We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alor Grande Holiday Resort
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here on many occasions ( I have reviewed before) returned home yesterday.
This year we had a great room (not pool facing) the room was clean and fresh, we had brand new mattresses, towels and linen. The room was cleaned every day, towels changed daily sheets every other day.
Alor is a great hotel for the price you pay. The staff are great and very helpful, we had a problem with the shower ( no hot water) it was sorted with in an hour.
Ignore the bad reviews ........ There are some serious bad hotels out there this isn't one of them!!!!!!


Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DuchessofKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 326 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

seen some poor reviews of of this place and i think there a bit unjust its a budget hotel and as such it offers great value for money the staff are excellent its in a great location the rooms are big and airy cleaned everyday and for me i would stay here again without hesatation the only slight moan is the breakfast buffet is poor but for a small charge you can order what ever you like so not really an issue in my mind.
if your looking for clean budget accomadation then i would definately give the alor a look at.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are the ones to ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianmac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I with my wife Uma stayed in this resort from 23 Jan to 29 Jan 2014. The biggest plus point of this resort is the very cooperative and pleasing staff. They are always ready to serve with a smile and do whatever is possible for them. It's close to beach and also located in market. I big mall is just outside.
The building is not so great. It is old and outdated. At least does not match with any good hotel. The food is just good. The rooms are big, good and airy. There is nothing in the gym. booklet.
Now something very negative. I read it before from many customers and found it correct. It is an unwritten rule here that foreign guests (customers) are always given upper hand added advantage over Indians. For breakfast, the Indians, they call it package tour customers are taken into a separate small room upstairs and get already cooked food. No pantry. While foreign guests enjoy fresh and hot cooked food items right there in the open space near swimming pool. I can't understand this discrimination. When dinner is together. The swimming pool itself is always occupied by forigners. They don't even follow swimming code. It looks very odd and insulting at least to me. For the same reason I would hesitate to come here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are best but little noisy. For peacing loving customers the other rooms are good b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uma29july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel years ago and returned mainly because of value for money and central location in Candolim, and I was overall very satisfied.
Rooms are adequate although a little basic, could probably be made into fantastic apartments if a little money was spent on them.
We had a nice afternoon by the pool where the staff were really attentive but really didn't use any of the other facilities.
The only criticism I would have is that breakfast is a little early ending at 9:30, and we had to wait 2 days for a safety deposit box, as none were available.
A good value base to explore Candolim and I would return

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place is hardly a hotel or resort, rooms are old and totally ouddated, dirty and really need a make over. Sheets were not clean and smoosly, toiletseat was not fixend properly and there was on cabinet for our clothes. Yough what a dirty place we have directly moved to another location

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank kokvandermeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Its a very old apartment and they have turned into Hotel. Still few family live there.
1. No proper service.
2. Don't have much charging point in room.
3. They give preference to foreigner and not to any INDIAN
4. Balcony and few windows with birds waste
5. The person who come for room service/taking the luggage. They don't understand English/Hindi
6. The price they charge for the room and other service is not worth for the money

Room Tip: Don't prefer Alore Grande at GOA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vijey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just returned from a family hoilday,and were disappointed in this so called 3* hotel. The staff were mostly friendly and attentive however the standard of the room was not acceptable.Bedding changed only twice in two weeks and not every 2nd day as stated in the printed hotel advice information sheet.Towels only changed when left on the bathroom floor, the utility-room area was never cleaned during our stay.
To say that the standard of breakfast was disgraceful is an understatement.
Breakfast (included in our b&b option) consisted of Tea/Coffee/Fruit juice and Toast, there was also a spice dish to suit the palates of local tourists. Cornflakes,eggs,pancakes were all available at additional charge. Being seasoned travellers to Goa we are well aware of the standards at 2&3 hotels and this one fell very short of the most basic amenities, we will certainly not be back and urge caution to potential other customers

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PHH952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#15 of 66 in Candolim
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highland Beach Resort
Highland Beach Resort
#57 of 66 in Candolim
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#38 of 66 in Candolim
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#47 of 66 in Candolim
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#21 of 66 in Candolim
459 reviews
1 mi away
Baywatch Express
Baywatch Express
#20 of 66 in Candolim
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alor Grande Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alor Grande Holiday Resort

Address: | near Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range: $44 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alor Grande Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alor Grande Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alor Grande Holiday Hotel Candolim
Alor Grande Holiday Candolim
Alor Grande Candolim
Alor Grande Resort
Alor Grande Holiday Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing