We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday”
Reviewed January 19, 2010

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks at whispering palms beach resort in Candolim. Our first trip to Goa, Just fantastic, thats all I can say about this hotel. Everything we have ever wanted in a medium budget holiday. The staff and the management could not have made more effort or made us more welcome. The food, accomodation, staff and surroundings were beautifull. Jacob you have a really fantastic team behind you and they are a credit to you all of them from the gardeners right up to you yourself, taking time to get to know every single guest we loved the whole experience thank you all so very much. See you all again very soon. XX

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — night time entertainment
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roadmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    696
    202
    54
    32
See reviews for
668
670
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Firstly the good, we stayed at the hotel the first 2 weeks of December the hotel itself is clean and the rooms are adequate comfortable king size beds, tv, tea & coffee,fridge, balcony and an eccentric bathroom/wet room, The hotel staff are helpful and friendly and although the "Indian" way of doing things may seem old fashioned to us(everything in triplicate even signing for drinks and three waiters to fill one bottle of water) it worked and even became quaint and a little endearing.
We found the food on the whole good served buffet style there was always a good choice and though it leaned towards local cuisine an effort was made to serve international dishes, I personally found breakfast to be good as the chef would cook omlettes,poached,fried and even acceptable boiled eggs to order.
The pool area gardens and public areas were well kept and maintained although one niggle is that there were not enough sun beds.
Now the bad, beware that after 11pm you have to pay for drinks you sign for these and they are charged to your room this also applies for any and all extras for example food from the barbeque and other "special events" laundry and whilst we were there two of our party celebrated a wedding anniversary and I asked the staff to arrange flowers and a cake which they did and we had a wonderful night in the a' la carte but were charged for the privilege overall my room bill was in excess of £160 so beware!
Lastly the ugly, the hotel is situated approx 200m from the beach which we thought was ideal until we ventured to spend a day there, the weather was gorgeous 30+ not a cloud we found a nice beach shack got sun beds and cool drinks and were the systematically pestered for 4 hours (until we had had enough) by beach sellers selling everything from cheap c##p to cheaper c##p even a stern no thanks didn’t seem to deter some of them.
Overall we really did enjoy our holiday the hotel was good and Goa is different from anywhere we have been before visited the capital Panjim stayed in the jungle with the elephants (fantastic trip) saw crocodiles and even managed to get a tan which hasn't seen the light of day since we got back to freezing UK.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KezBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Just returned from a brilliant 2 weeks stay at WP. the staff are so helpful and friendly. we loved the food which was mainly curries but pizza and burgers were also available as snacks. the room was cleaned daily again by lovely staff and we would definitely stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adventurer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I have just returned after three weeks and have booked up again for next year which is unlike me. Despite the feedback on the food, I found it very good, if you go to India expect curry not chips! Although burgers, chips, pitza etc was available from the hotel pantry. The staff were very helpful and kind, just couldn't do enough for you to ensure you had a good holiday. You can hire a taxi , set price for the day to take you around the sites og Goa, so much more enjoyable and much cheaper than holiday companies.
Clothing can be bought for about £2 a shirt , so why carry luggage?
Downside the beach and that ship but plenty of nice beaches to visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dumpling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

this is the second time i have stayed in this hotel,first with family and second time alone for a week break.the hotel is very nice and staff very friendly and helpful.the food is good but a little repetetive.when i arrived i spoke with some guests who arrived the week before me with THOMAS COOK and experienced a 24hr + delay!sure enough when their 2 week holiday/my 1 week holiday was coming to an end we find out THOMAS COOK MESSED UP AGAIN !after checking out of our rooms for 12 hrs the rep still didnt even know what time the flight back home would be.also it seemed as if they where just trying to pass the blame all of the time.saying the plane had left the uk,yet friends back home working at manchester airport where saying this wasnt the case and we were being lied to!please bear this in mind when booking flights,not just to goa but anywhere!if you can fly with a scheduled airline then do it.in nearly all cases u get better service,more leg room,no luggage/weight restrictions and no charges for meals and drinks.hope my review has been some help to people and save them being treat like a bunch of idiots.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkHonesttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 nights/ 4 days holiday in Goa..stayed at this hotel after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor and checking out their website...the hotel's location is quite good..just a 5 minutes walk to the beach..this was the best part of the hotel...

The hotel arranged for an AC cab to pick us up from the airport..then we were upgraded to a deluxe room from standard room....good experience at the start...the room was spacious..but not so well maintained...the bathroom needs to be repaired and the switches and plug points are quite old..so they should be changed...so overall the room was ok...

The only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast..which was nice..the lunch and dinner spread was mostly Indian..so we used to venture out to check out the small restaurants outside the hotel...one place which is just awesome (food and ambience) is The Mermaid Restaurant..just opposite the hotel entrance...you must eat here..great continental cuisine...

Overall it was a good experience...and Goa is a great place..so you cannot miss the fun when you are out in the Goa sun!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Horrible is the word for their breakfast. i have not had worse breakfast anywhere else. Though the rooms are ok for the price and bathroom clean..still nothing extraordinary about the resort..there are many other options in Goa that you can have for this price..

  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nishitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 65 in Candolim
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 65 in Candolim
1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 65 in Candolim
1,542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 65 in Candolim
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Beach Resort

Property: Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Address: Sinquerim Beach | Goa, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#4 Family Hotel in Candolim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Palms Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms’ unique feature is its location. It is just a minute’s walk or 175 meters from the well-known Sinquerim Beach situated in a very peaceful and serene surrounding. This often-described “Island onto itself” all-inclusive resort comprises of 106 well-appointed, air-conditioned accommodation units with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whispering Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Beach Hotel Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Candolim
Whispering Palms Goa
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing