We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended for a first trip to India, Safe, Clean & Central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldeia Santa Rita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aldeia Santa Rita
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for a first trip to India, Safe, Clean & Central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

We spent a lot of time researching a trip to India as we had heard both good and bad reviews. A lot of the hotels that looked good when advertised had average to poor reviews by customers and appeared not to match up to the resort description. This IS NOT the case with Aldeia Santa Rita. It is everything it says on the website and more. It is on the door step of the local town with lots of restaurants, bars and shops to stroll out to if you fancy a change of scenery. The staff are also superb and can't do enough for you, Francis and Ramesh on the pool bar will keep you entertained throughout the day and Orlando the Restaurant Manager makes the resort feel so special. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable and the grounds and pool are kept spotless. A real Oasis and a home from home.

With regards to location, Candolim is at the quieter end but it is still very busy and commercialised. The beach is also not what we expected. You can not swim in the sea due to the currents and as a lot of ships sit in the neck of the Mandovi River the beach is not the best. However as a central location for visiting Panjim, The Spice Plantations and Old Goa it is fantastic. You can also take a 40 minute taxi ride to the beautiful Mandreen beach and spend the day there for just a few pounds, which is highly recommended.

I would recommend this trip to couples who like to stay in beautiful and comfortable surroundings and who enjoy mixing with other couples.

If you want to experience Goa without paying for expensive organised excursions my tip is meet by the pool bar at 5.00pm and talk to the other guest, most of whom have been to Goa for years, listen to where they have been and pick up recommendations of good taxi drivers and places of interest.

If the Saturday Night Market is on in Apora when you go, it is an absolute must...even for those who don't like shopping, the live music , food and atmosphere is fabulous.

Even after 2 weeks there is still so much that we didn't get to see, so we will definitely be going back.

Finally if you haven't been to India before you will find the roadsides a real shock as they are covered with litter, you will soon see past this though. Also you do get what you pay for when it comes to accommodation. 2 star hotels are really low standard and we met so many people whose holiday was spoilt as they went for a really cheap option and hated the accommodation.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank GGManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    181
    68
    26
    22
See reviews for
99
272
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

The Hotel is set in lovely gardens and has a medium swimming pool, dining area (inside & out) & pool bar. There is also a beauty parlour, tailor & really nice crepe shop. The rooms are basic with not much storage space but it has all the necessatities (fridge/sofa/TV) & are comfortable enough. The balcony is quite big and the hotel has a nice general atmosphere. Mini bar is stocked twice a week, excellent room cleaning whenever required. Service at the reception, bar & restaurant is very good, could not fault the organisation and friendliness of the staff. Food is good quality & tasty but not much variety, however there are lots of restaurants a short walk away (the Italian by the front of the hotel is really nice). The beach is a 5 min walk round the back of the hotel & it quite quiet with a few beach shacks but you can easily walk up if you are looking for more options. The entertainment was mainly good, we had dancers, acrobats, singers & fire eaters! The gala night is a nice touch were the tables and chairs are bought around the pool for the night & they also have a la carte nights. Overall, the hotel is good value for money and in a quieter location (although the road outside is very busy with shops, stalls & restaurants) which we prefered as it is only a short taxi journey to much busier areas of Cangalute/Baga if you wanted to go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

we have just returned from tha santa rita hotel it was our first visit to india and is was excellent !!!! the staff are fantastic giving the best service we have ever had.the hotel was clean,bed very comfortable the food was very good ,no faults what so ever we will be going back again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

I spent lot of time on internet to find a good & neat-n-clean hotel in Goa. Based on some of the reviews , I booked Aldeia Santa Rita directly throug mail and I must say , I found the right one though it was bit costly. Accomodation is as par with 3-star , comfortable, near to main beaches & trained and kind staff ( Only thing missing was " Internet"). The Candolim beach is just 200 meters from rear gate of hotel . Sea is bit rough there but good place for sit-n-dine in the evening.Left side to the beach is the Hotel Taj Aguada ( 5-Star) and the right side have den of Indian Business Tycoon Mr Vijay Mallya of Kingfisher Group. The hotel is in rich portugese style with only 2-floors ( Ground & First) and have one sitting room, bedroom & small pantry for Coffee , Tea & Cold drinks ( No Microwave). Pool facing rooms cost u 20-25 USD more. Hotel has arranged complimentary pick-up in 15-20 seater quite a big van and has 2 days half day sight seeing trips to Panjim city & 1 hour Boat cruise in Mandovi river. If u r looking for Rent a car or Bike, I advise u to negotiate rates well. The famous Calangute & Baga beaches are near by . I will recommend Morjim & Ashavam beach to all the visitors to Goa.
rr93259@indiatimes.com

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsoodmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

morecambe bay.
we have just returned home after 3week stay at aldeida santa rita, this was our second visit & it was fantastic,the staff EVERYONE of them are so helpful, nothing is to much trouble.The new pool side bar is good for meeting people, wonderful bar staff THE WHITE DEVIL & REMISH.we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morecambegoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

We arrived at the hotel at 6am and were assigned room L4-this room is the furthest from the pool, restaurant and close to the road so very nosiey. Didn't like this room but anyway had a sleep as very tired asked at recption the following morning if we could be moved which we were moved into room D1 which was situated around the pool area.
The hotel, the staff, the food, the cleaners couldn't do enough for you which made the holiday even more enjoyable. THANKS YOU TO ALL AT ALDEIA SANTA RITA.
The only down side is the toaster for breakfast and the drinks weren't cold enough on a night but apart from this NO COMPLAINTS.
The hotel was less than 3 minutes walk from the beech which had shacks to eat and drink at. Very cheap a litre bottle of water was 10p.
Numerous restaurants up town-Candolim 5/10 minutes walk to eat at when you get sick of the curry's from the hotel, don't get me wrong curry's are nice but not every day. Ate at Ruffles for Sunday lunh but the nicest restaurant was The Bistro - 2 fillet steak meals, 2 alcohol drinks and a sweet which amounted to £15.00, can't buy 1 fillet steak meal in UK for this price.
Don't bother paying for a Superior room like us as they are much different from the standard rooms. ALL GOOD though.
The waiters in the hotel were great especially Vincent, Mini and Orlando.
Would defo return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARSHY69DEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

My friend and I travelled to Goa in Feb. "09 for the first time and were not sure what to expect. We did research on which location would be the best and read reviews from TripAdvisor and in the end chose Aldeia Santa Rita. We were not disappointed!

The landscaping is absolutely beautiful - lush and well looked after. We choose a suite which had an extra sittiing room, small kitchen and balcony (I think all rooms have balconies). The room was clean and simple in a good way. The only complaint would be that the bathroom could use updating.

Our room price included breakfast which was fine. We never ate in the restaurant other than for breakfast as the hotel is within walking distance of many great restaurants to choose from.

The hotel is not located on the beach but a short 5 min. walk to it but it does have a nice pool with a bar.

All in all this is a very cute place and one I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysgoneFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.2 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Santiago Beach Resort
Santiago Beach Resort
#22 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#11 of 110 in Calangute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#4 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia Santa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia Santa Rita

Property: Aldeia Santa Rita
Address: | Dando, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aldeia Santa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the style of a Portuguese village, Aldeia Santa Rita provides a delightful escape with its multi-hued, well-manicured appeal. A swimming pool with sun loungers, spacious rooms, each with a private balcony, and a multi-cuisine restaurant (Cravo do India) make Aldeia an irresistible choice for the discerning tourist. The hotel also has a rustic ayurvedic massage and treatment centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aldeia Santa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldeia Santa Rita Candolim
Aldeia Santa Rita Resort Goa
Aldeia Santa Rita Hotel Candolim
Aldeia Santa Rita Goa/Candolim
Aldeia Santa Rita Hotel Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing