We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new look, pity about the management.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We last stayed at the whispering palms seven years ago. Since then, it has undergone and indeed is still undergoing a refurbishment. This has resulted in certain facilities that are still being advertised being removed. There is no Jacuzzi, coffee shop, beauty salon, cycle hire, beach activities, the list goes on. Whilst we were there, there was no pool bar, Al la Carte Indian Restaurant or Spa. All were still under construction. Apart from one day, there was no day time activities. On that one day we were offered the opportunity of “ hunting the marble” in the pool. We were so overcome with excitement until we were told that the “management had lost the marble”. You could not make that up.
The rooms have been upgraded to a reasonable standard with built in flat screen TV's, electronic safe and plenty of power outlets (2 pin). We stayed at this hotel from 9th November. As it turned out, this was a BIG MISTAKE. Unknown to us, we had chosen to stay at the same time as the local people celebrated Diwali. This resulted in the hotel being absolutely full of local families. Why does this matter you may ask? There are 106 rooms at this hotel with around 110 seats in the restaurant. There were we were told, some 192 guests in the hotel, do the maths yourself. The management did nothing to plan for this sort of occupancy. No extra tables, even though space is available, no extra staff, resulting in filthy tables being left unclean. Supervisory staff instead of doing some work, simply stood around looking less than ornamental, directing overworked waiters to carry out non important tasks which resulted in more chaos. The pool had during our first week, just 39 sun loungers around it so they were at a premium. During our second week, more brand new sun loungers arrived. However, the hotel manager is so inept, he instructed his staff to remove the old loungers and scatter them around the grassy areas outside the accommodation blocks. This resulted in not 39 loungers around the pool but only 37. There were only 7 parasols to go around. Not a problem if you don't mind baking in the sun, but a big one if you don't. Should you wish to use the loungers outside the blocks, you do not have waiter services for drinks etc. Again, this manger seems incapable of realising that he needs more than one waiter if he is to provide the service that guests expect. In the evening there were only 2 waiters providing outside bar service. They worked extremely hard but were unable to keep up with demand. Again, supervisors just stood and watched. Room service was also over stretched. On one occasion, our room was not cleaned nor the bed made at all. On most days, the room was not cleaned until very late in the afternoon which meant if you wanted to return to your room before 5.00pm you could expect to be disturbed by the cleaner. Again, not enough staff.
The food was very repetitive with hardly any European options. If you do not enjoy spicy food, you will eat out regularly as did many guests. I would recommend the Mermaid restaurant 30 yards from the hotel gate and the Horizon grill at the top of the street. Both offer good food at cheap prices. Expect to pay around £8 to £10 per person for a three course meal including drinks. One final point, if you are travelling as a threesome, avoid this hotel like the plague. Tour operators advertise this hotel as having rooms with beds for three. Two sets of fellow travellers (threesomes) found that the third bed was in fact either a sofa as in one case or a camp bed as in the other case. As usual, there was absolutely no assistance for them from the hotel management. The Cosmos rep was as much use as a chocolate teapot in solving their problems. In fact he was so useless, he did not even realise that there was not even a Cosmos notice board until we pointed this out to him.
In short, when the hotel is finished its upgrade it might be passable providing the owners employ a much more hands on manager who does not spend all day in his underground bunker, sorry, administration centre and instead talks to his guests. If you wish to travel to this hotel in November, check on the date of Diwali and avoid that week.
Verdict, Rooms comfortable for couples, staff, brilliant, management, abysmal.
Will we be returning to the Whispering Palms, NO WAY!

Room Tip: No point in asking for any particular room. We requested a ground floor room due to my arthritis and...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete&Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,841)
There are newer reviews for Whispering Palms Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 1,841 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

well this my first time i stayed with whispering palms but i am truly satisfied with my decision. it was fun and enjoyable staying there. Room was very comfortable with impeccable room service, high standard of cleanliness and hygiene. the best part of our room was that it was pool facing so we could enjoy all the programs from our balcony and at the same time have some privacy. The evening events organised by resorts are good and enjoyable. food was good but sometime was bland offers good options for non vegetarians but limited menu for vegetarians. all in all it was one of the most comfortable resort i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishalnanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel was at the tail end of a massive renovation,some of the old regulars moaned about the changes,I liked the hotel, it was in a great location for the beach and the main drag. We asked to change our room and the 2nd room was great for us, the only problem was that where we were in the main building we had families with young kids around us which is not a problem apart from the fact that they would leave their rooms open and shout at each other and the kids running around slamming doors at 7:00 in the morning, our maid was so lovely and so happy and the room was cleaned to a very high standard. The pool area was a problem with not enough sunbeds and even less umbrellas, this might be due to the hotel upgrading all their outside furniture. The pool itself was not very big but I still liked it and enjoyed many a swim.the food was of a high standard and plenty of variety, from breakfast to lunch and dinner. Again all the staff very helpful and attentive, we enjoyed the entertainment some of which was very cheesy but good fun. We were AI. However ate out quite a few nights as very cheap to eat out, our best meal was at Victors Shack, the staff on reception were very professional and smiley. The Wi Fi was not working for the first few days but they sorted it out and it was great having free Wi Fi.
The beach was a problem as the government has declared that each shack can only have5 beds each, the shack owners would put out about 10 then an hour later would have to hide 5 very quickly due to the patrols. When I visit Goa again I will give the Candolim beach a miss and get a taxi and go further, We did 3 trips which we did ourselves by booking a taxi which stayed with us for the duration,

Room Tip: Rooms 100 to 112 are in the reception block and although some of these have lovely views they are no...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyceSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at whispering palms for 4 nights from 22 nov 2012. Though the name of the resort is wp beach resort, the fact is that the property is not a beach resort. However it is located at walking distance from candolim & senquerin beaches of north goa. Room interiors, maintenance, house keeping part was really comendable. Breakfast & dinner include varities of continental & indian veg & non veg dishes. However i feel that more veg dishes should be added in starters & main course. We were accompanied by a jain couple who does not eat onion, garlic, potato etc. The restaurant served them some dishes accordingly but they were not fully satisfied with the food part. Desserts were really delicious. Resort doesnt hv hot water jacuzzi & spa. The best part of the stay was daily evening live entertainment which was really entertaining. Overall i would rate the resort very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishalpatidar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

No hotel is perfect :-) . some of the reviews mentioned on here did help some didn't. we arrived 26 hours late due to engine problems with the flight not the hotels problem, first problem was the rooms were not fully ready. booking was for 9 people, 3 rooms with 2 sharing and 1 room for 3. there were only enough beds for 2 in each room, if you want twin rooms and not doubles ring a couple of days before to check as the rooms are NOT allocated until then (even if you book months ahead). it was not too much of a problem but after such a long delay it was one that we could have done without. If you want to know something don't bother with the rep it will take too long to happen or could this be because we booked trips from elsewhere and not through him, we all chose johns boat trips – turn left on to the little track and then left on the main road, it’s on the right a short walk up the (busy) road. The elephant, waterfalls and crocodile trips were very good value. The rooms are kept clean, basic with no frills, if you want more then go and pay a good sight more money, remember for us at least, it’s the flights that take up most the cost. Safes are supplied which you CAN use your own code, #before 4 digit #after. Beds have very firm mattresses and if that doesn’t keep you awake the crows will. Staying elsewhere won’t solve that one. Whilst we were there, there was a little construction but if we hadn’t been told we wouldn’t had realised. Staff came around and gave us a warning that it was about to happen and how long it would last (1 hour). Those of you that are going soon will have a better AC, though we didn’t find the one they had too bad, a little noisy but then most are. The food is not good if you want to keep your waist line trim, you will be going back for another look and coming back with more and then a pud to follow. Inside there is the buffet to help yourself to, a great variation, it’s been commented on here that it could be too continental for some. Try all the curries, you may be converted if you’re not keen now. There are two chefs that cook fresh for you outside, anything from omelet’s and fried eggs in the morning to stir fries and dishes that I wouldn’t know what there are called but taste delish in the evenings. The pool is small when they put the net up for volley ball. The Jacuzzi in the picture on this site was not there when we went this November (2012). In its place there are some sun beds. I would book here again
Our experience, go to Goa and experience as much as you can and enjoy it, just expect it in Goan style, nothing is rushed, a minute can take a little while longer than you would expect. Tips are expected for everything, change is hard to come by. When exchanging money ask for it in small notes, you’ll be able to haggle a little better, most stalls/shacks don’t have change, or so they say.
If you want tailored clothes I personally recommend you try Armani on the main road. I only went in for one dress for my daughter’s wedding and I came home with 3 silk dresses and I can’t decide which one I will actually wear on the day. I had several fittings and it was no trouble at all. Choose a style before you go and take pictures from magazines etc or a dress/shirt/suit you like wearing and they will re-create it in the finest materials you will ever find
Power cuts only last a couple of minutes, it wouldn’t be Goa without them.
Passport control - take an extra hand held fan when you go in, you will make friends if you let them have one when they ask for it. Worst experience is departure at the airport, getting out is a nightmare. You do have to pay if you are over your weight allowance. If you have a device that you can take with you then do so but if it weighs 15kilos then add another 2 on. To make sure you are under have a large hand luggage bag with little in it to carry so you can swop stuff over. If you do swop things over you will have to go through the scanning bit yet again. You have been warned.

Room Tip: so many tips but the best is go and enjoy the experience of Goa for yourself
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed Whispering Palms 8th to 23rd nov Checked the brochures saw the professional photos and read the reviews i think i went to the wrong hotel.Got are modern medium sized room with its tiny wardrobe.Had breakfast and went to check out the facilities. No whirlpool now tiled over.looked for the pool bar now a mini garden .Looked for the garden full of sunbeds now a two storie building in it was a bar but not open while i was there.There is now a full length walkway along the side of the pool that had numerous sunbeds before.We went to get our sunbeds there were 10 due to numerous complaints it was increased to over 30.Iwent to find the spa none there.I looked for the a la carte it wasn,t built.I looked for thesports bar not there.I think we went at the wrong time it was the indian christmas for two or three nights nowhere to sit or eat the hotel was full.The food was very bland 90 per cent curry but it is india we mostly ate out.A waste going A/I cheap to eat out.Some of the staff were great a lot like new starters.When leaving we asked to pay for a room extension not possible hotel full use the one toilet we were told due to many people complaining they gave us one.On are last day new sunbeds arrived pluss a load of tables and chairs and guess what the a-la-carte was finished.It can only get better.I was told one of the top men had left with a lot of his staff but maybe coming back not like me.Met some great people love to Hilary and Tony and the mad snipper Paul and Hilary.

Room Tip: Our room was very clean but looking on the road a bit noisy.I dont think theres any with scenic view...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilfsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked this hotel because the rooms shown looked large enough for three adults to stay in comfortably.When we arrived we were shown to a double room, we pointed out that there was no bed for our daughter.We were then shown to another room were they had put a fold up bed with a dirty mattress and stained sheets, no top cover and no pillow.To cut a long story short, the start of our holiday was a. nightmare, It was 24 hours and an extra £300.00 cost to us before. we were able to unpack and start enjoying our holiday. Food was ok but nothing special, service was slow but this was because there wasn't enough staff.Although we were A/I we ate out most nights.The deputy manager, who had only worked ther a few weeks was really helpfull and did everything he could for us, but it seemed to us that the hotel was more interested in making money than their guests having a good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms ok for adults with small children.Don't book for more than 2 adults in 1 room, trick phot...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,573 reviews
3.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Beach Resort

Address: Sinquerim Beach | Goa, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#4 Family Hotel in Candolim
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $99 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Palms Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms’ unique feature is its location. It is just a minute’s walk or 175 meters from the well-known Sinquerim Beach situated in a very peaceful and serene surrounding. This often-described “Island onto itself” all-inclusive resort comprises of 106 well-appointed, air-conditioned accommodation units with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whispering Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Beach Hotel Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Candolim
Whispering Palms Goa
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing