We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,132)
Filter reviews
2,132 results
Traveler rating
1,010
799
228
58
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,010
799
228
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacob johnevening entertainmentbalcony roomall inclusive packageswimming poolcurrygreat holidaytaxi standthomas cooknon vegindian foodvisit goahotel staffnorth goapleasant stayhouse keepingspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 2,132 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2017

I and my family booked this hotel through trip advisor. The morning reported at the front desk for check in formalities were simple, receptionist attended curtaisely. Even though our check in time was 12 noon, they obliged early check in by 10 a.m., it helped us a lot. We stayed their for 4 days. The room was clean. Ambious is nice. The service was very good. Staffs are all very polite.

A good hotel to recommend for family stay for vocation.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms facing the gardens are preferred.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bilimagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobJohnGoa, General Manager at Whispering Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Dear Guests,

Season's greetings from Whispering Palms Beach Resort !

Thank you for choosing our resort and taking the time out to review the hotel on TripAdvisor!

We thank you for your positive review on the resort, the reception, the room, the staff, the ambiance and the service. We take great pleasure and pride in serving our guests.

Guests like you and your kind words of appreciation and recommendation of us, rating us as excellent in terms of cleanliness and service, are a huge motivation and inspiration for my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Goa!

Warm Regards,

Jacob John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

Rooms and property were beautiful walkable distance from beach very coorporative staff and live music during breakfast healthy breakfast menu and delicious dishes good and clean rooms over all it was excellent except when we visited climate was bad so couldn’t enjoy the beaches much still enjoyed all sea food well

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Advisorangel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobJohnGoa, General Manager at Whispering Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear Guests,

Season's greetings from Whispering Palms Beach Resort !

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and taking the time out to review the resort on TripAdvisor!

We thank you for your positive review on the resort, the location, the staff, the food, the cleanliness, the room, and everything for which you enjoyed yourselves, barring of course, the weather, that may have prevented beach excursions. We take great pleasure and pride in serving our guests!

Guests like you and your kind words of appreciation, are a huge motivation and inspiration for my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Goa!

Warm Regards,

Jacob John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Whispering Palms Resort Candolim Goa
The wife & I have just got back from this great hotel in Candolim Goa been there 11 nights from 25/11/17
When you arrive it does come as a bit of a shock as the coach drops you up on the main road, the hotel is sign posted at the top of the road but the coach can't actually get down owing to its size You have to walk down a (back lane) small road about 200 meters or so to the hotel passing a few friendly dogs & the odd cow! But don't be put off as it really does get much better than first impressions.
This was all well explained on the transfer coach by the Thomas Cook rep Garish(Gavin) really great info a good laugh & he's always dotting about the hotel during your stay for a chat or any help needed We don't normally go to the welcome meetings as tend to view them as a hard sell for trips/tours etc but we did go to this one & didn't feel pressured at all in fact we booked the rice boat tour through Garish with Thomas Cook which was brilliant
We got to the hotel about 3.30am & where checked in very efficiently by friendly reception staff. We where then shown to our room followed by our cases & given a good briefing on how everything worked & any questions/queries where answered comprehensively. Shortly after a lovely cold beer arrived, we where also offered food.
What a great welcome & excellent service.
The room we had number 307 which was on the ground floor but up a few steps(there are other rooms near reception which are wheelchair friendly) Our room was just a nice size & had complimentary air con, a ceiling fan, safe, toiletries(tooth brushes, shaver, soap, shampoo the lot) hair dryer., kettle, tea bags & coffee, small fridge & also a flat screen TV with loads of English speaking channels sports showing English prem league games plus lots of movies news etc. Really nice room with everything you need to make you comfortable during your stay. Our room attendant Sunita also kept the room immaculate Our balcony overlooked the pool & the evening entertainment area.
The evening entertainment is actually good compared to other hotels we've stayed at a mix of singers, Indian dancers, karaoke night & other decent shows
The hotel itself is not to big and probably one of the most friendly hotels we've ever stayed at with brilliant friendly staff especially Ravi the barman what a lovely lad nothing to much trouble thanks again mate you really did look after us & made us feel special.
The standard of the food in the main restaurant is in our opinion if you like spicey food just great & some of the best we've had it's like dining in a good Indian restaurant every day simply lovely! There is a window into the kitchen area so you can see how clean it is & also watch the chefs cooking up their delights If you don't like spicy food the chefs are happy to cook you basically whatever you want plus there's also a burger bar at the pool during the day for chips burgers etc
They have outside cooking with demonstrations honestly its just great.
There is also the Ahahata restaurant on site which you get one free visit per week (I think) during your stay The staff Dabbal Sing,Bahadur,Aruraid & Soumya I've definitely mis speld your names but you know who you are & honestly gave us some of the best Indian food and service we've ever experienced thank you so much just exceptional.
Pool area is medium size but the real issue as previous reviews have mentioned is the sunbed situation there is just not enough space to put out enough beds so if your not up early 7am ish your either sitting round the pool on the seats or heading for the beach which is only a few minutes walk then using one of the many beach shacks where you can get a sunbed but normally have to buy a few drinks or a meal during the day(make sure to ask first how much as there's lots of choice with varying prices & conditions) but they are normally really cheap and do offer a great service so not to bad of a compromise if you don't want to get up to early to reserve! a poolside sunbed at the hotel.
There is a sundeck above the pool bar with beds but this again gets filled up quickly (one option to create more sunbed space is maybe build another sundeck above the outside dining area as at the minute it just has a slate roof on it so could be an option to change it to a sundeck the same as above the pool bar) The sunbed situation is one of the only issues with this hotel but unfortunately it is a big one for most holidaymakers.
The hotel public areas are also kept very clean the staff are always busy cleaning, gardening, maintaining or serving they never seem to stop Jacob John the manager really does run a good hotel.
There's also Tom the violin player what a lovely fella he dots about the hotel playing you tunes on his violin & having a good laugh with you a really lovely bloke who doesn't hassle you at all cheers Tom (tattoo man lol)
We kept our room on for our last day but this can't be guaranteed until the morning of your last day 3000 rupee up to 6pm or 4000 up to 8pm if this is not available to you there is an on sight spa that you can use for last minute showers etc We where lucky enough to keep our room as our pickup time was 9.30pm but check out is 11.00am.
The transfer coach again comes to the top of the street but the hotel staff will help you up with your cases.
We had a great time one downside we put about a stone in weight on after eating simply lovely food! lol
We also met some great new friends including staff & other holidaymakers who by the way seem to return year after year so that alone is a recommendation.
The area around the hotel is full of shops bars restaurants most are very good & compared to UK prices about a third of the cost there are also A lot of holidaymakers who get medical & dental work done spectacles made with their prescriptions again about a third of the cost and of equal standard. You can also get quality suits or clothing made get good value jewelry among lots of other things India is certainly a value destination at this time & long may it continue we will certainly be visiting again with a half full suitcase as there are far to many bargains to be had. UK £ easily exchanged in lots of local shops rate around 85 rupee to the £ we changed little amounts often and managed easily.
India It might not live up to everyone's expectations & come as a bit of a shock as it is like nothing we've ever experienced, cows walking down the middle of the busy roads, traffic going each & every direction small motorbikes with full family's on including the dog or maybe even a settee or a big block of ice! lots of people with virtually nothing but still smiling happy & always with a warm welcome. Go with an open mind expect the unexpected & I'm sure you will love it.
It was described to us as a bit like Marmite love it or hate it We just love it India, Goa & The Whispering Palms certainly get a big thumbs up from us see you again very soon.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms & you can watch the entertainment in the evening from your balcony
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank hylt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobJohnGoa, General Manager at Whispering Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear Guests,

Season's greetings from Whispering Palms Beach Resort!

Thank you for choosing our resort, and taking the time out to review the hotel on TripAdvisor!

We thank you for your detailed, narrativised, and lovingly written review on the resort, the staff - many of whom you remember and have acknowledged individually, the room - with all the amenities, the food - live and cooking to order, the care, the entertainment, and everything that has elicited your kindly written comments, putting everything in perspective, and all that has gone into making the hotel a place to cherish for having spent great times, as also the destination, Goa, that you had a chance to savour at during your 11 night stay here. We're sure that other guests would find your comments useful. We take great pleasure and pride in serving and entertaining our guests!

Guests like you and your kind words of appreciation, rating us as excellent in terms of value, cleanliness, service and overall, and recommendation of us, are a huge motivation and inspiration for my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Goa.

Warm Regards,

Jacob John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the resort at around 4am in the morning after a very long journey. The hotel is up a little off road alley way . First impression was omg what kind of hell are we staying at. There were cows sitting outside shops and motorbikes and taxis tooting at each other.
The moaning stops now.check in was very quick and we were greeted with cold beers and the offer of something to eat after we had been shown to our room.
We fell straight to sleep in very comfy beds and had a proper look the next day. The rooms are just what we needed. Nothing fancy, but all essentials are there. Loved the shower, really powerful.
We chose an all inclusive package. The food and drink was great, ideal for first time visitors and people who like to stay on the complex. If we come again , we will opt for bed and breakfast as it is so cheap to eat and drink outside
The pool area was lovely, there was 4 of us , so a bit difficult to get a good spot together, unless we got up extra early, didn't really witness the usual towel wars, that so often happens.
We prefer the beach . It is only 2 mins away, we enjoyed the beach shacks, particularly Ryan's shack. He told us, they take 1 month to build and they have a 6 month season. Sadly towards the end of our stay a cyclone further south caused high tides and many of the shacks have been washed away.
Mozzies are a problem here, although they appear to be very choosy who they bite. Some folk were eaten alive, whilst others escaped with 1 or 2. The spray from the little shop across the road is the best I have ever used and only costs the equivalent of a quid.
The money is not too difficult to work out. 500 rupees equates to around 6 quid. We also used the little shop across the road to change our sterling. There is plenty of cash points.
The staff at whispering palms were very friendly and didn't expect to be tipped. However they work hard and deserve it. I'm not sure if tips are shared, but I say don't forget the man who cuts the grass and the people behind the scenes
Goa is a mix of tranquil and crazy, the hotel, the pool and the beach are so relaxing. Then the town is so loud and alive. Take a taxi if you dare ..

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
5  Thank sharon685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobJohnGoa, General Manager at Whispering Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Dear Guests,

Season's greetings from Whispering Palms Beach Resort !

Thank you for choosing our resort and taking the time out to review the hotel on TripAdvisor!

We thank you for your positive review, impressions - that are informative as they are interesting, appreciating the resort, the comfort, the rooms, the food and drink, the staff, the swimming pool and overall perspective of the hotel and the destination - Goa. We are sure that other travelers and guests would find your comments useful. We take great pleasure and pride in serving and entertaining our guests!

Guests like you and your kind words of appreciation for us are a huge motivation and inspiration for my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Goa!

Warm Regards,

Jacob John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

We v enjoyed alot..area is good in cleanliness...but buffet menu is not good it may be good for foreigners but not so good for Indians ..sweeming pool was well maintained...but there was no beach view room

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank manaranjan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacobJohnGoa, General Manager at Whispering Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Dear Guests,

Season's greetings from Whispering Palms Beach Resort !

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and also for taking the time out to review the resort on TripAdvisor!

We thank you for your good review on the resort, the rooms, the cleanliness, the swimming pool and everything for which you have enjoyed your stay. We take your feedback seriously, and are continuously innovating our buffet menu to suit all tastes, as we look to give the best possible experience of our hospitality to our guests, and take great pleasure and pride in serving our guests!

We receive your plaudits and suggestions with a smile. Guests like you and your kind words of appreciation, are a huge motivation and inspiration for my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Goa!

Warm Regards,

Jacob John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews