We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average......Not for Indians”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alor Grande Holiday Resort
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Below average......Not for Indians”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had initially booked Alor resort in calangute as it was under renovation , booking was moved to Alor grande .....BEWARE its not a resort ....hotel management needs some lessons in grammar & vocabulary. The hotel rooms were just okay no elevators , the staff were not helpful had to carry our own bags to 3rd floor .The bathrooms were not good , no water was coming in health faucet.
Breakfast was very bad , tasted horrible . Canned orange & mango juice were served as fresh fruit juice.Pool is not that great less 4 feet . Good for kids to play .The pool boy seem to self appointed security guard instructing guests what to do & what not even when they had not entered the pool.We received a call on the day we were supposed to check out at 9.30 AM & asked to check out 10.30 AM even when the check out was at 11.00 am mentioned in the display cards in the room .The hotel staff were really inhospitable & not courteous .Though the exp was not terrible like what others quoted ........would definitely not recommend it to anybody.

They have some differentiation here for indian guests & foreigners ......the complimentary breakfast is served in different areas for outlanders & you are not given choice of rooms if you are an indian , the staff behave indifferently to our very own people . Room service is highly tardy .

Room Tip: Dont ever go to this place ....if you still decide to go take rooms facing pools they seem to be lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sriharsha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    96
    66
    38
    74
See reviews for
78
104
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We thought we had a bargain, but would rather have paid a few pounds more & had some comfort.
This is the 13th time we have been to Goa & this is the worst place we have ever stayed in. We did get used to it after a few days but if it was our first time to Goa I don't think we would gave returned.
The first room they offered us we refused, the second wasn't much better but as it was 2.30am after a 9.5 hour flight we gave in.
Paid for breakfast went down once & it was disgusting, area where they cooked looked dirty, jam was in a big bowl with no cover, had to pay for eggs. Porridge etc. only ate there once, preferred to pay local restaurants.
Never went in pool as slabs round pool we're filthy (but we do prefer the beach) so this was not an issue.
Good points were big rooms, clean sheets & towels & room cleaned every day.
We love Goa so we did get used to this accommodation but would not recommend as you can get cheaper better accommodation without pool & breakfast(which we never used)due to issues.
We found reception staff, security persons & cleaners all lovely & very helpful.
Even though I have given a poor review we did have a fantastic stay in Candolim as Alore a Grande is in an ideal positio for getting about.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathrynthegreat1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Candolim hotels

New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

A good location is not the only need of a hotel. A 3 star property should be well-maintained. The Admin staff is not at-all helpful. Open area of the hotel is good looking but rooms are terrible, which included poor lighting, old fixtures in bathroom etc.

Though the food was good, the quality of service is really bad.
Not recommend for a family stay.

Room Tip: Pool side room has a good view otherwise they look like basic home apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BangaRahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Alor Grande Holiday Resort is spread out and has a lot of above average rooms. Rooms are spacious, neat with a clean washroom! Every room has a small balcony which is an advantage. Washroom has hot and cold water all day. Rooms have all facilities that one can expect. A small refrigerator, big double bed, mid-size LCD TV, ample lights (bright and dim), big mirror and clean linen. You will not be disappointed with the room as it's much superior than a lot of other resorts in Goa.

This resort has a swimming pool but you might want to get in at your own risk! Nothing wrong with the pool but just too busy with loud people all the time! I saw plenty of people in the pool trying to tease women in the pool! Not so good to look at! Women and men have equal rights to enjoy! Don't be a pain to others! And, this a not a feedback to the property but just people around! There will be a life guard at all time around the swimming pool area! The pool, however, is open only from 8 AM till 6 PM.

Food not good! Breakfast is sad! If you have a taste for food, there are plenty of options outside! Staff is courteous and will behave nicely! Front desk is effective and will wrap up your queries quickly. Do check for off-season discounts with the management. I was here for 4 days in the first week of October and got a good deal. Don't fall for the rate card and negotiate with the management.

Situated behind a supermarket (Delfino's), location is nice! It's close to the Candolim beach. Resort area is clean. Have enough space to park your vehicles, a little away from the main entry though! All in all, a good place to stay and I say that because their rooms are big, clean and spacious! Do check with the management for any deals!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abhijeet28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
173 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Staff is so helpfull that the really make your life confortable. Very clean rooms and garden.
the pool is good too and kept in good condition.
The situation of this hotel is very good very near the beach and with facilites right there.
I really had a good stay there.

Room Tip: There are rooms that overlook the swimming pool and restaurant and others that look at the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this property with family in last week of September'13 occupying 2 rooms on second floor of same block(one facing swimming pool other facing road/entrance). They have several blocks of 2 storey buildings comprising of 4 rooms on each floor.

Check-in/Check-out: The front office staff were prompt and swift during both arrival and departure. On request for checking out late by a couple of hours they agreed without too much of fuss and let us check out at 1:00 PM instead of 11:00 AM their standard time.

Rooms: Both the rooms were spacious and came with a kitchen cum storage area. It will be best to check if the rooms have spare charging points (missing in one room), Air conditioning and all lights working, and geysers (missing in one room). The fixtures in the bathroom were old (instead of an overhead shower they had a hand shower which refused to throw water). The saving grace was that the rooms/washrooms were clean and housekeeping staff made sure that they make the rooms every day.

Location: It’s just a minute walk to the main road where you will find almost everything; shopping, taxi's/bikes, restaurants. There is a hypermarket as soon as you exit the resort and hit the road "Delfino"...best place for chilled beer, souvenirs, gifts, snacks etc.

Food: We were on a package like most of the hotel guests and found the breakfast and dinner to be of sub standard with very limited options. The food ordered in room or in restaurant (a la carte) was still better. Chicken Club sandwich was for INR 120 and a pot of tea INR 35-40.

Sightseeing: This was one of the worst part if you are travelling with young kids. They take you to a few beaches, Agauda fort, temples etc on a bus after picking guests from their other property. Halts at the points are typically not more than 45 minutes to an hour and if you are someone who likes travelling on own terms; its best to hire a ride!

I would not mind staying at this property again minus their sightseeing and meals. One always has an option to order from menu /a la carte or explore elsewhere.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on 1 floor would be best facing pool or even otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanilAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The best thing about alor is their location but one thing is very disappointing that is they have different set of rules for indians and foreigners .for eg you will have a seperate plates for breakfast and a seperate room for the same.Indians cant drink tea or coffee near pool but they can which is very disgusting.After all we are in the same country so why so much of difference.will suggest to have common rules for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy292013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
1.8 mi away
Alor Holiday Resort
Alor Holiday Resort
#69 of 110 in Calangute
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#37 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
#48 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highland Beach Resort
Highland Beach Resort
#56 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alor Grande Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alor Grande Holiday Resort

Property: Alor Grande Holiday Resort
Address: | near Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alor Grande Holiday Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alor Grande Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alor Grande Holiday Hotel Candolim
Alor Grande Holiday Candolim
Alor Grande Resort
Alor Grande Candolim
Alor Grande Holiday Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing