We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positives far outweigh negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Positives far outweigh negatives”
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stayed towards the end of the season 4th – 18th April 2009. Overall a great holiday. Staff could not have been more helpful. They would try to accommodate most requests. Food was excellent, both in choice and quality. If our son (age 12) wanted Korma curry and chips (his favourite), no problem. We all had fantastic steaks on the last night at no extra charge. Hotel is fairly central to shops, restaurants and beach. You have to run the gauntlet of sellers to get to the beach, but they are pleasantly persuasive. Once at the beach, we frequented Ganesh’s shack mainly. He couldn’t do enough for us.
Hotel was clean and we got a room we had specified (overlooking pool). It was one in the older block, but was more than adequate. We did look at the upgraded rooms, but they were smaller than ours and had exactly the same amenities, albeit a bit newer.
Found the safety deposit box system where all the boxes are in a locked room by reception a pain. Much better if they were in own room. Because of this, we had a wedding ring stolen which we had inadvertently left out – the one bad experience of the holiday. Possibly stolen by the relief room boy, but no proof.
Weren’t as many children in the resort as we expected for the UK Easter holidays, but may be different at other times of the year. Children’s entertainment could have been better and the hotel was missing its table tennis table. Evening entertainment was OK, but if I saw another fire eater, I was tempted to extinguish the flame somewhere where the sun didn’t shine! Absolutely no problem with mosquitoes whilst we were there, possibly something to do with the meths fumes from the fire eaters!!
Pool was OK. It was “hoovered” daily and rechlorined every night but did wonder if the water was the cause of repeated tummy upsets.
Bar service was very good but diet soft drinks not included in the all inclusive package. Tip: Hollow ice cubes soon melts in your drinks, so always order a glass of ice to keep it topped up. Or drink quicker!!
Sorry if some of this report actually sounds quite negative for the high grade we’ve given it; it’s not meant to be. It was a really nice place and a great holiday overall – we would recommend it to anyone asking.
Would we return? – yes, but probably when son has flown the nest.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anascaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    686
    201
    52
    32
See reviews for
648
666
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Had booked a 8k worth 2 nights 3 days package in Oct'07. Got a pick up from Thivim station but had a hard time following up with the hotel for the same. Moreover, had to wait for an hour for other passengers to arrive (service not personalised), that too at 2pm, when we were dying of hunger, not a pleasant first impression. Miss Anjali welcomed us very pleasantly and offered us rooms promptly.The room was excellent. Although at arrival we were offered lunch but since it was around 3.30pm, so preferred to have a sandwich. The best part is the hotel's proximity to a neat and quiet beach (Candolim). A wrecked ship on its shores gave it a filmy look. The package included a half day sight-seeing which was well managed by our tour guide (a big bus arranged for all the guests to go together). Since peak season had just started, the resort was too crowded(no place on the dance floor during the DJ night, anyways the music was not that gr8)but the service was very prompt and the food was fantastic. Hats off to the cook/s !!! On the last day, we had hired a scooty to go around which the hotel arranged for us. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pretypooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Within Muniutes of walk from Candolim beach this resort is an ideal place for young couples to start their lives. Each cottage is well refurbished, adequately ventilated and clean. The room services is prompt and good. Buffet breakfast was lavish. The front desk was welcoming and helpful in arranging city Tours. Overall an excellent destinations for honeymooners and family outings.

  • Liked — Location close to Beach
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Babbu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed in this hotel in March 2009. Got a good room rate and that too with an upgraded luxury room for a package of 4 days and 5 nights. Maybe it was because of economic recession and the fact that I had stayed mostly during week days.
Hotel’s biggest attraction for me is its proximity to secluded and less crowded Sinquerim beach (around 200 mtrs from the hotel). Beach has the view of a sinking ship and has typical goan style shacks lined up.
Pool is clean and maintained well though small for high occupancy rate of the hotel. Food & beverages were good and so was room service.
Other occupants seemed to be ‘cheap holidayers’ mostly from Britain & Russia. That I consider as the only drawback because service providers in Goa tend to ignore Indian tourists when 'other' types are more.
They have their own transportation arrangements for pick up and drop and sight seeing.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to those who want to be away from maddening crowds to enjoy a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We ( group of friends) were here for a four day break. We had taken the complete package which inculdes all three meals and drinks as well :). Pay once and just forget about everything else.
The stay was enjoyable. There are different bands which are arranged which adds color to the evenings. Food is good enough. The rooms are also spacious and comfortable. The location is close by to kalangut and a lot of places where you could go around for a typical goa vacation.
I am sure people who go to goa, do keep going and you can definitely consider staying over here for once.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chezian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

it really a great place... the food is good and the rooms and facilities were good.... Swimming pool, recreation, etc.... two minutes walk to the beach.... the best part is the ambience and gives a great feel of GOA and also keeps you away from the crowd...

  • Liked — ambience
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinu_mathew30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

This hotel is a real bargain. We had a lovely room with our own private garden area. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a central location and a good base for people who want toexplore Goa. We did not have one bad meal, the food is amazing and the best that we had in Goa.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniexmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#10 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Beach Resort

Property: Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Address: Sinquerim Beach | Goa, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#4 Family Hotel in Candolim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Palms Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms’ unique feature is its location. It is just a minute’s walk or 175 meters from the well-known Sinquerim Beach situated in a very peaceful and serene surrounding. This often-described “Island onto itself” all-inclusive resort comprises of 106 well-appointed, air-conditioned accommodation units with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whispering Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Beach Hotel Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Candolim
Whispering Palms Goa
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing