We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Had been to goa in january.After reading lots of review we found casablanca hotel was good.We took a suit room which had nice ambience.Good hotel in an excellent location. Food options were less but that's ok if you can manage it nearby. There are very good restaurents near the location. Overall experience was awesome.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Casablanca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 546 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2009

It was a good experience being in this place. It was very near the beach, just 5 mins away. So we could enjoy after dinner strolls at the beach. The staff was gud and the rooms were kept clean inspite of the loads of sand we brought with our shoes. Overall a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kums_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I HAVE BEEN STAYED IN CASABLANCA GOA , FROM 10TH AUG 09 TO 14TH 09. it was an excellent holidays ever we had ,the staff,cleanes, rooms togood, good location just few metres from beach , & shopping centre, good food, Managment toogood ,over all i suggest casablanca for a fantastic holidays ,dont miss goa & Casablanca.

From Rajiv chawla.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We spotted this quite pretty, properly maintained and welcoming hotel during a previous stay and decided to stay there for a couple of days during our next visit in Goa.
Though we found the hotel mostly reserved by a British tour operator, booking was easy and the reception very friendly.
The hotel is just a few minutes from the beach, so we didn’t eat at the hotel but in the shacks and restaurants that abound in Calangute.
Breakfast was included and, though basic, correct.

What we liked less during our stay is that our room was rather bleak and cheerless, with a tasteless view on the barren land between the sea and the Calangute-Baga road.
Moreover, the room prices at “Casablanca” have, over the last 2 years, known such a hike (from Rs 2,000 to Rs 3,500) that we would probably not recommend anymore to stay there but rather to look for one of the cheaper hotels around with the same level of comfort and facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Vegcutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Overall the hotel was nice but hardly a "resort".

Check-in was very slow, we arrived with a goup of at least 10 couples. Although I was the first to sign the book and hand over my passport we waited at least 30 minutes (very tiring if you've been traveling for 19hours non-stop!) and were the last to be handed our room keys.

Our room was right at the top with a lovely roof-top terrace. Considering the average living standards in India, the rooms are luxurious so you can't complain! We had air conditioning, a ventilator, Satellite TV with loads of channels, a shower that actually works and with enough pressure and a decent toilet with douche. The room and beds seemed clean enough. We had power cuts most days and during the night but it was quickly fixed and not really a problem.

It was quite noisy though as the walls are thin and the doors too, so if you have noisy neighbours, good luck! If you like some privacy make sure you don't get one of the rooms on the ground floor right by the pool and restaurant. People will see straight in...
We didn't hear much from the pool area and restaurant below though, but were facing a little settlement with locals living next to the hotel. Guys on bikes selling stuff, constantly beeping their horns, will turn up as of 5 AM and the many many dogs will howl and bark during the night, for ages. If you have a good and deep sleep this will not bother you though. Ear plugs are also an option ;)

There are hotel safes available at reception, which is a little inconvenient. The staff overall was quite nice, some seemed a bit aloof but that might just be the way it goes. The food in the restaurant was very good and also inexpensive.

The hotel is a short walk from the beach, there are some stalls along the way so get used to saying "no thank you" and "maybe tomorrow" at least a hundred times if you want to go to the beach or into the village. You will also be hassled a lot at the beach, it is very busy.

NB: Candolim itself (the beach and village) was far too crowded and noisy for my taste, so we hired a taxi and went to Patnem Beach in the South of Goa for two nights. This was heaven! Lovely simple bamboo huts right on the beach, all you can hear is the crashing of the waves, you can sunbathe in peace without constanctly being hassled by beach vendors and you have the most beautiful scenery at night time with all the lovely beach shacks.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Najane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Appearances can be deceiving with this hotel. It looks good, the buildings and rooms seem new and clean, and the staff seems friendly, but after staying there for a few days, you realize that this is far from being the case.

When the rooms are cleaned, it's done in a superficial way (the sheets weren't changed and were torn) and our room was infested with bugs (mainly ants). The closet had a horrible smell in it that stayed inside the clothes we put in it.

To add insult to injury, my luggage was opened while we were out during the day and money was taken out of my wallet. The worst is you don't know who could be responsible because the room keys are in an easily-accesible drawer at reception and are often left UNGUARDED. Through our travel agent we were able to get a free safe for the remaining days, but that's all they were prepared to do to make up for it. A safe should be an option, not a necessity. At the very least, if you do stay at this hotel, keep your room key on you at all times and ask for the necessary things (towels, toilet paper) yourself. And be prepared for your legs to be covered in bug-bites by the end of the week.

Most of the staff really is friendly, so I would hate to blame a few bad apples, but no one should ever have to go through this at a hotel, no matter in what country it is in.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Russkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Stayed at the Casablanca Beach Resort over the new year. Had a fantastic time, the rooms were very clean and tidy and recently refurbished. The staff fantastic, really helpful and friendly. India is a beautiful country with very friendly people, out of the 3 years we have travelled there this was def the best hotel I have stopped in.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillottruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca

Address: | Wadi, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#11 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $39 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location....Location....Location...Mediterranean theme boutique resort located 100 meters from the sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Candolim
Casablanca Beach Hotel
Casablanca Beach Resort
Casablanca Beach Candolim
Casablanca Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing