We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shivers Garden Restaurant

Shivers Garden Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 313 Restaurants in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "SHIVERS is a Tranquil Little Romantic Oasis Garden Restaurant known for its gourmet food & Sheesha. This elegant Restaurant Opens for: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner Mon-Sun 9am onwards and serves Goa's best Full Monty Breakfast and multi-cuisine with fresh seafood, live B.B.Q.'s, Special Grilled Rosemary BBQ Steak, Stuffed Steaks with Danish Blue Cheese steak, BBQ Spare Ribs, Fish In Filo Pastry, Chilly Lime Red snapper, Peanut Butter Pork, Roast Pork, Beef, Chicken, Pomegranate Chicken and lots more Goan Style Tongue Roast, Authentic Fish Thali, Sambarachi Thali, Prawn Balchao Thali, Naga Thali (North East Cuisine) on Sundays from 2pm onwards a Full Sunday Roast Banquet. One can also enjoy the pleasure of listening to some Live Rock n Roll music on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays and not to forget the Dance Night with retro DJ Mel and finally wind up your night with a game of pool. We also undertake Birthdays, Weddings, Romantic Dinners and other events/party bookings. So don't miss out..... "Be there or be square"
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“stunning ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We came across shivers by chance in feb 2013, and boy were we happy. Superb food and service all served in a stunning setting. A little out of the way but well worth the visit, truly excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    48
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We first visited shivers last year and had a wonderful time. It is in a beautiful setting but a little out the way. It's just opposite kingfisher villa on the main candolim road. We have visited twice so far this holiday as we are staying just opposite it. The staff are very good and there are a lot of choices in the menu even a Sunday Calvery and full English. The grounds are immaculate and the setting is really romantic. They have live entertainment some nights too. It's well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaydsjayss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“just nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I dont know what the hype is about. 25 mins. To get the dessert
Food very ok nothing to come back for. Very bland food I dont mean spice but just no taste
Good ambience. BRITISH 60s .music. Lousy on the whole. They tried to fool us they make all the deserts. Kulfi indian ice they dont here. Chocolate cake yes but not the ice cream. Avoid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 01480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiversme, Owner at Shivers Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We value your review and we do appreciate your opinion as everyone is entitled to one because its only through your advice that we can improve on our short comings but would like to clarify about dessert like you have mentioned, you had ordered for dark chocolate cake and a kulfi ice cream, please note in our restaurant or most restaurants if its a table of two we always try and serve their meal together. I also remember i personally came to your table and asked whether you'll had enjoyed your meal and the answer you gave me was yes the meal was lovely (for which now you say was bland) and that you'll have been waiting long for dessert to which i told you it takes 20 minutes to bake our chocolate cake and you said nobody informed you at the time you order for which i apologized and offered you'll a round of drinks on SHIVERS which you'll did accept so when u say "25 minutes" id also like to let you know that we are not here to fool anybody , it does take 20 minutes to bake our chocolate cake and yes the ice cream is made before but WE serve it all at the same time on the table unless otherwise if asked by the customer. If you do not like the music you can request us to change it only because what one may like may not sound good or great to someone else and vice versa so please come and request your type of music. We always try our best to please our customers as much as we can and most of our privileged customers know this as they have been part of our experience here at shivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very unexpected, a nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went to shivers in January, there was a number of us, and it was the first time we had been to this restaurant, and was amazed.at the lovely surroundings very beautiful decor.we where made very welcome.The meal! everyone had a problem, as there was so much to choice from,when the meal came every one was well pleased. And it was far from expensive.Would highly recommend Shivers

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shirlmar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb setting; superb food; superb service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have been to Shivers many times over the last few years and have never been disappointed. You are always made to feel welcome but the only problem is having to choose something from the menu - it is all so mouthwatering. It would be nice to go back every evening and try a different dish each night! However, Sundays is no problem - their Sunday roast is superb with a choice of beef, chicken, lamb or pork (with real crispy crackling) and perfectly cooked vegetables. The setting is beautiful with the lights and water features. Melroy and his staff couldn't be more attentive. Definitely my favourite restaurant in Goa (or anywhere, for that matter)! :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shivers Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
Candolim, Bardez
 

Been to Shivers Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing