We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very priceworth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very priceworth”
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed for two weeks. We vere a little bit disappointed with the food at Whispering Palms because we had expected to have the opportunity to choose between differnet menues. Whispering Palms is mainly an Allinclusive hotel and if you only can have buffets it tends to be a little bit boring after a week or more. We were offered to have dinner threee times at their à la carte restaurant, Aathaa, which serves Indian food. The first dinner was not very tasty but when we made some complaints whe indeed had very goood food the other evenings. Evertything else was just great: very friendly staff, cleanliness, the drinks.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liselott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    699
    204
    55
    32
See reviews for
673
675
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

This was my 7th time in Goa and this is a nice clean comfortable hotel, but has a few problems, the hotel grounds are not big enough for the accomodation very small pool area, so very hard to get a seat let alone a sun lounger. The all inclusive is a bit of a con, I tried to get a cheese sandwich one day and was told that there was Tuna out at the snack bar, not liking Tuna this did not help me, took one hour and a complaint to the Management to get it. Too much Curry on the menu, I like Curry but morning noon and night is too much. The best member of staff is the guard who looks after the safety deposit boxes. Two things if you stay here or near here, try Tony's Jewellers just outside the hotel and Ganesh's shack down the hill on Candolim beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macca1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We have just returned from our second stay in 2 years at the Whispering Palms and again they made every effort to make our stay extremely comfortable.
Food..The food in the hotel is always plenty-full starting with breakfast, morning snacks, lunch, high tea, and evening dinner on an all inclusive basis. In fact it if you ask for a snack during the short intervals that food is not being served they will still accommodate you.
The food is varied if not often very spicy however if spice is not to your liking simply as and the chef and he make every effort to prepare an alternative as he did when on 2 occasions he made a beautiful cottage pie for my wife.
Staff..Be it the cleaner, bar staff, gardener, my very good friends Harry (Security), David (chef), David (waiter) nothing is to much trouble. You spend most of you day saying hello as they always great you when passing you with morning, afternoon or evening Sir or Ma'am. You only have to ask and they will make every attempt to accommodate.
Security..The Hotel provides security at all gates to prevent potential thieves, beggars and hawkers, not that the hotel has a big problem but as with any country there are the odd opportunists prepared to take advantage of tourists. The hotel also provides free safety deposit boxes.
Drink..On the all inclusive basis bottled water, soft drinks, local beer and alcohol and cocktails and mock tails are free between 11.00 am and 11pm.
Entertainment.. Every evening there is a varied level of themed and regular entertainment at the pool side. Entertainment can vary from local music through to fire eaters.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants an easy care free holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bassetlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Stayed at Whispering palms for our first anniversary. I had booked a package for 3N/4D starting from 25th feb 2010. Booked the same from Delhi Global Odyssey : gave us a good discount.
Ok now the hotel. Well the starting was very nice, we got a personal Innova car air conditioned ( car was clean and comfortable) which came at the airport before time. The driver Bunty ( In proper uniform) was nice and showed us some places on the way to the hotel. The Hotel was around 50 mins from the airport.

At the hotel check in was easy, they made us to fill a small form and took us to our room. This is where things went wrong. I had specifically asked for a Pool View room and it was mentioned on our package detail. However they said that the whole hotel was booked and had no room available. It seemed that Global Odyssey in Delhi forgot to inform them about about the pool view room. However Carmine a front office executive was nice and told me about a room which was going to check out in 1 hr or something. Anyways i went back to the room rested for sometime and then changed to move towards the beach. I was showed the new room and it was pool facing (room 106 A) and decent. However the rooms are just ok ok ... ( on the website the rooms look very nice but in reality they were just ok- small ) the toilet was also small. I have added pictures to make u the judge. So while the room got cleaned we went to the beach ( When we came back they had moved our stuff to the new room). The beach is only 2 mins walking distance from the back door... and there are 5-6 small shops which sell towels, shorts clothes etc... As soon as you see the beach you see a the Big River Princess standing..also make sure u visit Ganesh Shack. He does not charge u for the sun beds and is a very friendly person... I'm going to write a separate review for him.

Ok so about the Hotel..the Hotel was full of 90% foreign people..mostly russian could not find even one young couple all of them were foreigners who were mostly in their mid 60-70s... they all keep to themselves..most of them have taken the all inclusive package which includes alcohol also so they stay at the hotel only...
Hotel Staff is very good and polite ...all the waiters/chef..excellent service...very helpful and very smiling.

Food was ok ok .. the pics on the website are those of the Friday Dinner which is a lavish dinner ( It is not so lavish on other days )...Friday they also have a theme night which was nice ..they have goan dances and people also dance..pics attached...rest of the days food was average... normal 2 non veg main course and 1-2 starters and decent option for veggies.... continental food was also there overall food... for sweet dish cake, halwa ice cream .. i wld give 2.5/5 for normal days and 3.5 / 5 for Friday dinner.
Beer wld cost around Rs 124 after taxes ..

My package also included a half day sight seeing tour with a boat cruise on river mandovi...it was also nice..took us in air conditioned car innova we were 6 people...all fitted in decently .. nice tour took us to St. Francis Xavier Church , Temple, Panjim..it was nice ... we enjoyed...

Overall Hotel experience was nice... They could improve on the food .. The new room was also just ok..it was small but since I did not have much choice i stayed.. the room had a 21 inch TV ( Its a normal one ..no Flat screen). AC was window.. i noticed that the bed was not attached to the bed rest ..but it did not make any difference... mattress were nice comfortable and soft ...they cleaned the room everyday but i think the replace the bedsheets alternate days you can ask them if u want it done everyday ... Swimming pool was nice..very clean and water also nice... sun beds around.. u get towels once a day at the pool ...jacuzzi is also there but water in not hot... a small pool for young kids was also there

The Hotel was fully booked...which u can make out .. we did not get a late check out however the staff was nice and provided us with a room where we cld take a bath and change.. the drop was also in an innova car ..air conditioned and well on time...

Overall Excellent staff right from drivers to bell boys to front office executives... we had a nice time ... Visit it ...nice and friendly place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitinmalik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

My mum, daughter and myself have all just returned from this hotel on Friday last week. It was absolutely fantastic from start to finish.
We arrived at five in the morning from a really long trip which started at ten the day before. We got through customs at Dabolim airport really quickly and managed to get a taxi from there to the hotel at the cost of 600 rupees. It was really easy to do so even at that time of the morning. i have to admit i was pretty worried about this, but no worries at all. The checks at the airport are very thorough though and you have to go through quite a lot of procedures to get through - however on the plane you are given swine flu questionnaires which hurries it up a bit. The trip from the airport to the hotel was about an hour.
Once at the hotel the reception was fantastic even at that time - full of smiles and a quick run down of breakfast times etc. We were shown to our rooms and under no circumstances were even allowed to carry our own baggage.
The room was quite big with a queen size bed which me and my 12 year old daughter shared and a single bed for my mum, both were more than adequate and very clean. The rooms were cleaned every single day and the bedding changed every other day. The rest of the room - shower room with toilet and sink could have done with a bit of modernising but was clean and tidy and once again cleaned every day.
Food was served all day and was very good value for money. There was plenty of options - breakfast had bacon, eggs, omelettes made to order, boiled eggs, cereal, toast, juices etc. Lunch and dinner were both fantastic with snacks including pizza, chips and pakora in between times which were also pretty good.
The staff all round were fantastic, no problems at all. Nothing was too much effort.
Special hello to Harry in the resturant, the chaps on the front desk and Kashir in the bar, all of which made our stay very enjoyable.
The entertainment was probably only the let down but not on a grand scale - as much to say that when the "two piece band" sang Green Green Grass of Home it bough back memories of Only Fools and Horses and was very comical!! A definite must to hear them but they did get a bit boring. There isn't a kids club of any sort but my daughter was happy to spend days on the beach and around the pool.
If you get the chance i would go to the waterfalls where you can ride elephants, feed the monkeys and swim under the waterfall. Absolutely amazing. There is a place called Johns Boat Tours at the top of the road, much more reasonably priced than the reps. We paid 26 pounds per person for the waterfalls but he was doing it for 13 pounds - a bit gutted but now know for next time.
Money is very easy to get - easiest place is from the elephant shop at the top of the road.
The markets are an experience but be firm as you will be sucked in, Luckily enough we were okay but some people did come back saying they had spent a lot more than we had.
All in all fantastic, would definately go back there and would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2010

This hotel is nothing as shown in the photos on the website. The photos make the hotel out to be a lot larger than it really is. The entrance to the hotel is half way down a narrow lane to the beach. Behind metal gates and a high wall.
The room was one of the classic rooms which was nice and also the gardens round the room was kept to a high standard and were very pleasant. The laundry in the room was a bit, hit and a miss. Also told the room was to far from the boiler for hot water. This was put right, sort off; the water was only hot from 8.30- 9.00am and 6.30 - 7.00pm.
The reception area, dining room, pool area and bar were very small. There was only one toilet and one urinal plus basin in the men’s toilet to service all these areas. This is a hotel with 106 rooms, approx. 230 persons when full, as what it was when we were there.
The pool area did not have enough sun beds and the pool was oily and needed repair.
From the fourth day we didn't use the restaurant other than for breakfast because the food was mostly cold, very poor service and no tablecloths on the tables, except for plastic place mats.
The service at the bar was slow due to bar staff having to duplicate your order onto order pad, which you had to sign for. Also when you ordered from a waiter the order was nearly always wrong.
The evening entertainment was Third-rate and on a weekly rotation.
The management was also looking for guest to go to South Goa at weekends so they could let out your room to business guests from Mumbai.
No hotel towels are allowed on the beach so you need to take your own towels and the beach is about 4mins walk from the hotel. The beach is sandy but could be cleaner. It also has a cargo ship beached on the beach, which has been there for 10 years.
Plus points for the hotel is that it’s very central for all amenities, buses and taxis. There is some excellent restaurant around the hotel. At very reasonable prices and catering for all tastes, with all selling excellent seafood.
Also had my teeth and eyes tested at prices much cheaper than the U.K?

  • Liked — GARDENS
  • Disliked — POOL AND AREA AROUND THE POOL
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAGULL26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

It all started a little badly when we got to the reception we had booked a classic room but they did not have any comfirmation of this but the two couples we were traveling with had the classic rooms a problem with co-op travel will not use them again.We were given keys to G4 what a horrible room small and damp complained and got moved its best not to look at the bed linen or towels as there are a few stains on them the hotel it self is basic the swimming pool is small and there is not enough sun beds.The food was good a good choice for all nationalitys drinks were served from 11am-10.45pm which is not to bad and the hotel is idealy located five minutes from the beach and a good choice of restaurants straight out side the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthEastBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 66 in Candolim
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#7 of 66 in Candolim
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Beach Resort

Property: Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Address: Sinquerim Beach | Goa, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#4 Family Hotel in Candolim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Palms Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms’ unique feature is its location. It is just a minute’s walk or 175 meters from the well-known Sinquerim Beach situated in a very peaceful and serene surrounding. This often-described “Island onto itself” all-inclusive resort comprises of 106 well-appointed, air-conditioned accommodation units with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whispering Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Beach Hotel Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Candolim
Whispering Palms Goa
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing