We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel With Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel With Excellent Staff”
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We have just returned from a 2week stay at the Whispering Palms and overall had a really lovely holiday.
Initially on our arrival the room we were 1st allocated was definitely below standard. It was very small, with dark furniture, old bedding and tatty curtains. The bathroom was even worse, very outdated and tired and a mouldy shower curtain. We complained to our holiday rep and the Hotel manager and was upgraded...............what a difference!!! A gorgeous big, airy room. Located in a block at the back of the hotel, very quiet and cool due to the shade from all the trees. The room was very modern and bright, lovely big bathroom, tiled floor, big television and lovely balcony with table and chairs.............would not stay at this hotel without an upgrade in the future. Definitely worth the extra cost as I believe our holiday would have been totally different if we had to remain in the 1st room we were allocated. We were initially told by our holiday rep that "This is India and the hotel rooms are more basic", I consider myself well travelled and I believe the 1st room offered was below standard to other countries I have visited.
The staff are brilliant, and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is clean and the food is lovely, always hot and well presented. I didnt know of anyone becoming ill and we certainly ate everything and didnt have any trouble.
The hotel is brilliantly located for the main stretch of shops/bars/restaurants/beaches.
Would definitely recommend this hotel as long as you upgrade!!!

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — Some rooms in desperate need of updating
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dollydreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    692
    201
    52
    32
See reviews for
661
667
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Actually it was our college Industrial trip to goa. And our travel agent was Explorers from mumbai. They only arranged every thing for us. When we reached hotel...there was a bus booked for us. And when we went ho hotel..our welcome was superb! Not just the welcome but every araangement was superb. And the plus point of that hotel was there was a beach at back of the hotel. Place where it was located was too good. Food served by then had varities and quality was also good.Every night DJ was arranged to entertain us. It was my most special days spent there. Room service was also fantastic. In whole i can say that it was a complete package. Thanks to Explorers who arranged this in a ordely manner. And thanks to WHISPERING PALMS.

  • Liked — Everthing was superb...
  • Disliked — nothing was least...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank User2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Room at The Whispering Palms Beach Resort was a big dampener & literally too. We were there in Sept, & due to the preceeding monsoons, the room walls had big damp patches & a musty smell, I would declare unfit for human accomodation.
The checking in at the reception was chaotic as the place was buzzing with students on a school trip. We asked to change rooms cos of the awful smell & had to sniff out each room to approve! The balconies were sealed with plastic sheets for waterproofing, preventing any fresh air.The bathrooms had an old, dirty shower curtain which was much too short & narrow to serve any purpose.
The only plus side, being a great breakfast, including dishes from north & south India.

  • Liked — The restaurant- breakfast
  • Disliked — the rooms were smelly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JeanDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

First Things first. This is a budget hotel ,so dont expect much and trust us you will be pleasently surprised.
We booked directly and were well received at the airport. Within an hour of landing we were in our rooms. We had booked in new wings , so rooms were spacious and clean. Other than that the rooms are very basic with good a/c and a ceiling fan and a mini bar.

The food choice is limited and we advice others to go in for b+b option as there are lots & lots of good places to eat nearby.

The staff was courteous and pool is well maintained. Breakfast was good though with limited choices. Keep your valuables in safe at the reception. The hotel is well located with market nearby where you can get everything from chemist to tailor to coffee shops.

the best days to be in Goa are fridays & Saturdays .Specially sat nites are amazing. Incase you are looking for something loud music & dance do visit Mambos. Its 6 Kms from the hotel(on Baga Beach) and on saturday the party starts after 12am.It is one of the best nightclubs in India and the chicks are tooo hot.

But if you are looking for something more relaxing and calm then St.Anthony Shack on Baga Beach is must.They have Karaoke Nites on weekends and its amazing.The food is good ,crowd fantastic and the music is simply gr8.So if u r in Goa on weekend dnt miss out on St.Anthony Beach Shack.We were there on all 3 nites.On MOnday a live band performs there.We enjoyed our drinks there all the while the guests were exercising there vocal chords on anything from Bryan Adams to John Denver to Buddy Holly to Metallica.

Hire a scooter or bike which is available just outside hotel gates for as low as Rs.200 per day.Taxi costs a bomb,so pls avoid it.Hire a bike,gas is readily available on roadside auto reparing shops and drive your way onto Goa's heart.Anyway we were tired of driving car ,so a bike ws a refreshing change.

For food there are lots of choices.Incase you are looking for some good spicy North Indian/Mughali food, we recommend hotel called Indian Spice on Baga Road.The food is lip smacking.Also there are lots of other options incase ytou are looking at Chinese ot continental fare.

We tried our hand at water scooter and para-sailing at Calngute Beach(5 kms from Hotel) and it is good.Bargain with these guys and you may end up getting 50%discount on these water sports.

All in all it ws a memorable stay in Goa and we cant wait to get back in Feb/March.

Dnt think too much just book ur stay & Tickets...go for it now ....

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramesh_chugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My partner and i stayed at the Whispering palms in December 05, we had a really excellent time.
You have to remeber you are in a third world country so do not expect luxury, the staff could not do more for you if they tried and although the rooms are a little basic they are very clean.
We used the all inclusive facilities during the day but ate out at a different restaurant every night, meals ranged from £6 to £12 and that's for two people incuding drinks and believe me we did DRINK!!
The jungle book tour is a must !! it was the best experience either of us have ever had, even the night we spent in a cow dung hut!!
We made lots of local friends and became very fond of a young lad on the beach who sold fruit, he charged 50 rupees for his bannana's weather you bought one or five!! good salesman will go a long way.
The beach sellers are very friendly and so long as you are firm they will leave you in peace.
At night we would wander or stagger back to the hotel for a night cap, to be greeted by Deven who would poor us two large (and i mean large) Honey bee brandy's
We really fell in love with the Whispering palms and the staff , in fact we loved it so much we are going back in Febuary 2010 for a 4 week honeymoon.

  • Liked — cleaned every day
  • Disliked — dated
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevsueerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERLOOVILLE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I was in a party of six the oldest being 80 while we were their. we spent xmas and new year and all had a great time ,all the staff worked so hard in making our holiday one of the best
the scenery was changed every day xmas day -boxing day and new yeay gala dinners was brilliant ,the management and all the staff could not do enough for you ,the breakfast shef was great eggs came fresh any way you wanted, the standard of all the food was excelent It was our first time at whispering palms and would go again, the music stops at 2300hrs unless its a special night so you get apeacefull night yours truly EWU

  • Liked — FOOD AND STAFF
  • Disliked — THE ROOM WAS A BIT TIRED
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TENMINTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Limited facilities at hotel. Rooms very poor (2**) unless you are firm and insist on their newer better rooms (3**). No hot water while we were there. Meals very limited menus. Beach is polluted by the rusting shipwreck. Even the slightest breeze kicks up a frothy seaspray which covers you in smelly greasy oil even if you dont go into the filthy sea.

Stay away if you have a family.

  • Disliked — Location of hotel and poor quality of rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gsc130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 64 in Candolim
1,524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
1,669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 64 in Candolim
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Beach Resort

Property: Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Address: Sinquerim Beach | Goa, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#4 Family Hotel in Candolim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Palms Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms’ unique feature is its location. It is just a minute’s walk or 175 meters from the well-known Sinquerim Beach situated in a very peaceful and serene surrounding. This often-described “Island onto itself” all-inclusive resort comprises of 106 well-appointed, air-conditioned accommodation units with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Beach Hotel Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Candolim
Whispering Palms Goa
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing