We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open till June”

Himalaya Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #11 of 369 Restaurants in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 28, 2019

Simple, clean food- fresh spring rolls, prawns salad with chips- all fresh.
What a treat.
I wish they would get some decent Gin.
Sarita makes some excellent cakes- better than the popular cake shop up the road!
Fantastic staff.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Premolars208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 232 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

The food here is all home cooked fresh to order. Varied menu but the momos are highly recommended. The thali dishes are delicious. Really authentic food cooked well and served with pride. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. If you are thinking of visiting dont hesitate!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Flyholiday50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

This restaurant is our joint favourite (we visited it 7 times) from the holiday that we've just had in Sinquerim.

There is a wide variety of food at this restaurant... Indian (obviously), Chinese, Himalayan, & other. Some things you like more than others but all of it was well cooked, hot and there was plenty of it. The prices (cheap!), service and general ambience were great.

This restaurant is well worth a try... I particularly recommend the Vindaloo it was excellent and not too hot (for me, anyway).

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019

We ate here 3 times in 2 weeks - the food is fabulous, all freshly cooked and fantastic value.

The fresh fish dishes are to die for especially the snapper, not just good value but the presentation puts more expensive restaurants to shame. Try the vegetable pakoras they look more like bhajis and are delicious. Desserts here are good too, the honeyed bananas, rice pudding - yes rice pudding if you have a sweet tooth this is definitely for you.

We sat in the garden for all our visits which was great. If you expect your meal to be out in 10 minutes you will be disappointed as it will be freshly cooked. Really looking forward to visiting again next year.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

The first time we tried Himalaya Restaurant was years ago when we first visited Goa and have been back every time since then. There is something about this place that makes it special. You can either eat inside or in the garden which is lit up at night with fairy lights.The food is consistently fresh and tasty and gives you the chance to sample food that differs from Indian quisine in many ways. The menu is quite extensive and it offers you the chance to try things that you otherwise wouldn't and without breaking the bank. The prices here are extremely reasonable for the quality of the food and drinks. It's always a good idea to book a table before you go, as it's almost always full if you just turn up. Will definitely be going back next year.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Himalaya Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing