We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not-that-bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alor Grande Holiday Resort
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not-that-bad”
Reviewed March 16, 2008

(VISIT TIME: March 14 - 16, 2008)
It was my first visit to Goa and was a little concerned reading all the reviews. so, reached the hotel with "open heart" - but found nothing bad. if anything we must complain about, it will be the speed of service. maybe there were less number of service people.
the rooms were big and had two balconies. toilets were clean and well lit. the swimming pool is nice - would advise to carry swimsuit since no "rent-a-swimsuit" is available. the pool side restaurant is a nice place to sit and talk at night. food is okay, but would have liked more local food and live music. we had our dinners at Mago Grove - amazing food and amazing people there. DO visit.
beach is about 10 mins walk from the hotel. you'll get all sorts of shops on the way to beach. there is also an Axis bank ATM and a health center (in-case).
taxi/ auto/ private cars are readily available for trips. do bargain. there is also a bus stop near the health center.
and yes, if you are travelling to Goa by train, DO NOT GO TO MADGAON. get down at Thivim.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Slow Service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crak_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    100
    66
    39
    75
See reviews for
82
105
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Me & my boyfriend and 3 friends stayed at the Alor Grande for 2 weeks end feb/ begining of March, and have to say that having read reviews on here before we went, were a little concerned but not overly worried, as last year we stayed at the Highland next door and there are bad reports about that, and believe me that place was top notch. After all how long do you spend in your room anyway? The place is old and needs a bit of tlc, but it was all really clean, rooms cleaned every day, along with clean linen and towels. The staff can't do enough for you, we even asked for extra matresses and they appeared an hour later, at no cost apart from a tip to the lads who sorted it for us. How many European hotels would you get that in?! Breakfast is typical Goan, toast , jam, eggs, juice, tea, curry etc, but its so cheap to eat in Candolim we often just had food outside. Also don't be put off by the amount of Indians staying there, they don't want to sunbathe, so your not fighting for sun loungers the way you would be if there were as many europeans! Also the security staff are fantastic and really friendly. It can't be so bad, one english couple we spoke to had stayed there every year for the last 8 years. If you want the Ritz, Goa isn't a place for you!!

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Not loads of space around pool.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed in the Alor end of Jan beging of Feb.
I had read the reviews but thought some were a little picky but know i wish i had taken note.
Arrived at 07.15 and didnt get the room till 12.30 and it was bad.Not basic but dirty,dark with an overpowering smell of mothballs.The bathroom was terrible with stained tiles and wash basin. Had a good balcony though and sheets appeared clean.
We were moved the next day and in all fairness that room was a lot cleaner but had an area attached to the bathroom were the waiters were washing pots! not very private and also the room was divided by folded back wood doors and we could hear everything including the neighbours snoring all night.
The last room was part of the new block and was bright and clean but there was an awfull smell in the bathroom. We discovered that the stench pipes terminate right at the window. We overcome this by sealing the window with a black plastic bag and loads of duct tape.
We didnt find the staff helpful and in fact found the desk manager on the morning of our arrival quite abrupt.
The pool looked nice but the tiled pool area was filthy with coffee stains and all sorts on it and was not cleaned to our knowledge the whole 2 weeks we were there.
We loved Candolim itself.The weather was great the food was amazing, there are so many lovely places to eat and watch the world go by all very cheap.The waiters loved to talk and the service was top class.
We spent alot of time on the beach and found various shacks with good food.
We would definatly go back but never to the alor.
If you are thinking of staying there please think again, there are other reasonable price places nearby ( we actually went in to have a look at some ) that are so much better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEK2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Candolim hotels

bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2008

A very bad experience..Sttaf was not helpful at all.Took 2 hrs to give a room to us.We waited at reception for 2 hr.Rooms were in very bad condition.Bathrooms were worst than the room.We booked the room much before the arrival date,still inplace of A/C they had given us non a/c room. I will never suggest anyone to go there.Bad bad and very bad experience :(

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikhil87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

alor grande, is very very basic, good size rooms for 2 but no more than that,we stayed in one of the back rooms, quite noisey in the mornings as some of the other rooms people live in them . towels and bedding are clean and changed regular.Decor and furniture need attention.shower good always hot water, electric goes off most days for a bit. Air conditioning is an extra cost about £3 a day.fridge in room old and tatty. Sockets in rooms not always have a good connection, The pool area is short of sunbeds and is very shaded during the day, the beach is far better as is only a 10 minute walk and beautiful. The staff are ok but not over helpful,breakfast is basic toast and jam or eggs juice tea and coffee , you can choose indian food but didnt fancy that for breakfast, most of the cups were chipped or cracked , recommend take you own . Hotel guests were mainly english and indian.reps daytrips at the hotel are expensive book outside the hotel and haggle.The jewellrey shop in the hotel is expensive look around outside much cheaper and more choice.Buy mosquito plugins and cream from the supermartket you will need them .The lady gardeners work very hard tip them if anyone they work far harder than the waiters.The security guards are very friendly.would not stay here again but it did not spoil my holiday i will be returning next year and staying somewhere else, candolim is lovely.

  • Liked — in candolim and near the beach shops and restaurants
  • Disliked — the room was a disappointment
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahbwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2008

first time to stay in the alor grande and the last! arrived at the hotel at 10am room wasnt even ready for us we finally got in our room at 1pm great start to the holiday! room was ok apart from we had to pay extra for the air conditioning first time ive heard of that in goa.this hotel might aswell be room only breakfast absolute waste of time cattered more for all the indians that were staying in the hotel at the time who wants masala and cold coffe for breakfast.as for the entertainment goes dont bother from morning till night the cd enrique inglaisias was playing thats enough to drive you round the bend!!! didnt find staff friendly at all kept on pestering you for your bill its the only hotel i know that charges vat on what you eat and drink! go else where plenty of lovely resturants around.never ever again would i stay in this hotel, candolim is a lovely place its a pitty this hotel is in it! if going to goa deffinately recomend the nizmar in calangute it puts the alor grande to shame!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everthing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nat4145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

I read some terrible reviews of this place before our holiday but im happy to say for us they held no substance. The rooms are large and clean but basic so be prepared. The first look at Goa in the daylight is a true culture shock. It seems dirty and you wonder why you came.After a few hours the worries go as you find out just how happy and friendly the locals are. There is only one man who can open the money drawer at the bar and every order has to be hand written by the waiters then signed by them as if they make a mistake it comes out of there pay. These lads are on really low money but are so helpfull and polite. Nothing in India is quick and you have to bear this in mind. There are beaches here where you have to pinch yourself in case you are dreaming they are that good. The food in the shacks at coco beach need to be tasted to be believed. The pool of the hotel is great and a good way to cool down once back from a day out. Go with an open mind and an attitude to enjoy yourself and you will have just a good a time as we did. Eddie, Southampton.

  • Liked — spacious, clean and great food on the doorstep.
  • Disliked — very old fashioned looking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank smiffySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
1.6 mi away
Alor Holiday Resort
Alor Holiday Resort
#76 of 110 in Calangute
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 65 in Candolim
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#25 of 65 in Candolim
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 65 in Candolim
190 reviews
1.0 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#54 of 65 in Candolim
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alor Grande Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alor Grande Holiday Resort

Property: Alor Grande Holiday Resort
Address: | near Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alor Grande Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Alor Grande Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alor Grande Holiday Hotel Candolim
Alor Grande Holiday Candolim
Alor Grande Candolim
Alor Grande Resort
Alor Grande Holiday Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing