We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't even think about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summerville Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Derbyshire
2 reviews
“Please don't even think about this hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

In 9 nights we had a total of 2 with uninterrupted sleep.The noise of guests in the bar directly under the rooms makes any thought of sleep impossible until about 1:00am and drunken idiots (predominantly Russians) came in in the small hours, banging doors and switching on corridor lights which shine through the glass panel over our door. Several nights I got dressed and went in search of the security man who was invariably asleep, oblivious to any disturbances. He would speak to the offenders and make a report to the Manager the next morning (if he bothered to turn up), but nothing effective was ever done. The Management really don't give a damn and we never had any apology or offer of any recompense. Don't think about eating here - the kitchen is a hut made of plastic sheeting with an earth floor and the most filthy conditions you could imagine. The beach, which used to be nice is now ruined and almost washed away due to the currents caused by the remains of the River Princess ship lying 50 metres offshore and there is crude oil mixed in the sand. Huge canvas type bags filled with rocks have been placed where the beach meets the water for a distance of about 1km and it is almost impossible to bathe in the sea in this area because of the strong currents caused by the wave action, even after you have clambered over the man made obstacles. The aggressive and persistent beach sellers and beggars hassle you all day long, in fact at times about every 30 seconds a new one comes. The taxis and TukTuk drivers refuse to use their meters and over charge by about tenfold. (Bear in mind the government stipulates a fare of 9 IR per KM for TukTuk and 12 for a Taxi). Even walking in the evening you are constantly accosted by aggressive tradesmen and restaurant staff. There are far too many restaurants and shops selling exactly the same things and the whole district has become a nightmare. The Summerville hotel pool is one depth - 6 1/2 feet, which means it never really warms up properly and is too deep for children and everyone else except good swimmers and it closes at 5pm. We booked self catering through Make My Trip. com and from the Summerville website which shows the room in detail. The website boasts a mini kitchen platform in the A/C suites. To our great annoyance, the mini kitchen platform is just a kitchen sink and worktiop with a fridge underneath. No cooker, no kettle so useless for self catering. From enquiries we made we discovered that the suites were originally built as self catering but the management removed the hotplates and kettles to make people use the restaurant facilities to make more profit. Unfortunately they have not yet amended their website and so it continues to deceive people. Please don't be had over like we were, even though we took the greatest care to book what we thought would be a decent place to stay. Its a great pity because, with a bit of thought and attention to details, the management could put right the faults and give better customer service, although the location cannot be changed and it is not a good one either for the beach or the proximity to the supermarkets,shops and best restaurants. There seems to be too many managers at the hotel as well, each afraid to make a decision and no one willing to grasp the nettle when it is required, and yet they all stand around waiting for tips. The insincerity of their greetings begins to wear thin after a couple of times.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadenoughofindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    24
    16
    18
See reviews for
22
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Morton.Yorks
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Never in all the 11 years of visiting Goa have we stayed in anything as bad! Cannot describe the rooms.......cell block H would have been better. Breakfast was a joke.....cold toast(only 2 pieces each).2 portions of butter and jam and the drinks could only be described as dish water. We all decamped across the road to Alma's Inn to get anything like a decent meal! The rooms were 4yds x 4 yds with the barest minimum of furniture and the facilities were nothing like described in the hotel brochure at reception. There was no pool table, theme nights or even barbeques as shown . The bar and restaurant were sub let locally so this could explain the lack of service as the owner obviously wanted to keep costs at a minimum. The reps answer to any complaints was to move at an extra cost......a ploy perhaps by the tour operator? If anybody is considering going to Goa for the first time I would not stay here. It would not give you the right image of a resort that has a lot to offer in terms of good food, friendly people and a general overview of the place. There are lots of 2 star and even 1 star rated hotels that are better than this one. Even the locals pulled a face when we mentioned where we were staying1

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Candolim hotels

England
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We had checked out reviews before travelling and are aware that if people have bad experiences they are going to give bad reports as pay back. Therefore we decided to form our own oppinions based on brochure reports. The holiday company being Jewel in the Crown. Big Mistake! The Summerville is beyond belief. Dirty, dreary, smelly with paint peeling off walls I could go on ..........
We have been travelling to Goa for 6 years and can honestly say we love everything about it. Lots of our friends have since been there and returned too. During our time there we have stayed in many different appartments and hotels whilst moving around Goa so we are aware of the meaning of basic in India. Please think very carefully about this one don't spoil your holiday. We had to upgrade at a cost of £240 each not funny!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerwine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Summerville is more like a 2-storey apartment building in Goa and that certainly is a wrong way to start a holiday in the beach paradise of Goa, It is also right towards the end of the Candolim road and a little away from the cities of Mapusa and Panjim.

We stayed in the place in December and asked for blankets but were told that there were only few and given out. For breakfast, we were given toast and tea with no juice as promised at the time of booking. The manager and staff too makes you feel like running away from the place.

The place has a lousy restaurant and we wanted to check out on the first day itself. We looked around and found hundreds of better and cheaper alternative accommodation right along the Candolim stretch of road. Another apartment block some metres away had a proper apartment building with a hall and a TV, bedroom, kitchen with gas, plus a good restaurant – all at a lesser price.

We ultimately did check out to be a better accommodation and would truly not recommend this place to anyone. In fact to access the Candolim beach, one has to trespass through another hotel’s property, otherwise take a long route.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MuscatEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Just returned from two weeks in Goa staying at the Summerville. I was prepared for "Basic" but was pleased that we had arranged an upgrade to one of their "Suites" in the new block. A suite wasn't available when we arrived so we had to spend two nights in one of the old rooms. To say they are small is an understatement and how they manage to get the photo of the room on the website. Well - they say the camera never lies but in this case they were "economical with the truth". Anyway if you might want to swing a cat do book an upgrade. All of the rooms are fairly basic (and don't exp[ect British building standards) but I must say the staff kept then exceptionally clean. In most parts fo the world you are lucky to have your bedding changed twice or three times a week. At the Summerville our bedding was changed everyday - and the bedding was almost white!
For the first ten days of our holiday there were no beach shacks due to a dispute between the licence holders. They are now going up fast though and things are back to normal. You can easily spend all day at the beach (bed, booze and food) for a tenner.
Everywhere we went the people were very friendly and the food is fabulous whether you eat in a beach shack or in a more expensive restaurant.
Taxis are cheap (£12 for a cab and driver for all day) although there were a few times where I thought I was going to die. The standard of driving is horiffic. The saving grace is that traffic can rarely get over 30 miles mph.
We really wish we had been before and will definately be going back. Might be to the Summerville although there are loads of places to choose from. Don't hesitate - go to Goa.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSnitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2009

was a wonderful hotel with very good & helpful staff was actually my dream hotel facilities were excellent worth a trip to summervilla beach resort

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jite21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, east sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

It was my first time in india and went with my boyfriend who has been three times. As we arrived we asked immediately if we would like to upgrade to the new block and as i had read many reviews and done my research realised this was the things to do the man at the hotel asked for 300 rupees per night for this plus 50 rupees a day for the safety deposit box. but if you barter this you can get them down so dont be afraid!
the room was basic but what you need air con fridge tv all for same price. the only thing i would have to complain about is the bed quite hard but i guess i can hardly moan! as this isnt england! so i would maybe suggest asking for a double mattress as these look comfier a thicker one. the pool at the hotel is lovely really refreshing although is deep throughout about six ft 3 all the way so not really suitable for families with children. all the staff are lovely and always willing to help there are also trustworthy regular taxi men outside the hotel which is useful i would suggest using them. but must mention DONT go through you travel group to organise trip book own taxi and do yourself as you will only end up paying double this price in commision.alex who works behind the bar is always willing to help and also i great conversationist!! all in all a nice place to stay but better i would say if you dont like being round all the english and like older couples. bit of quiet :)...but i would def go again!! lovely!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
5 Thank kirstereeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.6 mi away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#51 of 64 in Candolim
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 64 in Candolim
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#42 of 64 in Candolim
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ave Maria Beach Resort
Ave Maria Beach Resort
#44 of 64 in Candolim
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerville Beach Resort

Property: Summerville Beach Resort
Address: Dando Taj Holiday Village Road | Dando, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summerville Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Summerville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Candolim
Summerville Beach Candolim
Summerville Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing