We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We have just returned from a 3 nights/ 4 days holiday in Goa..stayed at this hotel after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor and checking out their website...the hotel's location is quite good..just a 5 minutes walk to the beach..this was the best part of the hotel...

The hotel arranged for an AC cab to pick us up from the airport..then we were upgraded to a deluxe room from standard room....good experience at the start...the room was spacious..but not so well maintained...the bathroom needs to be repaired and the switches and plug points are quite old..so they should be changed...so overall the room was ok...

The only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast..which was nice..the lunch and dinner spread was mostly Indian..so we used to venture out to check out the small restaurants outside the hotel...one place which is just awesome (food and ambience) is The Mermaid Restaurant..just opposite the hotel entrance...you must eat here..great continental cuisine...

Overall it was a good experience...and Goa is a great place..so you cannot miss the fun when you are out in the Goa sun!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    692
    201
    52
    32
See reviews for
661
667
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Horrible is the word for their breakfast. i have not had worse breakfast anywhere else. Though the rooms are ok for the price and bathroom clean..still nothing extraordinary about the resort..there are many other options in Goa that you can have for this price..

  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nishitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2009

My husband and i went to whispering palms it was for my hubbys 50th birthday.Thankyou for a wonderful birthday rememberance great. thankyou everyone.
We enjoyed our stay here it was our first time in goa.
heres what we found.
management and staff extremly helpful friendly. Any problems you may find the staff will help and resolve right away.
the rooms are nice think i would upgrade next time though, although we enjoyed the room we were in .
everyone here was really friendly helpful and sanjay or rep was brill, the food is lovely i had read reviews and comments about the food but we loved it and if you like hot curries youre sure to love them here, and there is a chioce of other food if you suffer from any heartburn or anything that sets off hurnias etc bear in mind alot of spices and hot foods but if you ask for something mild or no spices the staff will do it for you without any fuss.
we cannot fault anything here apart from the brouchure says 11pm bar closing no its 10-45pm and by 11pm the bars are closed with everything put away and locked so if you want double up on your drinks.......
we will go back here and carnt wait to go back, at first my few days i wasnt sure and took my first week trying but then i started to enjoy it and relaxed more, i had a good time singing and dancing laughs the staff here love you to dance and they love to see you enjoying yourself so dont be shy
the only other thing i found (but do realize that it is indian law as far as i know)
the entertainment starts at 7-30pm and finishes at 10-30pm as most of us eat between 8 and 9pm we are missing the entertainment which is a shame as it is good oh and the goan theme nights and the pirates is a must really good.
so for a great stay friendly staff i reccomend here is the place you want to be everything is at hand and not far to walk or travel.
we hope to go back for xmas and new year laughs were only just back 16th nov 30th nov already am missing the heat and wish we were there.
Thankyou to all at the hotel and to all the staff, and to my darling you know who you are lol in the restraunt and to anrab, reception staff always busy but still have time to smile and greet you weither it be morning afternoon or night time,
simply the best everyone at this hotel and a big thankyou to all and to jacobjohn.
also to everyone in the beauty and spa hello to louisa and reny and the gentilman sorry cannot remember ya name

A little back ground music would be lovely while at the pool as it can get a lillte too quiet.

Thankyou to mac and and sales asst in the be happy tailoring a beautilful ladies suit reccommended see ya again soon mac

lovely people and we miss you all already
thankyou to all

mr mrs miller (rm 101)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spin177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

we stayed at whispering palms and the sevice was fabulous the waiters and reception staff were attentive the room was comfortable fresh and cleaned daily the food was very good and tasty .althoiugh there are plenty of options to have a meal outside for differant cuisine had a fabulous holiday would definatley go again

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scouser41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Stayed in this resort with my wife & 2 year old daughter for 4 days i.e. from 23rd Oct till 26th Oct.Just returned from our trip & the first thing I'm doing is writing it's review.We had booked it before reading it's reviews on trip advisor.After seeing it's high ranking & good reviews we were very happy that we had made the right choice.

When we reached Dambolim Airport,there was a confused man waiting for us with a placard in his hand.He made us walk to the bus from where our journey started.Service was not personalised as there were many other passengers alongwith us.The bus was old,dirty,rustic & seats were uncomfortable.A very bad first impression!

It took one & half hours to reach the resort.We were not welcomed.The reception staff was very busy & confused with so many guests.They took half an hour to provide us room.Second bad impression!

Some part of the resort was under renovation.The room we were offered was a 2-bedded room.I was shocked as the management knew beforehand that I was with my wife and little baby.How could they provide us a room which didn't have a double bed? Moreover,it had an awful smell.I immediately complained to the reception staff & I got the reply that they couldn't do anything as the resort was full.They asked us to manage for one day & they'll change it next day.How we slept in that room that day, only we know.Third bad impression!

Good things started from next day.We were upgraded to a superior room in the new block at no extra cost.This room was like a dream room-modern,well equipped & clean.Aircon was first class.Now we were satisfied.

Sight-seeing tour was excellent alongwith a romantic ride on "PARADISE"cruise.
All 3 meals were delicious.We ate outside also namely at'Fisherman's Cove','Ruffles',etc.& they all were just great.

We found some staff rude & some highly well behaved,polite & respectful with nice smiles.Room service was okay.Pool is very clean & well maintained.We enjoyed a lot in the pool.The resort also offers spa & jacuzzi.The resort has entertainment every evening but very basic.We highly recommend "TITO'S CLUB" for night entertainment.

Beach is really 3 minute walk but is very boring.We found Calungate & Baga beaches more lively & entertaining.Also went to Mapusa market,huge bargains there..fun!We shopped,drank fenny & did trips for the next three days.

Goa is absolutely fantastic!

On our returning day,resort this time provided a nice luxury coach with comfortable seats & took only 45 minutes this time to drop us to the airport.

In short our stay started real bad but got better day by day.

Will we return to this resort-probably No cause there are so many other to try & besides this time we'll head towards south Goa.

Liked-Upgraded room,pool & food
Disliked-Airport transfer,reception/check-in staff & the room on first day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreenGrenade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

My overall experience was good. Hotel provides with a comfortable stay and great Indian and Goa cuisine (though the choice was only different variant of fish). Beach is just two minutes walk; however, the view of the beach is blocked due to a huge oil carrier ship “River Queen” which I understand got stuck at Candolim for about last eight years. Though the ship has eroded the beach, but if one move away from the ship towards Calangute beach the view of the sea is grandeur. Beach is clean and one can have a tranquil walk or can enjoy the waves. There are lifeguards to protect you. Hotel accommodation was good. Evening entertainment could have been better. Taxis are readily available and one can have easy access to other beaches of Goa. I can consider re-visiting the resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manishtully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed towards the end of the season 4th – 18th April 2009. Overall a great holiday. Staff could not have been more helpful. They would try to accommodate most requests. Food was excellent, both in choice and quality. If our son (age 12) wanted Korma curry and chips (his favourite), no problem. We all had fantastic steaks on the last night at no extra charge. Hotel is fairly central to shops, restaurants and beach. You have to run the gauntlet of sellers to get to the beach, but they are pleasantly persuasive. Once at the beach, we frequented Ganesh’s shack mainly. He couldn’t do enough for us.
Hotel was clean and we got a room we had specified (overlooking pool). It was one in the older block, but was more than adequate. We did look at the upgraded rooms, but they were smaller than ours and had exactly the same amenities, albeit a bit newer.
Found the safety deposit box system where all the boxes are in a locked room by reception a pain. Much better if they were in own room. Because of this, we had a wedding ring stolen which we had inadvertently left out – the one bad experience of the holiday. Possibly stolen by the relief room boy, but no proof.
Weren’t as many children in the resort as we expected for the UK Easter holidays, but may be different at other times of the year. Children’s entertainment could have been better and the hotel was missing its table tennis table. Evening entertainment was OK, but if I saw another fire eater, I was tempted to extinguish the flame somewhere where the sun didn’t shine! Absolutely no problem with mosquitoes whilst we were there, possibly something to do with the meths fumes from the fire eaters!!
Pool was OK. It was “hoovered” daily and rechlorined every night but did wonder if the water was the cause of repeated tummy upsets.
Bar service was very good but diet soft drinks not included in the all inclusive package. Tip: Hollow ice cubes soon melts in your drinks, so always order a glass of ice to keep it topped up. Or drink quicker!!
Sorry if some of this report actually sounds quite negative for the high grade we’ve given it; it’s not meant to be. It was a really nice place and a great holiday overall – we would recommend it to anyone asking.
Would we return? – yes, but probably when son has flown the nest.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana_Scaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 64 in Candolim
1,524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
1,669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 64 in Candolim
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Beach Resort

Property: Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Address: Sinquerim Beach | Goa, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#4 Family Hotel in Candolim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Palms Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms’ unique feature is its location. It is just a minute’s walk or 175 meters from the well-known Sinquerim Beach situated in a very peaceful and serene surrounding. This often-described “Island onto itself” all-inclusive resort comprises of 106 well-appointed, air-conditioned accommodation units with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Beach Hotel Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Candolim
Whispering Palms Goa
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing