We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star property with 4 star service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you are expecting a 5 star property, you will be disappointed. It could qualify as a 4 star hotel, but as a resort it is strictly 3 stars! There is a nice, but small swimming pool, a spa, a pool side restaurant, bar etc.

Service is what I was impressed. I was picked up at the airport, given some water bottles and wet towels, transferred in a Toyota Innova and was courteously received at the hotel by a two member band playing Goan Tunes. The front office was ever willing to help.

The room was nice, perfect sized for the base category with a small balcony overlooking the pool. Bathroom amenities were minimal, but for the price it was no reason to complain.

The hotel is NOT on the beach, no matter what the website depicts. There is a shortcut from the swimming pool that lead to the road that leads to the beach. But the beach is a very short walk (about 100m) from the hotel and though not outstanding, it is a nice beach. There are a few beach shacks there and some water sports, though I would rather rent a bike or a car and hit Baga beach for water sports - both the variety and prices are definitely favorable, though you will one among the pack there!

Food at the hotel is good, again, not outstanding, but definitely justifies the three stars. The breakfast buffet was sufficient, while most dishes remain the same daily, the potato preparation changes everyday, there is a nice live omelette counter and you have a choice of pancakes or french toasts on the conti side and a choice of dosa or idly or uthapam for indian breakfast. THe usual cereals, milk, breads, butter, fruits, baked beans are all there! We had dinner one night at the hotel and we enjoyed it. Prawns pery pery was out of the menu but made without any fuss, while the goan fish curry with rice was satisfying. Everynight there was some activity, with either a DJ or karaoke of some form by the pool side.

There is a friendly shop outside the hotel, who will arrange for a bike or car or alcohol or travel exchange for you! Even the hotel gets you cabs from there, but beware, cabs for short distances are very expensive. To put it in perspective, a trip to South Goa Dudhsagar Waterfalls, Spice Plantation and a couple of churches and back will cost about Rs 2200, but a short trip to the Calangute Beach, which is 4 km away will cost you 150 bucks!

Overall, it is a nice hotel to come back to after a day out in the waterfall or beach or shopping! Service was very friendly and for that I will rate this place 4/5. But I went in October, so if you go completely off season, somethings might not be functional.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are nice and the base rooms, but base rooms facing the road is not very pictur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChennaiFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,605 - 1,611 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and taken a gamble to book this resort. Overall we had a pleasant stay at the resort though at the first instance me and my wife were dissappointed looking at the room. We had booked a Studio suite which was misleading for the name. It weas pretty spacious enough but not a typical four star hotel room. The ambience of the resort was nice and best part was it was just two minutes walk from the beach and for this I don't mind going back to the resort. We had the complimentary breakfast on all days and it was ok. I would not rate the food as great beacuse they were serving cold food and the service was a bit slow. Overall the service of this resort was very slow. But the reception staff was very helpful and very pleasant to talk too. They made our stay a bit more comfortable. The swimming pool was also well maintained and pretty nice. It was my pre-b'day bash and I had lots of fun with my wife. If you are looking to stay close to the beach, it is a good place to stay, just ensure you choose the balcony or the terrace rooms as they are cheaper copared to the Studio we had booked - Manish Lalchandani

Room Tip: Go for the terrace or balcony rooms as you get the same facilities at a lesser price compared to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manish3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel (our 5th in Candolim) in Feb 2011. Its all inclusive, but has a small hotel feel, unusual for ai. The pool area is nice, albeit a little crowded. But its lovely to have a cooling dring almost at the click of your fingers - yes the staff are excellent and very attentive. The food is lovely and could eat there each day, but we preferred to mix this with eating out as its so cheap to eat out in Goa. Location is excellent - just a short walk down to the beach. All in all, this hotel is worth visiting - we would return in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichinLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort is value for money, everything is well organized. It is in the vicinity of all the tourist places and beaches. Every offerings of the resort is awesome. Food, breakfast and cocktails are really good. Service is very prompt. Staffs are very co-operative.
- Rakesh kumar

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captainoffate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had planned a stay in the hotel for a week starting 1st of October. We visit Goa almost every year and are quite familiar with the places, Candolim being our favorite destination for food and stay. We picked this hotel for the location and after reading some decent looking reviews. We made the bookings over the phone and spoke to the sales lady about the facilities. Since we knew that during the off season specially the month of August and September a lot of hotels get renovated, I asked her specifically many times if the pool and other facilities would be available. She told me beside the Jacuzzi all the facilities were available. I made the bookings with the booking amount wire transferred. We reached the hotel around 9.30 in the morning, we knew we were early but were willing to wait till the check in time. Upon arrival we could see people coming out of the hotel in their swim wear and headed out of the hotel gate. We just wondered what was happening. Upon arrival we saw that the reception had been set up in a small room and hotel was under big time renovation. We asked them again if all the facilities were available and they told us that they have arranged for a swimming pool in a near by hotel. We took a chance to see where that other pool was and we were taken there in a car. Just imagine the hotel expects you to change into your swim wear, get to the road, hop on into a car and go to a nearby hotel for a swim. We didn't waste much time to ask for a refund of our money cause the holiday mood was already spoilt. We could see the hotel under big time renovation with one side of the hotel broken down and rebuilt, we could imagine the kind of stay and food they would have offered. Upon insisting and after making several call we managed to get the refund for booking amount.
Since we knew Goa and specially Candolim we managed to find another Hotel. But I pity someone who is new to Goa and had to go through such an experience. Just want to caution other travelers to be ready in such situations where the hotel cheats you and expects you to do with one start facilities after selling a four star price. We are not going to choose this place doesn't matter what time of the year we travel.

PS : Goa is a wonderful place and we have been to some great hotel with great staff. Wish other travelers a great experience too.

Room Tip: Do you research before you book. Make sure you ask for the facilities available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaurabhPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Whispering Palms beach resort for five nights in mid Oct‘12. We have visited Goa many times before & this time we chose to stay at Whispering Palms. When we were planning our holiday we were little skeptical about the ongoing renovation of the resort as some of the reviews mentioned about it. But when we reached there, we were happy to find everything in place and the resort looked beautiful. All the rooms are newly renovated and we got one with a pool side view which was luxurious, spacious, modern and well organized. The resort has a nice swimming pool & a restaurant facing the pool where there was an entertainment night every day. The staff was very friendly and cooperative and they were ready for help all the time with a warm smile. The food was tasty and the housekeeping and room service was good. The resort has an excellent location and there is a beautiful beach few meters away. There are also fabulous places around the resort to hang out for shopping, delicious food and party. We have enjoyed every single moment of our trip to Goa and we would like to thank everyone at Whispering Palms for their amazing hospitality. We are back after a great Goa experience and will surely visit this resort again for our next holiday in Goa.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GSSethi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Booked flight+ two nights through makemytrip.com. It was a disappointing trip for our family. The hotel was undergoing renovation. Most of the facilities were not available like swimming pool, spa, gym, children play area. Food was mediocre. Firstly on our arrival they were denying us food coupons even though we paid in advance to makemytrip for the same. Room was not up to the mark of a 4 star hotel which they claim it to be. Waste of money as they portray themselves to be a beach resort and having a beach property which is totally untrue. Hot water in washroom is a major issue..its only available for few hrs during morning and evening...they ruined our holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank soma_dutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJ_WP, General Manager at Whispering Palms Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Ms. Dutta,

Greetings!!

Firstly let me sincerely apologies for the delay in response and for the various inconveniences caused during your stay, yes we did undergo a renovation of our public areas, we are done with it, and it looks really beautiful.

Whispering Palms is existence for over 20 years now, we value every comment, criticism, and suggestion made to us, we certainly shall ensure that we maintain our service standards and sincerely apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Let me personally invite you to be our guest whenever you wish to come ( excepting the new year period ) at our expense, my team here will ensure that you have an excellent stay this time,

My coordinates are on our resort website. Look forward to hear from you.

Sincere Apologies once again.


Warm Regards

Jacob John and the Team at Whispering Palms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 69 in Candolim
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 69 in Candolim
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 69 in Candolim
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Beach Resort

Address: Sinquerim Beach | Goa, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Candolim
#3 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $91 - $948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Palms Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms’ unique feature is its location. It is just a minute’s walk or 175 meters from the well-known Sinquerim Beach situated in a very peaceful and serene surrounding. This often-described “Island onto itself” all-inclusive resort comprises of 106 well-appointed, air-conditioned accommodation units with en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whispering Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Beach Hotel Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Candolim
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Candolim
Whispering Palms Goa
Whispering Palms Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing