed to file my old nail polish off with a nail file much to my horror. It took them an hour just to file my toe nails and clean my feet. We promptly left after the nail polish removal attempt and definitely wouldn't go back. The girls on the beach do a much better job. There is a band on 2/3 times a week in the restaurant area.

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms have a lot of steps to them. We were on the 4th floor with 60 steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrenLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went back in December for a fortnight and we stayed in block 2 which was fantastic, the pool boy provided really good service, defiantly will be back.Drinks are more expensive than the shacks or main restaurants, but at approximately £1.00 for a large spirit including a can of mixer in the resort and £2.00 in the hotel not much to grumble about. Also the samos boys come round on their bikes most of the day with fresh bread and delicious samoas for about 10 rupees (85 to the £1) can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for block 2 or three as these are at the back of the hotel also you can request a room over look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sprow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at the HB and a very enjoyable one too. We were lucky and got one of the 2 bedroomed rooms which are huge, with 2 balconies, room no 1103 1st floor, overlooks car park but its a very small quiet car park so no worries, overlooks pretty gardens at the back.
Breakfast adequate eggs any way you like, not keen on the coffee there so didn't bother with that. Staff were always helpful.
We didn't use the pool until the last day but there are 7 to choose from
I like the location of this hotel, my only negative is that it is just too big for me, I like smaller properties , but like I said 3rd stay there and no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirleyVManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My 15yr old daughter and I stayed at the highland the first 2 weeks of December. I had requested a pool view on their face book site and was told reception would be made aware, (didn't happen ) the complex is HUGE so I guess the standards of rooms will be very different, we had a room on the top floor right at the back of the old complex. No lifts could be a problem for some. The stair way was dirty stained walls and filthy ledges, the room spacious, basic, air-con in the bed room didn't work ceiling fans did,fridge had previous occupants left overs and was rusty inside and out, widow ledges and top of the fridge filthy!
The rest of the room however was cleaned daily bedding towels changed everyday :-)
The other guests and residents where mostly retired, not enough beds by the pools, not child/teenager friendly. The food in the restaurant was poor compared to that of the bars and shacks outside .
The walk to the beach from our room was a mile at least, not a few hundred meters as advertised.
If its just a base you want its ok, I wont be using this hotel again

We had a stay in Palolem in huts called Big Fish, we paid less than £10 a night for a hut with hot shower, its right on the beach and the food was lovely, beach beautiful, views amazing, made our holiday, will go back their for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyjane65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 66 in Candolim
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 66 in Candolim
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#20 of 66 in Candolim
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#16 of 66 in Candolim
535 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aldeia Santa Rita
Aldeia Santa Rita
#18 of 66 in Candolim
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Property: Highland Beach Resort
Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing